We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 4 day walk”
Review of Spicers Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Peak Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We just love all Spicers properties but our experience on the four day walk from Spicers Canopy to Spicers Lodge was life changing. Although it is not for the lounge lizard it is an achievable climb and it is filled with terrific views and wildlife. Our wonderful guides Rhys and Ben were amazing and gave us a unique experience in the Aussie bush. The Canopy was lovely with extra comfy tents and our own chef. We started as 20 people who didn't know each other and finished on our last day as great friends. The highlight was not only this sensational walk through bush and rainforest but our arrival at Spicers Lodge where we were greeted with Champagne and once all scrubbed up enjoyed an exquisite 7 course degustation with matching wines. To arrive at this oasis of luxury was a real reward with spacious rooms looking across the ranges, feather pillows on extra comfy beds,complimentary mini bars stocked to the hilt and our own private courtyard flowing onto lush lawn. Our evening ended with a quiet drink in our room by our open fire as it was still a little chilly. If you think you are pretty fit and want to really discover the scenic rim with a bit of luxury thrown in then you mustn't miss this, it's worth every cent!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gizmosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear gizmosis,

What a wonderful review. Thankyou for sharing your experience of the Scenic Rim Trail- one of the Great Walks of Australia. What a privilege for our team to be involved in your achievement and life changing journey. We're so glad that you enjoyed the adventure and especially the reward of Peak Lodge for the final night. We hope to welcome you back to the mountain in the future.

Best Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2014

Felt a sense of place in this lovely location, supported by beautiful lodging, superb service and fabulous food. Thank you.
A perfect setting for a romantic celebration with plenty of outdoor and indoor activities. I loved the fireplaces in every room.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithc306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear keithc306,

Thankyou so much for your kind review. We certainly strive to achieve a 'sense of place' from the building design right through to ambiance, food and service style. We're so glad you felt this and were able to connect with the mountain experience. We hope to welcome you back another time to create even more special memories.

Best Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Spicers Peak Lodge is perched in an alpine situation with a somewhat long winding track to take you there. The lodge is magnificent and well planned, service was great and our room was very luxurious and appointed with every comfort, great big spa in the bathroom and a cheese platter and champagne on arrival, a great escape for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear Lyn G,

Thankyou for your lovely feedback. Staying on top of the mountain, is certainly a way to to leave behind the worries of the everyday, and just stop, relax and breathe. We're so glad we were able to provide this environment to help you unwind, relax and rejuvenate, ready to tackle the world again.

Best Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Arriving up a rough and ready road does not prepare you for the magnificent lodge experience that awaits you. The rooms, staff & dining experience were exceptional. I wish I was there longer so I could enjoy the spa as well. Congratulations Spicers Peak!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BeachshackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear BeachshackBrisvegas,

Thankyou so much for your kind review. The long driveway up the mountain to the Lodge certainly does bring out the adventurous spirit in our guests and provides a real sense of arrival. It is also a way to truly leave behind the everyday. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time to truly experience everything the mountain has to offer.

Best Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

What a wonderful retreat for couples to relax, unwind and feel like you are part of the family without the intrusions. On arrival we were welcomed by first names, nice touch and offered a glass of sparkling to begin to unwind. No formal hotel check in at the Lodge, nor any swiping of credit cards, again very different. Staff were professional, attentive, friendly in a very well furnished environment, with large sofas and big cushions to sink into. The views from the Lodge are breathtaking and we were fortunate to have beautiful blue skies in the day and the most picture perfect star studded sky at night. The food was just perfect and the staff are to be commended most highly for the degustation menu offered. Nothing is too much trouble even for the kitchen if you have particular food preferences or dietary requirements. The other different, nice touches were the inclusion of the entire mini bar in your overnight stay and also complimentary drinks during the day and pre dinner drinks with canapes each evening.
I cannot recommend at stay here more highly and we will definately return. Having said all that I did have one or two minor complaints of a housekeeping nature, which meant I could not give an overall rating of excellent which I desperately wanted to do.... Firstly, one of the robes in our suite was full of holes. Secondly, none of the items in the bathroom were replenished, despite us staying for 2 nights. Thirdly, the standard of cleaning was not perfect, the basins and spa bath in the bathroom were not cleaned daily, there was considerable dust and hair on the floorboards of the room and the bins were not emptied daily. Lastly, the only umbrella in the pool area was broken. I did bring these issues to the attention of staff before leaving, hoping these matters might be addressed so that next time I visit I can give the Lodge the excellent rating it so deserves.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury spa lodge suite, number 7 if you can, with huge spa bath under the sky, large open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnkorwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear pnkorwin,

Thankyou for the time to provide such an extensive review. We're so glad you were able to relax and feel at home. The team all live and breathe Peak Lodge and are truly invested in the guest experience. We strive for a service style that is natural, unpretentious and thoughtful to ensure a memorable stay without any of the traditional hotel impositions. Thankyou for the feedback regarding your housekeeping service. We only wish that it had been brought to our attention during your stay, so that we could have rectified any issues immediately. As the team lives on the mountain, we are available 24/7 and are at your service. You will be pleased to know that we have completely replaced all of our robes, and have done further training within the team to ensure we always meet exceptional housekeeping standards. We truly hope to welcome you back to the mountain for an even more memorable experience next time.

Best Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
25.9 km away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
9.0 km away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
4.2 km away
Spicers Canopy
Spicers Canopy
#3 of 3 in Maryvale
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Peak Lodge

Address: Wilkinson's Rd, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range: $997 - $1,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Peak Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and spectacular settings, Spicers Peak Lodge is an intimate destination for those who want a peaceful escape with all the perks. Overlooking the Great Dividing Range and Main Range National Park, this secluded, mountain-top retreat is the highest non-alpine lodge in Australia and just two hours' drive from Brisbane. But with the stunning views and rolling mists, it feels a world away from everyday life. It's relaxation, beauty, service, cuisine and luxury - all elevated to new standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Peak Lodge Maryvale, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing