We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
30
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rustic charm private beach coastal views historic house kangaroo island kate nats sheep property wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed there August 2014 found the Kona to be very tired and shabby , With the owners disinterested in being on the ball for the maintenance. Shame, view was ok, but that's not much when you want the conveniences to be working.
Left one night early and very disappointing.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dorrieadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Manager at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Unfortunately the spa was not working when this couple stayed, we were unaware of this and could not get a plumber at short notice, we accept that this was not good enough. We did however put considerable effort into showing them how to operate the split system heating system( three times), they refused the chocolate cake that Kate had cooked them and got a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Absolutely stunning. Lovely house, gorgeous views, wonderful hosts. A beautiful place to stay with sweeping ocean views and a cosy house with fireplace. We were looking for an escape, with views and a fire....what a great find! Thanks for sharing Nat's with us. We will most certainly be back. Have given the details to lots of friends already.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks for your response on trip advisor we are glad you enjoyed Nat's and the KI winter!
Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The views will blow you away immediately! A true 180 deg view of farm lands through beaches lighthouse and across the ocean to mainland Aus. The beaches are secluded white sand with crystal clear waters full of fish. This place is a small piece of paradise. This is a working farm with all the prerequisite animals and wildlife. The old house is one of south australias oldest homes and is in fantastic conditon and very comfortable with open fire and views to die for from the kitchen dining room. We had a fantastic stay and I hope you do too!

Room tip: Swim in the sea. Walk or run for fitness.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to respond to your stay at Nats we look forward to the next visit. Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We cannot recommend Nat's House more highly. The position is beautiful with spectacular sunrises and sunsets overlooking the ocean. The historic house is full of charm and character. The family that own the farm are lovely and extremely helpful. Our children loved being on a real working farm, feeding chooks and swimming at the long deserted beaches. The whales frolicking in the bay were an added bonus.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks for staying with us and your comments on trip advisor. Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We were seeking a beautiful, country getaway and we found it. We stayed for two whole weeks with our toddler. 'Nat's', as this rambling old house is called, sits atop a cliff with a stunning view in the most beautiful corner of Kangaroo Island. You can amble down to a pristine private beach, lounge on the huge verandah watching the sun go down, and watch wild peacocks and curious sheep mill about on the lawns. The house feels like a home, not a hotel, fully equipped with everything you'll need for a summer (or winter, for that matter!) holiday. Kate and Andy's hospitality was great, and we enjoyed collecting fresh eggs and cuddling a real, live filthy baby lamb! We heartily recommend this lovely place.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfamily092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews