We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kawana Travellers
Kawana Island, Australia

Disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2021via mobile
We were really looking forward to our weekend at Hidden Vale and could not have been more disappointed.

Our room was not particularly clean, with dead bugs and dead flies. Stains on the bed head. The handle fell off in the shower as did the toilet roll holder.

We had two breakfasts and two dinners at the Homage restaurant and only one of them we enjoyed. The first dinner, the Wagyu was quite nice, however it went downhill from there. We like creative food however the bacon and eggs was almost unpalatable.

Lunch at The Barn even worse the food was simply revolting.

Spicers sent me a feedback questionnaire which I completed with all of the above comments. You would think for the amount of money we had paid that at least they would acknowledge the feedback, we gave heard nothing.

I think the only thing that they are good at is marketing. It is a real shame the experience doesn’t live up to the brochure.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review
Responded 16 Nov 2021
Hi KawanaTravellers,

Thank you for your time on the phone. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with me directly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the retreat.

Kind regards

Spicers Hidden Vale team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$458
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
18.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Hotels.com
25.7 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free parking
Terrace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
25.9 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
30.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
BW Ipswich Sign
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
30.6 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.0 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
54.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
17.4 km from Spicers Hidden Vale
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grandchester
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
853
151
35
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food was amazing homage restaurant the barn open fire dining experience retreat property accommodation luxury animals venue australia vale fireplace chefs wines countryside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely stay out at Spicers. Our room (Heritage Suite) was immaculate and cosy. We enjoyed the cheese and wine tasting (well worth it, as you get full glasses of wine, not tasting sizes). Food is excellent as always, the 3 course dinner was delicious. Also enjoyed the wildlife tour we went on. Beautiful gardens, buildings and pool. Would stay again!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A4826HLmadelinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Hi A4826HLmadelinem,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to see people visiting the wildlife center as it is such an amazing facility with a passionate team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards Spicers Hidden Vale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We didn’t stay at the hotel - just went to the restaurant. The menu has changed and you have to spend $65 for one course or $85 for 2 courses. The food took ages to arrive and was average and small in size - definitely not worth $65. We all left hungry. Unfortunately won’t be returning as it’s a beautiful location. Spend your money elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Azura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Azura28,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased we were able to offer a one course option as part of our ever-changing menu. We do highly recommend either 2 or 3 courses for the full hatted experience. For a more relaxed dining option, our Barn is also open for lunch each weekend.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location where we are fortunate to be situated within 12,000 acres of beautiful, undulating landscape.

We would love to welcome you to our Barn dining as an alternate option for the future.

Best regards,

The team at Hidden Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

I treated my partner to a surprise overnight stay, and this place over delivered!
From the complimentary room upgrade to the grazing kangaroos in the garden it was unforgettable.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Spicers, all of the staff are just fantastic, especially Hang she is just so very efficient and took care of our every need, going above and beyond all my expectations.
The food at Homage restaurant was outstanding, both dinner and breakfast were sensational and the Barn is so great for lunch at the weekend.
I would highly recommend the archery for a fun event, we had the best time.... they only thing disappointing to us is that we had to leave this fabulous place.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandyfZ5264OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Sinclair, Other at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi mandyfZ5264OX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope its not too long until we are welcoming you again.

Kind regards Spicers Hidden Vale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

A fantastic family getaway.
The service was exceptional- from lovely Robyn in reception to the incredible service team (Shania, Natasha, Myriam, Reneysa). Everyone went above and beyond.
The Wildlife Centre and Koala Safari was great too - Andrew and Justine were very knowledgeable and provided a wonderful informative experience.
Plus the Adventure Centre team were very generous with their time in setting up Archery at the end of a big day!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sams_Family2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021

Dear Sams_Family2014,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

It is fantastic to hear you and your family had such a great time at Spicers Hidden Vale and that the service received was exceptional with every team member going above and beyond.

The Wildlife Centre and Koala Safari are an incredible way to see and hear about the research being undertaken into native animal populations within the 12,000 acres surrounding the retreat. It is great that you enjoyed your time with Andrew and Justine tracking some of the many koalas here. We will also be sure to pass on your feedback to the Hidden Vale Adventure Park team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Claire and the team at Spicers Hidden Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Staff are wonderful , food is fantastic , accommodation to die for, this is my second visit, I’m coming back! The sunset ATV trip was incredible and we were given a birthday food hamper of beautiful cheese and fruit to enjoy with spectacular views over the property

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SarahKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear SarahKingsbury,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

The ATV tour is definitely a magnificent way to explore and take in the sights of the 12,000 acres that surround the retreat. We're so glad you enjoyed an afternoon among the hills and the valley views.

It's also fantastic to hear the team, dining at Homage and your accommodation were all outstanding.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Claire and the team at Spicers Hidden Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews