We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Bushwalkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My friend and I decided to start our Australian adventure with a relaxing stay at Eaglereach. We were collected at the Sydney Airport by "Here to Thair" owned and operated by Garren Allerton and after a described drive with a stop at a local farmer's market, we found ourselves in our huge, beautiful cabin overlooking the Hunter Valley. We each had lovely, sun-filled rooms with our own fully equipped bathroom, wrap-around deck, and stunning views. We were visited by wallabies, kangaroos, and a very haughty magpie. Over our two days, we took several walks - always with roo sightings - through the bush. While we recognize it is winter, the temperatures are tolerable and the constellations brilliant. The staff, the food, the ambience, the peace and quiet - just what we had hoped in order to ease into the new circadian rhythm before launching into tours and more frenetic amusements. Thank you, Eaglereach staff for all of your many kindnesses

Room Tip: Bella Vista has amazing views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Hi Canadian Bushwalkers
Our team was very proud to read your review thank you on their behalf. We are particularly excited to receive commendation from experienced international travellers who are seeking a uniquely Aussie experience we trust you continue to enjoy this experience and hope one day to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Needed a last minute mini break out of Sydney with family (2 adults, 2 kids - 3 years and 7 months). Found this place - and struck gold. Individual lodges - ours prob smallest end of the scale at 2 bed 2 bath - clean, comfortable, amazing views, log fire - all we could ask for (decor simple and old fashioned but that's not a problem with rural retreat and kids!). Welcome incredibly friendly - staff all happy to chat and made us feel very at home. Facilities great - bistro with full buffet breakfast, and good hearty food, plus they do take away and self cook options - great to be able to get fish and chips at home in front of a DVD when the kids too tired to be on restaurant behaviour. Children's playground was a massive hit - from look of it is new. Scenery stunning. And best of all - kangaroos EVERYWHERE - for our 3 year old this was the most exciting thing ever, especially being able to feed them by hand (even if there was a bit if hiding behind daddy in case the big ones ate her...). 48 hours away from home door to door, and feeling well rested mentally, physically exhausted from walking, well fed, and inspired. Will definitely be back.

TIP take own travel cot / high chair etc for lodge if travelling with baby - believe each lodge privately owned so some may have more kit than others, but go prepared and then won't be caught short

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Alex T
Great to hear details of the Eaglereach family adventure enjoyed by your and your family. As you said the clean comfortable accommodation with amazing views and the open wood fir e in winter is such a delight. Then all the bistro options commencing with the comprehensive buffet breakfast the a la carte dinners including the daily $12.95 mains specials finally there is the wide range of takeaways from BBQ and picnic hampers to a selection of crispy pizzas and as you enjoyed fresh fish and chips whilst watching a DVD fireside from our wide collection which is offered free as are many other Resort features not found in unhosted self help holiday homes. Finally for the kids the amazing variety of native animals starting with the kangaroos and wallabys. We look forward to welcoming you back and again thanks a on behalf of our team for your very comprehensive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Five months previously my husband booked the romance package 2 nights in a one bedroom spa lodge which included two 1/2 hour massages, 2c dinner for two one night and breakfast each day costing $750. On arrival my husband was told that the spa in our spa lodge was not working and there was nobody to fix it. It was then suggested perhaps we could return another weekend instead. After taking 5 months to organise a babysitter this was not an option. He was then offered a lunch food hamper as compensation. We had already brought with us any additional food so we also declined this offer. We were then offered $50 refund for the weekend which we felt we had to accept. We were told nothing else could be done so we went to the lodge. We were excited to see the lovely view and discovered what we thought was an indoor spa bath and thought ok that will be fine only to discover it was an old spa that had been covered over and not in use anymore. We decided to return to reception to see if they could do anything else for us. I asked if there was any way we could be moved to another lodge. We were told no others were available. Finally we were offered use of a spa at another lodge (which apparently had water problems). We accepted and appreciated at least being able to use a spa, but having to drive several minutes to the other lodge each time we wanted to use it and return wet (in late May) certainly wasn't the spa experience we had booked.
The dinner wasn't restaurant quality, although nice it was more like Bistro food. We enjoyed the plentiful buffet breakfast on Sunday morning, but on Monday we were given a breakfast basket instead (they don't open for breakfast on Mondays??). This was nowhere near the quality or quantity available at the buffet breakfast and even included children's 'poppers' for juice.
We also tried to play pool one day and discovered that that too was broken. We reported this to reception and again there was nothing that could be done. Nobody even bothered to come and have a look!
The location was lovely with beautiful views, good walking trails and the massage was wonderful. However our overall experience was not good. The price we paid did not reflect the quality/service we received. Very disappointing. We had looked forward to a romantic getaway which we only get a chance to do once a year.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aleluc255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Aleluc255325
Yes we understand we did not fully meet your expectations and please accept our sincere apologies. The turbo spa in your lodge had just been fully serviced the week before at a cost exceeding $2000 when a fault was discovered after the departure of the previous guests on the day of your arrival the Resort Manager commenced making calls to your mobile phone and left messages on your message bank. The aim was to explain the situation and look at some options including a visit at another time. Unfortunately equipment does break down and being in a remote regional area service calls by specialist technicians only occur Monday to Friday and in this case the small part which caused the problem had to be secured from the manufacturers in Melbourne thus requiring a second service call. All the offers of compensation including complementary BBQ hamper late check-out and the exclusive use of a turbo spa at another lodge which was offline for maintenance plus a mutually agreed financial refund were offered. The Resort Manager spoke to you again at breakfast and you suggested you expressed satisfaction then later on Sunday you reported you had a problem operating the pool table maintenance subsequently reported on Monday they could find no problem operating the pool table, We hope you will consider returning in the future and please contact me personally so I can extend an offer of further compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I'd been a little wary after reading some of the reviews, but I shouldn't have worried. From the minute we arrived at reception, until the time we were checking out...perfection. We had a glass of champagne when we checked in, and were given a gorgeous box of choccies and another bottle of champagne to have in our cabin
Our cabin was The Gallery and it was lovely. Clean and spacious with the most breathtaking view. The kitchen had all the things we needed. Our spa was undercover so the rain was not a bother at all. We watched the sun come up, from the spa with Kangaroos right near us. The breakfast was simple, but delicious. Fresh fruit, porridge and fresh yogurt, all little extras. Our dinner on Saturday night was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the service was fast and the food was delish. It's a romantic setting, but not over the top fancy. We both felt very comfortable in jeans. Our massages were heaven.
I would not hesitate to come back, both with the kids and again as a romantic weekend. Thanks so much for everything. It really was just what we needed. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in The Gallery. Spacious, amazing views, spa, fire. Heaven.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Hi missK1997
What a delight to read your review our team will be so excited to share this also glad you took advantage of many of the attractions and facilities especially the Bistro and the Massage & Facial Centre we do look forward to welcoming you back both as a family and for another romantic weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at Eaglereach last weekend and had a fabulous time. We arrived late, after driving from Queensland it was about 7.45 when we arrived and even although reception close time was 7pm there was still a receptionist waiting to check us in with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbles.

Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfy king sized bed, black and white ensuite with really modern round hand basin and everything you could think of to make our stay enjoyable.
Good sized TV, mini bar and even a microwave.

We had a hot breakfast in the Bistro which came as a lovely surprise because as well as having all the normal fresh fruits, Toasts, bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes’ and mushrooms the English chef had made porridge with spicy fruits which was just right for the chilly mountain air.

We walked the many trails and saw an amazing variety of birds however it was the Kangaroo’s and Wallaby’s that stole the day. The native animals are in abundance at Eaglereach and so good to see them in their natural habitat and all looking so healthy and strong. After our walk we had a massage and then back to our room for a hot spa and couldn’t resist a small nap.

We went to the Bistro for dinner and enjoyed having our first glass of red in front of the open fire. Our meal was excellent, well cooked and inexpensive. We each had two courses which cost $86.

We will be returning to Eaglereach and next time will take some friends and may even take advantage of one of their 3 night packages. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hi Clayton B
Great news you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the exclusive Eaglereach Wilderness Resort facilities and attractions from the welcome "glass of bubbly" at Check-in to the massage in the Massage & Facials Centre. Of course the self guided nature walks and the abundance of native wildlife including rain forest birds kangaroos and wallabys and now the cute spotted quolls. Yes the bistro is a delight commencing with the wide range of buffet options at breakfast as you listed to the house made delight created by our good food loving chef for breakfast Saturday lunch and 5 nights a week plus all the takeaway options. . We look forward to welcoming you back and will pass onto our team your very supportive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
28.7 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
870 reviews
27.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
35.1 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
32.1 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
27.9 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglereach Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Address: Summer hill Rd, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Price Range: $142 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaglereach Wilderness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning mountaintop paradise alive with native animals in their natural habitat. Accommodation in s/c lodges 1-6 bedrooms and resort rooms 4 to 4.5 star. Bistro and bar offering casual to a la carte dining, day spa and eco systems from mountaintop to rain forest, all non-motorized activities and equipment free including mountain bikes, self-guided nature walks, kayaks, internet kiosk, DVD library.New Corroboree Meeting Place for conferences functions and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eaglereach Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglereach Wilderness Hotel Vacy
Hotel Eaglereach Wilderness
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort Vacy/Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing