We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
13
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel was VERY run down.

It was a suprise that Accor would hold on to a property of this standard. Obviously staff are hard to secure in these remote locations so alot of consideration was given to this factor, but to feel like I had to motivate and put the spark in to the "Good Mornings" and "Enjoy your days" was annoying.

We had a lunch meal at the restaurant which was fine but using our advantage plus card for the dinner still didn't bring near compensation for the rubbish we were served. Pork belly where the skin was so under done it couldnt be eaten. Kids sauages and mash - the sausage (not eaten), looked like the meat was from chicken nuggets and squashed to replicate a sausage shape and chips on the side (not mash). My steak and local maron was served as over cooked steak (ordered med rare) with 2 prawns smothered in a BBQ sauce. A simple "I'm sorry we have run out of ........" would be fine and fully understandable given location, but when nothing is said and the plated plonked down????

Breakfast very basic and not inviting - staff didnt help.

Blocked sink in bathroom - which was fixed on notification.

Bill on checkout was wrong with many incorrect charges.
As a silver level A Club member I was most dissapointed

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to read your post. Maintenance of the hotel is ongoing, we recently painted all rooms and the interior of the main building. The All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge is a traditional hotel offering four star facilities. We do not advertise ourselves as having modern decor as with most other city located All Seasons hotels, however our facilities are modern with flat screen TVs in all rooms and everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our decor is traditional with a warm feel, from comfortable leather couches in the bar area to wooden furniture to match in with our natural environment. The All Seasons hotels through the Accor network generally offer bright colours throughout and are generally located in cities. Given that we are in a regional location, we offer a different type of All Seasons product with more tradition. We apologise if you were mislead as to the decor of the property.
Our restaurant food is considered a high quality on Kangaroo Island so it was disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have taken your comments on board and have made any necessary changes.
Thank you once again for your comments and please be advised we will endeavour to make changes as necessary from your review.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 288 of 428 reviews

An Accor traveller
Brisbane
14
Reviewed 13 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Melbourne, Australia
21
Reviewed 10 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a fantastic time in Kangaroo Island. It is the perfect destination to get away from work and enjoy some quality time surrounded by nature. KI Lodge is a good hotel and provides good value for money.

The reservation process wasn't seamless and we didn't end up with the accommodation we had expected. However there was a willingness to address the issues and even though the outcome wasn't ideal, we were satisfied. I would however urge management to be more proactive in resolving issues and faster in responding when an error is realised. Breakfast times were also a little early to our taste (with a 9am finish) - we like to sleep in during our holidays.

Overall though our holiday was excellent. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, the food was good, good facilities (tennis court, pool etc.) and the location was good with nice walks in the area. The hotel is also well located being mid-way between Penneshaw and Kingscote.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your post. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have had in the reservation process. Our breakfast is available from 7.30am until 9am. We find that most travellers are keen to start touring Kangaroo Island early which is why food is only available until 9am. You are, however, able to sit in the restaurant for longer.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A very relaxing and homely hotel, with friendly staff. We are city dwellers, and the very relaxed location and ambiance of the hotel and restaurant made our stay very pleasant. Enjoyed the wallaby and possum spotting at night around the hotel. Excellent menu's, and lots of local food, wine and spirits, which was all great. Hotel needs a little make-over, but generally it was very clean and tidy. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
91.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
15.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
18.2 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
18.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 km away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: $181 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing