We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antechamber Bay Retreats
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We had a big family gathering and rented both houses at Antechamber Bay Retreats. The setting is amazing. You look out on the ocean surrounded by sheep, occasional kangaroos, and beautiful birdlife.The houses worked out perfectly for us with plenty of space for kids to play outside or walk to the beach. We could barbecue every night and sit around a campfire under the beautiful night sky. Kona was updated and very comfortable with two bathrooms. Nats has more of a historic feel and is even closer to the coast. Both houses have an amazing view. It was a little hard getting a response when trying to make the booking, but persevering was well worth it!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2015

If you want great escape this is the place. Both houses have amazing views with great facilities. Andy and Kate also do great catering, their food is sensational. My wife and I will definitely be going back again. Thanks Andy & Kate for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corey L L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We enjoyed the most perfect Christmas at Antechamber Bay Retreats. Thank you to Kate and Andy for making us feel so welcome on their stunning property. We stayed at Kona which was immaculately clean, the view was spectacular and their SouthRock lamb tasted amazing. My mum and dad joined us and we all agreed it was the best Christmas ever.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 625kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed there August 2014 found the Kona to be very tired and shabby , With the owners disinterested in being on the ball for the maintenance. Shame, view was ok, but that's not much when you want the conveniences to be working.
Left one night early and very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dorrieadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Manager at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Unfortunately the spa was not working when this couple stayed, we were unaware of this and could not get a plumber at short notice, we accept that this was not good enough. We did however put considerable effort into showing them how to operate the split system heating system( three times), they refused the chocolate cake that Kate had cooked them and got a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Absolutely stunning. Lovely house, gorgeous views, wonderful hosts. A beautiful place to stay with sweeping ocean views and a cosy house with fireplace. We were looking for an escape, with views and a fire....what a great find! Thanks for sharing Nat's with us. We will most certainly be back. Have given the details to lots of friends already.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks for your response on trip advisor we are glad you enjoyed Nat's and the KI winter!
Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
119.2 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
29.1 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
428 reviews
17.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.2 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
44.6 km away
Villas on the Bay Kingscote
25.1 km away
Pelican Lagoon Lodge
Pelican Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pelican Lagoon
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antechamber Bay Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antechamber Bay Retreats

Address: 2131A Cape Willoughby rd | Antechamber Bay, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range: $257 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antechamber Bay Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona and Nat's homestead are located in the most spectacular coastal/ beach setting surrounded by 3500 acres of farm and bush land teeming with wild life. Both Houses have seclusion and a private beach and are only 23kms from the nearest town, Penneshaw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Antechamber Bay Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antechamber Bay Retreats Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing