We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Elissa F
A foodie's delight
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2023
A lovely weekend at Spicers. We stayed in a Luxury Cabin which had a lovely view over the mountains, especially at sunset. The patio could be more private if a privacy screen was added, but didn't really bother us. Super comfy bed, and the outdoor bath was a nice touch. Room service is exorbitant for a bottle of bubbly, so byo wine if you'd want to spend less than $160 enjoying a bottle in your room!

The definite highlight was Sebastien in Homage, who was the most helpful and friendly staff member - always spot on with his recommendations and super knowledgeable in the best wine to suit our palate! He even surprised us on a few occasions, we now have some new favourites.

There isn't a great deal to do here if you aren't happy to partake in the adventure activities, or eat your way through the restaurant. We were happy with the latter, so thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although 2 nights was definitely enough.

The pool was generally quiet, could do with the addition of some ambience (light music), or service offering beverages and/ or light snacks. But it has a beautiful view and was very peaceful.
Date of stay: April 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Booking.com
18.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Single
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$149
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
25.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$152
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
25.7 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$111
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
  • Expedia.com
    AU$111
25.9 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$271
  • Priceline
30.6 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
30.9 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
54.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
17.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grandchester
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food was amazing homage restaurant the barn open fire dining experience retreat property accommodation luxury animals venue australia vale fireplace chefs wines countryside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2023

Wow wow wow what a place 5 star all the way from arrival to departure the lodge was excellent with all that you need for a stay bed was so comfy all staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable, the food was above standard and location was impeccable thank you for such a memorable stay

Room tip: You will be blown away with the quality and professional way they run this property it is a must do stay and you will be impressed
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager , Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review and for the 5 Stars!! We really appreciate it.

We are so glad that you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2022

We took our management team and partners for the night as a thank you, we hired the barn restaurant area for our predinner drinks and a seated dinner. What a night !!! The staff everywhere where awesome from the initial booking, ongoing communication, front desk check in, afternoon drinks by the pool, evening dinner and breakfast, they couldn't have done enough for us. Thanks team we had an amazing time (late night drinks by the fire pit was definitely a highlight!) and the rooms were very comfortable and well maintained.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Dear GENERAL_MANAGER_DB,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

The team will be absolutely delighted to hear your management event was such a success. The campfire with a few drinks in hand is definitely a great way to top off a fun evening in the Barn, and it's great to hear the Hidden Vale team took such good care of you all.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another awesome experience.

Warm regards,

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2022

.We spent 3 nights here.
Food was excellent including the beef (rump and the Wagyu) which was as tender as can be!!
Service was fantastic. A lovely new team who were already hitting their straps. Professional but also warm / friendly.
We had a room with a lovely view but it was tiny........not even space to hang our cloths. Quite a bit of plumbing sounds and bumps from neighbouring rooms.
It is a beautiful peaceful location.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514grahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Dear 514grahamb,

Thank you for you review!

How wonderful that you were able to spend three nights with us at Hidden Vale. It's great to hear you were well looked after and had an excellent dining experience at Homage.

We're so glad you enjoyed the peace and serenity of the 12,000 acres we are situated on. We do also have a number of different room types including larger, standalone rooms that take in the wider views of the beautiful Australian bush.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2022

We stayed in a deluxe cabin which had an amazing open fireplace where we spent a lot of time relaxing looking out at the countryside. The food was incredible and the staff were so friendly. I'll be back again as it was one of the most restful and quiet places I've ever stayed at.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanD1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2022

Dear SusanD1869,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Our Luxury Cabins are perfect for a tranquil escape and it's so pleasing to hear that is exactly what you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2022 via mobile

Amazing place! Spent a couple of days at a workshop here and loved it. The captive breeding centre is state of the art, the accommodation is brilliant - individual rooms in a larger cottage with old fashioned decor. The food was amazing - tenderest steak I’ve ever eaten. Not sure how much it cost, but I’d like to take the family one day.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Hayers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews