We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
razza61
Gatton, Australia

First Class Country Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2021
This was our second visit to Spicers Hidden Vale Both times have been for a special celebration and on each occasion we have been made to feel very special. On this occasion we were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival to our room which was such a special thought and greatly appreciated. We booked a room, dinner and breakfast package and stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with our friends. The room was fabulous with 2 separate hotel style bedrooms with ensuites and then had a common sitting room with 2 comfy lounge chairs and a fabulous large window seat that looked out over the lawn to the lap pool and valley below. There was also a small outdoor patio which was a lovely spot to enjoy a morning cuppa. Dinner was fantastic in the Homage restaurant with such a tasty array of flavours of onsite and local foods. The staff were so attentive and accommodating with service and photos. This was our first visit since the new homestead has been built and it is such a credit to Spicers to have created such a beautiful space following the original theme of the old homestead. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks out on the verandah as well as breakfast in the morning and the views out over the valley are stunning at the moment with everything so green. All staff, from check in... to restaurant... to grounds... to cleaning, were super friendly and our stay was most enjoyable. Thank you. We did not want to leave and can't wait to return.
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review
Responded 31 Dec 2021
Dear razza61,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are absolutely delighted to have been able to surprise you with a bottle of wine on arrival to help with your celebrations. Our two-bedroom suite and two-bedroom cottages are perfect for friends or family traveling together and it is lovely to hear you found this accommodation to be fabulous for your visit.

We are so glad you enjoyed the new Homestead, the attentive service from our team and the flavours in our locally sourced menu. And yes, the views from the Homestead veranda are just superb!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a very happy new year.

Warmest regards,

Claire and the team at Spicers Hidden Vale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$499
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$499
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$458
  • Trip.com
    AU$499
0.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Hotels.com
25.7 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free parking
Terrace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
25.9 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$157
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
30.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$432
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$432
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$432
30.6 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$209
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Vio.com
    AU$201
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
30.9 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free parking
Pool
BW Ipswich Sign
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • BestWestern.com
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$185
30.6 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
31.6 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grandchester
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food was amazing homage restaurant the barn open fire dining experience retreat property accommodation luxury animals venue australia vale fireplace chefs wines countryside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2021

Thought this was going to be great overnight retreat for our family - two family members were having birthdays. While the setting is fabulous & the staff friendly it didn't live up to the expectations of a 5-star venue. The hotel style rooms were adequate but nothing special (few functionality issues.) The meals were a disappointment. Attention to detail absent, service slow. The smoke-house beef which the waitress suggested was tough & challenging to eat. We weren't supplied with steak knives or seasoning. It came with vegetable sides - one was cucumber (3 out of 4 don't eat cucumber) & that wasn't communicated effectively. The dessert choices were uninspiring & just not that nice. No one finished their dessert. Breakfast consisted of a hot meal only & it was just ok. No continental. No buffet. Too bad if you wanted something light. The shining light of our visit was the Native Wildlife Centre. Overall, overpriced & underwhelming. Won't be back. Apologized to my family & ended up taking them out for another birthday meal the following weekend in Ipswich!

Room tip: If you're coming here I'd probably pick the stand alone accommodation for privacy, parking and soundproofing reasons.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Dear Jo H,

Thank you very much for your review and a very happy birthday to your family members!

We’re so pleased to hear you loved the surrounds of Hidden Vale and found all of our team to be friendly. We have a number of different room types, which provide different options and styling depending on the experience you are looking for. The team would be more than happy to suggest something different for your next stay.

We are always looking for ways to improve so please do feel free to reach out to the retreat directly regarding your experience and we would be more than happy to look into this further for you.

It is absolutely wonderful to hear you enjoyed the Hidden Vale Wildlife Centre. The partnership between the University of Queensland and the Turner Family Foundation certainly is contributing an incredible amount of research towards wildlife management and conservation in South East Queensland, which we are incredibly proud to be a part of.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest regards,

Claire and the team at Spicers Hidden Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our weekend at Hidden Vale and could not have been more disappointed.

Our room was not particularly clean, with dead bugs and dead flies. Stains on the bed head. The handle fell off in the shower as did the toilet roll holder.

We had two breakfasts and two dinners at the Homage restaurant and only one of them we enjoyed. The first dinner, the Wagyu was quite nice, however it went downhill from there. We like creative food however the bacon and eggs was almost unpalatable.

Lunch at The Barn even worse the food was simply revolting.

Spicers sent me a feedback questionnaire which I completed with all of the above comments. You would think for the amount of money we had paid that at least they would acknowledge the feedback, we gave heard nothing.

I think the only thing that they are good at is marketing. It is a real shame the experience doesn’t live up to the brochure.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KawanaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2021

Hi KawanaTravellers,

Thank you for your time on the phone. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with me directly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the retreat.

Kind regards

Spicers Hidden Vale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely stay out at Spicers. Our room (Heritage Suite) was immaculate and cosy. We enjoyed the cheese and wine tasting (well worth it, as you get full glasses of wine, not tasting sizes). Food is excellent as always, the 3 course dinner was delicious. Also enjoyed the wildlife tour we went on. Beautiful gardens, buildings and pool. Would stay again!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A4826HLmadelinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Hi A4826HLmadelinem,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to see people visiting the wildlife center as it is such an amazing facility with a passionate team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards Spicers Hidden Vale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We didn’t stay at the hotel - just went to the restaurant. The menu has changed and you have to spend $65 for one course or $85 for 2 courses. The food took ages to arrive and was average and small in size - definitely not worth $65. We all left hungry. Unfortunately won’t be returning as it’s a beautiful location. Spend your money elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Azura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Azura28,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased we were able to offer a one course option as part of our ever-changing menu. We do highly recommend either 2 or 3 courses for the full hatted experience. For a more relaxed dining option, our Barn is also open for lunch each weekend.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location where we are fortunate to be situated within 12,000 acres of beautiful, undulating landscape.

We would love to welcome you to our Barn dining as an alternate option for the future.

Best regards,

The team at Hidden Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

I treated my partner to a surprise overnight stay, and this place over delivered!
From the complimentary room upgrade to the grazing kangaroos in the garden it was unforgettable.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Spicers, all of the staff are just fantastic, especially Hang she is just so very efficient and took care of our every need, going above and beyond all my expectations.
The food at Homage restaurant was outstanding, both dinner and breakfast were sensational and the Barn is so great for lunch at the weekend.
I would highly recommend the archery for a fun event, we had the best time.... they only thing disappointing to us is that we had to leave this fabulous place.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandyfZ5264OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi mandyfZ5264OX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope its not too long until we are welcoming you again.

Kind regards Spicers Hidden Vale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews