We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality wines and service”

Margan Restaurant & Winery
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Broke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Margan Restaurant is now in its thirteenth year and Margan Wines celebrates 23 years as a leading Hunter Valley winery. As the pioneers of agri-dining in the Hunter Valley we are committed more than ever to our ‘estate grown, estate made’ ethos. We craft our menus around what we harvest from our one-acre kitchen garden and orchard to maintain a truly seasonal focus. In addition, we have our own olive trees, free range chickens, beehives and raise our own lambs, all of which is incorporated into our menu. As farmers, we are committed to looking after the land and as such are certified with Green Table Australia and Sustainable Winegrowing Australia for our environmental stewardship (first and only HV restaurant and winery). Integrity is important to us. Our accreditation benchmarks us internationally for best practice to ISO14000.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Me and my partner did a wine tasting at Margan Winery and we truly enjoyed our experience in every way. The staff were very helpful and attentive and were able to serve everyone despite it being quite busy at the time when we visited. We wish we had gotten the name of the guy who served us as he made our experience so wonderful with his knowledge of the wines and how they are produced etc. We found all the information very interesting and the wines are just so good, they are absolutely exceptional. An absolute must visit while in Hunter Valley!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NoooraEveliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2021

4 of us . Overall excellent, staff extremely helpful adapting to change in food peferences at late notice; meal superb (both vegetarian and carnivore). Saw mechanical wine picking (?shaking) for first time.
Staff well informed and helfpful on wine tasting (and servings with meal)

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StephenD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

We have enjoyed Margan on many occasions - always a wonderful experience. The cuisine , garden views and wines are just so good. We especially joyed the 5 course tasting menu - the team make every effort to make sure guests are looked after. We will be back....

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan_RitaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of attending Margan Winery for a wine tour and 5 course degustation. Our guide for the tour was very knowledgeable on the Margan winery. They are very sustainable with the restaurant using at least 80% of the product from the garden.
Lunch was amazing with our lovely waitress Kayla taking very good care of us. They have inside and outside tables. It was such a lovely day we ate outside. From the amazing focacia bread through to the yoghurt sorbet each dish was cooked and presented to perfection..!!
Thank you for a wonderful experience and we look forward to our next visit...

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank starkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021

Margan has become one of our family's treasured destinations to recharge, celebrate our milestones and indulge in the finest food, wine and service. We went over the long weekend as one of our first getaways since Covid restrictions. My husband and I had the 5 course degustation, he the vegetarian and I, the omnivore version. Both were equally heavenly. I had the matching wines and he enjoyed some great beers. Typically excellent and friendly service from all the team. Picked up a bottle of the 2018 Tempranillo Graciano Shiraz and the 2019 Huesgen & Margan Trabener Wurzgarten on the way out for our next back-at-home celebration!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank michellerQ2280CX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margan Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Margan Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.