We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A breath of fresh air!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

A very relaxing and homely hotel, with friendly staff. We are city dwellers, and the very relaxed location and ambiance of the hotel and restaurant made our stay very pleasant. Enjoyed the wallaby and possum spotting at night around the hotel. Excellent menu's, and lots of local food, wine and spirits, which was all great. Hotel needs a little make-over, but generally it was very clean and tidy. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    185
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
67
251
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is a perfect "base" for visiting Kangaroo Island. We had a first floor room with a patio looking out over the bay (the road in between was almost never traveled and virtually unnoticed). It was very relaxing. The staff were friendly, helpful, and rather overworked. They really needed more people in the kitchen, dining area - but those that were there did an over the top job. The food was excellent. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Kangaroo Island is off the south coast of Australia bordered by the Southern Ocean with the next land mass being Antarctica. I booked a 3 day trip there and only knew which hotel I was staying in when I arrived. The Kangaroo Lodge is situated in the quite area of American River. There was a stunning view from my room of the water, with black swans and pelicans. In the early morning I saw the rare black cockatoos and other more common birds such as sulphur crested cockatoos and galahs. The staff were very friendly and efficient providing me with my itinerary for the 2 days, the next morning. My room was excellent with comfortable living area, up to date kitchen and bathroom. There was even deacaf coffee provided which in my experience is unusual. The hotel had a swimming pool which would be useful in summer and for families. I had one meal in the restaurant which I enjoyed. There is internet access. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: I had a room with a waterfront view and a balcony which was excellent and worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The the service at this hotel in the dining area was disappointing for both dinner and breakfast, you could get ignored and a friendly and cheery atmosphere was missing. One of the staff members dealing with managing the hotel however was excellent (Kaylene)
The room we had was fantastic, and we enjoyed the scenic view over the water and serenity of the environment.
The location at American River is great if you like a very quiet place & the amenities of the hotel was quite good, and the old world charm of the main building was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Reviewer,
We were disappointed to hear you did not receive the service you wanted from our Restaurant staff. Please note we will take this on board and rectify this immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
The area of American River is fantastic for those wanting a quiet stay away from the hustle and bustle. We are also conveniently located to all attractions. After a busy day of touring there is no better place to uinwind and relax.
We are delighted you enjoyed your room. We are very fortunate to have such spectacular water views in a serene bush setting.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Kangaroo Island Lodge – American River, Kangaroo Island, Australia

First off, do not think that the number of stars that a property has been awarded or advertises is any indication of the service you will receive, how well the facility is maintained, or even what others may say about their experience. It is still down to the old sayings “buyer beware” or “you get what you pay for.” Expect less and hope for more. Just forget the stars, because it will all come down to two simple but important factors - training and attitude.

We stayed for four nights 13-17 November 2011. My wife and I have been traveling around the world for the past four months. Australia is country number 17 and Kangaroo Island Lodge is hotel/lodge number 67.

Kangaroo Island Lodge (All Seasons) is one of those properties that you should not expect a four star experience. On arrival, we were greeted and provided with our room details and location. It was as requested, king bed, non-smoking with water view. As we were graciously being escorted to our room, we headed down what appeared to be a narrow dingy service alley. No, not at all, this was the main entrance to our “Deluxe King Water View Room.” Okay, let’s see, surprise me. The room was spacious, king bed, night stands, mini-fridge, kitchen sink, microwave, wall-mounted flat screen TV and a small 20 inch square table and two chairs. Although there was plenty of room, there was no sofa, lounge chair, desk or even an arm chair present. Oh, we did have a patio with a small glass table and two chairs, which was nice, because we like to sit outside and have our coffee or a glass of wine looking out at the view and wildlife. The bathroom was very compact, and contained the bare essentials, a sink, toilet and shower. Let me describe “compact.” Imagine an airline lavatory expanded just enough to fit a thirty inch square glass shower closet. Yes, you had to go in and close the door to use the facilities or it would be in the way.
After unloading the car, we decided to have a glass of wine on the patio. We opened the sliding door, noticed dead bugs along the sills and found a nice little dirty glass table, spider webs all over, bird droppings on the chairs and leaves scattered throughout. I assumed the patio was not on the cleaning program. We did ask that they sweep the patio and clean the table the next day.

There are not many places to dine in American River, or maybe I should say there are only a couple of places to eat, so for convenience our hotel restaurant was the choice. We noticed that the All Seasons restaurant was given some award and looking at it during check-in, it looked like a nice place to dine. We made reservations for 7:45P, and arrived at 7:30P. We stood at the host podium and upon arrival of the host, we indicated that we had reservations and the host said he needed to get a table ready for us and to have a seat at the bar. I really did not want to go sit at the bar, and peered over into the dining room and noticed plenty of empty tables set up. We went to the bar, and then a few moments later, another person came and asked if we wanted a drink, and we said no we had a reservation for dinner and were told to sit at the bar. He said, come with me and led us to a table and gave us menus. He departed, and no one came to take our order for over twenty minutes until I made some type of gesture. Oh, by the way, you do not get complimentary bread in Australias. I have seen the price for a couple of pieces of bread range from $3.95 to $8.95. Already seeing that this dinner experience was off to a bad start, we placed our order, fish & chips and steak, and ordered some garlic bread as an appetizer to hold until the meal arrived. Another twenty minutes passed and no sight of bread or food. Looking at the staff buzzing around, it was evident no one was responsible for making sure that patrons were being served. It was as though we were invisible; we noticed others waiting a while also. I flagged a waitress down and asked about our order and the status of the bread for the appetizer? Quickly the waitress brought us three slices of soft buttered garlic bread with a hint of warmth. Then again after another twenty minutes passed I flagged someone down and asked about our meal, since others were getting their meal who had come into the restaurant a good twenty minutes after us. Magically, our food arrived, and we began to eat. The food was sadly presented but tolerable. While eating, no one came by to check on our meal quality. At this point, I really did not expect someone to check on us. We finished the meal waited about five minutes and then after gesturing and squirming in my chair, I had to flag someone down to ask for the bill. We were asked if we wanted dessert, and since we had no lunch it would have been nice to have some dessert, but we were not going to suffer any longer. We left the restaurant and only returned in the mornings to have our continental breakfast, which came with our room. I will not go into the presentation or quality of the breakfast, only to say that the cereal and milk were fine.

After a long day roaming the beautiful island, we returned only to find out that we did not have any clean towels and had to call the front desk for service. There was also no additional soap, and what they give you is only good for one shower. Luckily, I had a small bar of soap acquired from a previous hotel just for this event. The following day, we did get towels, but no soap, shampoo, facial tissue or replacement coffee. In addition, carpets were not vacuumed, and the bathroom sink had not been cleaned. The shower tile walls had a good film of soap scum and mold along the base where caulking was used, obviously lacking routine proper cleaning. Bar soap leaves a film. If you provide bar soap, you have to use the right eco-friendly cleaning products daily. Actually, the carpets were never vacuumed during our stay, which I am to assume is normal. I do not care about how old a place may be, but when serving the public, cleanliness and maintenance are paramount. Training and quality control were definitely nonexistent, which could only reflect management attitude, attention to detail and pride low in priority.

Prior to our departing, we wanted to wash our clothes, and noted a washer and dryer were available. So we went to the laundry room to inspect the equipment and see what type of coins it would take. We were not surprised to find the laundry room and equipment unclean. We went to the reception to get change and found out the equipment was not operational, but thoughtfully, we were allowed to use the staff laundry equipment. Maybe I should leave this one out. Let me just say that in the USA, the Health Inspectors would have closed the place down.

My recommendation would be for this property to close down for about two weeks for comprehensive maintenance, full cleaning, and intensive training in housekeeping and food service.

Again, stars mean nothing. It still comes down to two basic factors - training and attitude. If these are in place, then customer satisfaction and maintenance of the facility can be achieved.

Room Tip: Always ask to see your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuffinPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your very extensive review.
Please note the star rating is based on a number of criteria of which includes the quality of the rooms, the facilities available to guests and the upkeep of the property. Quality customer service is of the highest regard at the hotel and we were disappointed to hear you did not experience this. Training of staff is ongoing and rest assured this review has been highlighted to our staff.
Our delightful Waterview rooms are separate from the main building and are raised for their exceptional water views. There is a well lit, well maintained path between a retaining wall and the rooms. This is not a service alley and is surrounded by native plants and lovely ochre tones.
Unfortunately, the time that you stayed with us we had two sofa bed lounges being upholstered to maintain their condition and this was the room that you received. Should you have not been happy with your room, we would have been more than happy to move you, subject to availability.
Our Waterview bathrooms were completely upgraded in 2008 so are still modern with crisp white tiling and paint. Every Waterview room also has toiletries such as a shower cap, soap and shampoo/conditioner. We do not have baths in any of our bathrooms as this is considered "outdated" but instead have fitted our Waterview rooms with large showers.
We have met with our housekeeping team to rectify the fact that you were not happy with the condition of your porch. Please note we have now implemented a strategy to ensure this is not missed again. We are however happy that this was rectified immediately to your satisfaction.
In our restaurant, Reflections, we have a policy of directing guests to the bar first for a pre-dinner drink, perhaps a delightful Kangaroo Island local wine and then showing our guests to their table. Should you not have wanted to experience this, our staff would have gladly escorted you directly to your table. In our restaurant we try to create an experience for our guests whereby they are not just coming in for a quick meal. We are saddened to hear you did not experience this and as mentioned earlier, training of staff is ongoing. We have received rave reviews for our food in the past and again are disappointed to hear you do not agree.
We believe our continental breakfast is superb consisting of Kangaroo Island yoghurt and honey, Kangaroo Island Bakery toasts, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, cheeses, berry parfait, fruit juices, teas and coffee. There is always to option of upgrading to our hot breakfast for a minimal cost.
As an advocate for saving the environment we ask that you put any towels on the floor should you want them changed. If they are hanging up we do not change towels over and encourage guests to assist us with this.
All rooms are cleaning daily by out experienced housekeeping staff. Should your room not have been cleaned to your satisfaction we would have gladly rectified this for you immediately.
Unfortunately during your stay with us, the laundry room was out of order for a short time. Our back of house laundry is also a storage area. We meet all health guidelines and requirements and stress that this is our storage area and not a public area. Our laundry room is adequate, value for money and clean.
Thank you for providing feedback and rest assured we have addressed all issues raised in your post.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
18.2 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
91.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
15.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
18.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
31.9 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price range (per night): $155 - $236
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing