We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Margan Restaurant & Winery
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Broke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Margan Restaurant is now in its thirteenth year and Margan Wines celebrates 23 years as a leading Hunter Valley winery. As the pioneers of agri-dining in the Hunter Valley we are committed more than ever to our ‘estate grown, estate made’ ethos. We craft our menus around what we harvest from our one-acre kitchen garden and orchard to maintain a truly seasonal focus. In addition, we have our own olive trees, free range chickens, beehives and raise our own lambs, all of which is incorporated into our menu. As farmers, we are committed to looking after the land and as such are certified with Green Table Australia and Sustainable Winegrowing Australia for our environmental stewardship (first and only HV restaurant and winery). Integrity is important to us. Our accreditation benchmarks us internationally for best practice to ISO14000.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant room is sensational. Its such a lovely setting. We had the degustation dinner with matching wines. Servings were not massive so we were extremely satisfied at the end of the meal. Whilst there was a minor error with a dietary request - the manager handled it superbly. Highly recommend this place for dinner.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Craigbulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Celebrated our birthdays here on a full Friday night 12/3. The degustation menu was sensational and hard to pick the best course. Great and unique flavours. Matched wines a great idea but needed a driver for that, so had a glass of their lovely Fordwich Hill shiraz and bought two bottles to take home at the end of the night. Service was also excellent, efficient and attentive staff. Telling everyone Margan is a 'must do' in the Hunter. Will be back.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Lucyzozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021 via mobile

Excellent service and high quality food. Each dish was amazing. Staff were very attentive, making the experience very special. Fabulous scenery too as located in part of the Hunter Valley we usually do not frequent.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank janicehealz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margan W, Manager at Margan Restaurant & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Janice,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your celebration and our estate grown produce. Looking forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Zahra Meghji
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Me and my partner did a wine tasting at Margan Winery and we truly enjoyed our experience in every way. The staff were very helpful and attentive and were able to serve everyone despite it being quite busy at the time when we visited. We wish we had gotten the name of the guy who served us as he made our experience so wonderful with his knowledge of the wines and how they are produced etc. We found all the information very interesting and the wines are just so good, they are absolutely exceptional. An absolute must visit while in Hunter Valley!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NoooraEveliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

4 of us . Overall excellent, staff extremely helpful adapting to change in food peferences at late notice; meal superb (both vegetarian and carnivore). Saw mechanical wine picking (?shaking) for first time.
Staff well informed and helfpful on wine tasting (and servings with meal)

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StephenD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margan Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Margan Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.