We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem?”

Margan Restaurant & Winery
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Broke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Margan Restaurant is now in its thirteenth year and Margan Wines celebrates 23 years as a leading Hunter Valley winery. As the pioneers of agri-dining in the Hunter Valley we are committed more than ever to our ‘estate grown, estate made’ ethos. We craft our menus around what we harvest from our one-acre kitchen garden and orchard to maintain a truly seasonal focus. In addition, we have our own olive trees, free range chickens, beehives and raise our own lambs, all of which is incorporated into our menu. As farmers, we are committed to looking after the land and as such are certified with Green Table Australia and Sustainable Winegrowing Australia for our environmental stewardship (first and only HV restaurant and winery). Integrity is important to us. Our accreditation benchmarks us internationally for best practice to ISO14000.
Reviewed 26 October 2021

Great place for a delicious and leisurely lunch.
The degustation style menu was decidedly scrummy.
The whole time spent there was very pleasant

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank giddens5bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

My partner finished dry July and we decided to celebrate with "the Ultimate Margan Experience". We arrived early which was no issue, served bubbles on arrival. Next we ventured with Jess to complete a vineyard tour. Her knowledge, friendly personality and enthusiasm for the industry was refreshing and she gave us a great tour through the garden, barrell hall and winery facilities. The 5 course meal that followed was awesome and all staff were professional and knowledgeable.

Following lunch we had a wine tasting to try the rest of the wines that we hadn't already tried. The staff member who served us was super friendly and gave great background to all the wines.

Overall everything was impressive, if you do one thing in Broke do this!!

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank AaronA12341998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

We had the pleasure of having the truffle degustation! The food, wine,location & service were divine!
One of the best meals I’ve ever had!
We can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank nicolel506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

What a wonderful ‘ultimate’ experience we had on Sunday. The Margan vision, the genuinely sustainable action, the quality of food and wine, and the staff were all brilliant. Highly recommend. Five stars!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank F5344NXmeganh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Clean, modern design. Fire adds comfort on cold days. Outdoor dining possible on warm days although sadly, given COVID, this was not available on a sunny 19 degree day. Most tables were spaced more than 2m apart. Although some waiters wore masks, including ours, the waiter pulled the mask down to talk to us - really why bother wearing one! Some waiters wore masks some of the time but took them off at times, even when talking at close quarters to customers.
I had lamb as a main course (lunch menu was limited to this or fish as mains). There was some gristle which had to be cut off and discarded from the small serving. I liked the taste. Entree and desserts were enjoyable (gnocchi/citrus based respectively - choice of entree but not dessert). Payment was by credit card in full at the time of booking.
Very good wines produced there and available for both dining and cellar door purchase.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D2018XIgregp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Margan Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Margan Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.