We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Noneofyourbuisness

Bad food bad service

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2020via mobile
Would not reccomand anyone to go got served expiered food and beer. The worst experience in australia so far. Unfriendly personal. Bad pillows a dirty pool. Not one good word to be found about it im sorry
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$199
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
0.1 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
So evocative as we look across the water and see that it’s unspoilt by human habitation
AU$182
Fully refundable
    0.2 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
    AU$218
    • Priceline
      AU$217
    • Agoda.com
      AU$218
    • Vio.com
      AU$218
    1.1 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
    Free parking
    Beachfront
      692.4 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      AU$190
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Vio.com
        AU$190
      • eDreams
        AU$190
      • Agoda.com
        AU$190
      0.0 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      AU$180
      • Priceline
        AU$180
      • Agoda.com
        AU$169
      • Expedia.com
        AU$180
      16.0 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      AU$224
      No prepayment needed
      • Trip.com
        AU$279
      • Priceline
        AU$224
      • Agoda.com
        AU$224
      16.2 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      AU$237
      Fully refundable
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • ZenHotels.com
        AU$223
      • Hotels.com
        AU$237
      16.2 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      AU$106
      No prepayment needed
      • eDreams
      • Lol.travel
      • Vio.com
      16.2 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      AU$153
      Fully refundable
      • Expedia.com
        AU$190
      • Vio.com
        AU$153
      • Priceline
        AU$153
      18.0 km from Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in American River
      Reviews (169)
      Filter reviews
      169 results
      Traveller rating
      110
      27
      17
      2
      13
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      110
      27
      17
      2
      13
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews kangaroo island kim balcony views sunrise glimpse bay ferry
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      18 - 23 of 169 reviews
      Reviewed 17 December 2019

      This is a very special place with special people. Locally owned and operated they go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Dinner, cooked by their daughter, is perfect especially if you want locally sourced ingredients and creative flair.

      Date of stay: November 2019
      1  Thank FellowTraveler470462
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

      We had such lovely time in this small and warm resort in Kangaroo Island :)
      Steve and his wife were so kind and welcoming....and the food in their restaurant was just delicious! I’ve tasted the king George whiting fish and I did really love it! Thank You for such lovely stay!

      Date of stay: December 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Kyara0201
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

      The highlight of the stay here was the seafood platter in the cozy restaurant. Be sure to give 24 hours notice! Not cheap but it was spectacular and worth it to indulge in marron, oysters, flathead and local prawns and so much more. Perfect paired with Dudley Bubbly.
      Friendly and helpful hosts. Warm, simple room with a great view of the water through the natural bush. Highly recommend.

      Date of stay: September 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Jb2010jb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 May 2019

      We booked this place as it was offered at a discounted rate when we booked the ferry crossing. American River is about half an hour from Penneshaw where the ferry comes in. The owners were very helpful and food for breakfast and at night in restaurant was excellent. The area is quite pleasant for an early morning walk.

      Date of stay: May 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      2  Thank colinus
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

      Booked online and found to be reasonably priced. Drove to the location and found we were in the middle of the boondocks!
      First glance was that of landing in someone's backyard!
      Accommodation was a bunch of units with a long verandah access but rooms were OK'ish?
      Absolutely nothing in American River, no pub, no nothing! Takeaway...what takeaway? Closed..forced to eat at the restaurant if you didn't bring food.
      Room was clean and comfortable, no HD on TV, bit basic. Alright stay if your into reading a book or Veging out!
      Would I stay here again, don't think so, Kingscote would be a better choice next time.

      Date of stay: April 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Robert K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews