We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
30
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rustic charm private beach coastal views historic house kangaroo island kate nats sheep property wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The accommodation was very relaxing with only the sound of the birds and sheep to be heard. The furniture was very comfortable as were the beds. Great blinds to block out the morning sunlight and a large deck on which to sit and enjoy the view.

Lovely to be able to take the dog.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The Kona house was well presented and appointed. The location is to die for.
The beds were excellent - better than many expensive hotels we've stayed at.
The outside setting & BBQ was good and conducive to outside living.
The private beach an easy 15 minute walk was a highlight.
Excellent fresh food venues nearby to purchase local produce - seafood, cheeses, wines and of course the property's own SouthRock lamb.
This is a place to relax and enjoy. Even wildlife walks past at a quiet pace.

Date of stay: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We have just booked our next holiday to Antechamber Bay. It will be our third visit in as many years. As Tasmanians, we have high expectations of an island holiday by the sea, so the fact that we have made this beautiful place our 'retreat' speaks volumes.

This place is surely as close to paradise as you can get. We have gone in spring, when the Dudley Peninsula is green and the weather mild. We have fallen in love with Kona, but then there are only two of us. The other house, Nats, offers more room, and the charm of being one of the historic houses on the island.

You get a sense of adventure as you leave the Cape Willoughby road and head along the gravel driveway across lush paddocks, escorted by fat sheep as you go. And then the view hits you– the blue of the ocean framed by a rugged shore, the pristine beach just below the house, the verdant paddocks and the blue of the sky, and in the distance, the coast of the mainland, left behind for the length of your stay. The place is a retreat in every way. There is no traffic, no engine noise, no hustle and bustle, and night life consists of some lambs calling for their mums, or the thump thump of a passing kangaroo. We come fully prepared to self-cater, but Penneshaw (about 30 minutes away) offers any additional essentials, and on one occasion, Kate, our hostess, saved us a trip and got us bread and eggs. Andy and Kate also have some of their own lamb for sale as well.

Our first visit was five days, our second for 10; this time we are going for two weeks! The place offers all we want- peace, a view, comfort. We go for walks across the farm to Cape Willoughby, along Antechamber Bay, down to the rugged south coast or to a nearby vineyard. We gaze at the view from the deck, with a glass of KI wine and a book, and plan our next meal and next exploration of the island. Ever the optimists, we go fishing off the rocks (and not without some success!).

By the way, don't be put off by the post about 'black worms'. This is a working farm, complete with sheep, chooks and a friendly dog..., not a resort. South-east Australia gets seasonal plagues of Portuguese Millipedes (a.k.a black worms) but these are easily taken out of doors. It is the countryside, and yes, there may be mouse around, and the road is not sealed. If you want a resort, then maybe this place is not for you; but if you want to taste a large slice of tranquility in paradise, this place is hard to beat.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mycoblastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

If you like great views, isolated beautiful beaches and wildlife at your door Nats and the Kona are the perfect holiday destinations. Nats is an amazing house being one of the earliest houses in South Australia yet it still has all of the things you need to have a great stay. A great open firewith a ready supply of Mallee roots. Great cooling breezes in the summer. Fishing from the rocks, Yabbies in season and great walks along the coast.
The black worms are millipedes, they are all over South Australia and shock horror there are blow flies in summer! Strange place the country sometimes the wildlife get a bit close and personal.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckham89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Nats is a warm, historic building pirched on the cliff overlooking Antechamber Bay. Our family spent 4 days in this wonderful location that reminded me of family holidays with my parents.
The house had all the requirements for a family and even given its historical beginnings, still has a great layout that allowed the kids and adults plenty of space to relax. The kitchen was well appointed and hosts (located descretely in another house around the hill) ready to help out with last minute provisions and local tips.
The view was simply sensational, overlooking the pristine Bay and back towards the Mainland with daily shows from dolphins and schools of fish...Yes we caught some! The kids loved the beach and extensive farm, so nice after years of city life.
We left reluctantly but determined to return with some friends for a mid- winter reunion.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews