We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cellar door!”

Margan Restaurant & Winery
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Broke
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Margan Restaurant is now in its thirteenth year and Margan Wines celebrates 23 years as a leading Hunter Valley winery. As the pioneers of agri-dining in the Hunter Valley we are committed more than ever to our ‘estate grown, estate made’ ethos. We craft our menus around what we harvest from our one-acre kitchen garden and orchard to maintain a truly seasonal focus. In addition, we have our own olive trees, free range chickens, beehives and raise our own lambs, all of which is incorporated into our menu. As farmers, we are committed to looking after the land and as such are certified with Green Table Australia and Sustainable Winegrowing Australia for our environmental stewardship (first and only HV restaurant and winery). Integrity is important to us. Our accreditation benchmarks us internationally for best practice to ISO14000.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

I had an amazing cellar door experience! Jess was super knowledgeable and she went onto great detail about each wine.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Jo6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

We dined at Margan’s restaurant this past Friday for dinner and everything was exceptional.

The food as always was delicious and the server was a fountain knowledge about each dish served and every wine from the Sommelier’s Selection. I really enjoyed listening and talking to her about the wines.

I can’t wait for my next visit!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Venture05928680062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We recently spent five days in the Hunter Valley for a friend's big birthday (luckily NOT our usual destination, Sydney, on this occasion). On our last day we went for lunch at Margan and it was one of the highlights of our visit. The food was tremendous and knowing that most of it came from just outside the doors of the restaurant was a major plus. The well-priced matching wines were a great pleasure and both food and wine were placed in front of us by charming, helpful and knowledgeable staff. The view over the rows of vines to the mountains behind were a highly suitable backdrop and the rammed earth walls complemented the view. Don't forget to check out the large function space next to the restaurant, well worth the look.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cassrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We calledwererel in for lunch on a trip out from Camelford, we were greeted at the door by a very friendly lady. All Covid rules were adered to.
I ordered chicken n bacon pasta, my partner had chilli concarni, Both.meals were absolutely delicious 10/10

.
.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank L0N8T5ACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

5 Courses and Wines - Absolutely Delicious
We organised a 5 course dinner with matching wines, and they definitely didn’t disappoint!
From the beginning of the night when we walked in and was greeted by the friendly team (Brittany and Maddie) we had the best experience ever!
Our experience started with the Cocktails with Brittany and She is a Customer Service Managers Dream! Couldn’t have asked a more fabulous way to spend our birthdays celebrating!
The Head Chef briefed the team on my allergic reactions (which I overheard) and was very pleased about their policies of washing hands between every service.
Then our between waitress Maddie made the night even more special by making us laugh and being a delight.
The food was fabulous, and it was made even better with the paired wines.
The food was amazing, the service was even better! And the atmosphere was beautiful. The fireplace was nice and warm and it was lovely being able to have a drink by the fireplace before and after dinner.
Thank you to the team for making us feel so special.
We will be back for Sure!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank A9986CTma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Margan Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Margan Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.