We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best condo ever!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing breathtaking view from lanai and most rooms.  Black rock, beach, sand, surf, and islands!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing breathtaking view from lanai and most rooms.  Black rock, beach, sand, surf, and islands!
Twin towers of The Whaler:  ocean front location! Entry of Suite 802.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Amazing breathtaking view from lanai and most rooms.  Black rock, beach, sand, surf, and islands!
Twin towers of The Whaler:  ocean front location!
Entry of Suite 802.
Entry hall and gallery hallway showcasing Hawaiian artists!
Another phoenominal view from the lanai.
Visual pleasing and extremely comfortable, the living room of Suite 802 offers all.
Living room, dining room or kitchen the views are breathtaking!
Living room.  Amazing location with direct lanai access.  Views are magical!
Dining room and all the amenities you will desire.
Full kitchen with granite pass through and dining bar.
All European appliances and necessary cooking utensils are at your fingertips.
Magical evenings on the lanai to carter to your every wish.
Side lanai offers dining for breakfast, lunch or dinner and the amazing views!
Hallway gallery filled with local Hawaiian artists.  Colorful and fun images!
Master suite with full bath and sitting area.
Direct access to the lanai from the master suite.  Black rock and Kaanapali Beach are your views!
Master bath is like a spa.  Stone walls and high end fixtures throughout!
Guest bedroom with all the amenities you could desire.
Direct lanai access and those famous views Suite 802 offers!
Guest bathroom clad in limestone and granite.  Ceiling rain fixture in shower.
The Whaler courtyard with lush tropical landscaping and koi ponds.
The Whaler swimming pool and spa.  Directly located at the beach for beach access as well as views!
Nothing quite like the nightly sunsets Suite 802 offers from it's lanai.  Magical!
Great for beach and ocean watching
Make a wish
lanai view
Bläckrock at sunset from our lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ka'anapali, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah D
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best condo ever!!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful condo! Best vacation! It was a pleasure working with owner from the moment I rented the condo. She was very friendly, helpful, and informative. Very easy to communicate with her which is comforting when renting a vacation rental. The condo was beautiful. We loved everything. Comfortable beds. Beautiful balcony. Gorgeous bathroom. Beach chairs, snorkel gear and other items to use on the beach. AND everything you need. Well stocked kitchen and bathroom. Washer and dryer. Just bring your clothes. This was by far the best vacation rental ever and would not hesitate to rent again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2017
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves in our Maui home. You are always welcome to return to Whaler suite 802.
Warm wishes, JaNell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctomlutes
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
“Perfect Maui condo time after time!”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our first experience with Janel and Simon was our trip to Maui in 2002 and we have stayed in their condo every trip since then. They have been very courteous and easy to work with on each on our trips. Our latest trip, 2/24/17-3/9/17, was our 6th stay there. Over the years, the condo has been consistently beyond our expectations. There isn't a more perfect view of Kaanapali Beach or Black Rock. The condo itself has been meticulously kept up to date with top end appliances and furnishings. The kitchen is well stocked with all the needed pots, pans and dishes. The pantry is well stocked as well. The outside cabinet has all the beach equipment needed. (boogie boards, chairs, toys etc.) The Whaler is centrally located on Kaanapali Beach next to the Whaler Village Shopping area with numerous restaurants close by and a 5 minute drive to Lahaina. It is a dream to vacation here. You really never want to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful and heartfelt review of our Maui home.. So glad you enjoyed yourselves again, in Maui.
Sincerely, JaNell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trosclair...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“The Whaler 802 - Beauty, comfort and amazing sunsets”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I love staying at The Whaler. It is the best location in Maui with everything close to the condo - restaurants, shopping and snorkeling. The Whaler 802 is more than we could have imagined. Once you stay here, you will never want to stay anywhere else. We were 4 adults on this trip. When the owners, JaNell and Simon, say they want this to feel like your home, it is an understatement. JaNell was so gracious in our planning. This condo really has all the comforts of home plus more. There is a huge variety of cooking spices, flour, sugar, olive oil and coffee. The bathrooms are fully stocked with shampoo, soaps and lotions. And the icing on the cake, the condo has the most spectacular ocean and sunset views of any unit we have stayed in and it is beautifully decorated. You will never want to leave. They also have plenty of beach supplies for your use. It will be hard for us to rent any other condo (even if it is just the two of us) after experiencing the magic of 802. We can't wait to plan our next trip. Thank you JaNell and Simon for sharing your home. Michelle & Chuck Dallas, TX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Aloha Michelle, Your thoughtful, kind and gracious review is much appreciated. You are always welcome back to suite 802. Warm wishes, JaNell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popoki
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beyond luxurious - yet so relaxed”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Whaler Suite 802 offers an incredible level of luxury in a perfect location. While a hotel may be able to match this feeling of luxury, the essence here is that this luxury is paired with a relaxed, cosy atmosphere you would normally only experience at home.
That is a unique combination and this is why I recommend to book Suite 802 wholeheartedly.

More details, if you like...

Booking:
I wanted to book via Tripadvisor/Flipkey because I wanted to be protected by the payment guarantee this site offers. This initially posed some technical issues, which JaNell (the owner) promptly addressed and sorted out with Flipkey. Thank you again for that!
That was already a good sign of the superior and customer friendly attitude from JaNell and I felt very much at ease to deal with her and she always responded quickly to any question and provided hints and tips whenever needed.

The suite:
Everything you can dream of is there, in great quality and mint condition. This goes from the kitchen with everything from high quality cutlery to elegant tableware to the top notch Miele, Sub-Zero and Bosch appliances. When you enter a hotel room or suite, and many condos, you will find that it's "dry", i.e. you will have to buy everything from Salt and Pepper onwards. Not here! The kitchen is perfectly stocked with probably around 40-50 different seasonings and just about everything you could possibly need to get started. All you need to buy yourself are the daily groceries.
This setup might be tricky in some places, where you may find yourself a bit uncomfortable using "someone else's" kitchen. Not here!
The whole suite was so spotless, clean and shiny that we felt completely at ease and we did not hesitate to use whatever we needed.
JaNell puts a lot of effort into making you feel at home. It was a complete success from the moment we came in!

What else?
The luxury of course does not end in the kitchen. It goes on to the living room with it's unbeatable corner, ocean front view that extends over the nicest part of Kaanapali beach to the black rock, over to Molokai in the north and Lanai in the west.
Bedrooms and bathrooms - especially the huge master bathroom including TV - are equally pleasant and luxurious and you can enjoy the ocean view from both bedrooms equally well.

Still more?
Lots and lots of useful details, like the Miele Washer and Dryer that is essential when travelling for a longer period, especially with Children. There's also a wide array of beach toys for your use, starting with umbrellas, snorkels, fins, toys, beach mats etc etc. You name it - it's there.

Is there anything not to like?
Yes.
The two big whaler towers are in my view - to put it politely - not that pleasing to the eye. The best thing about them is to be inside them, looking outside, so you don't see them.
This is again a major advantage of Suite 802: You're facing west and north, so you don't see the other tower but overlook Kaanapali beach and the sunset over the pacific instead.

The pool: This is really a weak point of the Whaler. The pool is small and mostly rectangular and therefore - understandably - kids games and toys are restricted. Since our kids were not used to swimming in the ocean before our trip, I thought that this might develop into a real issue, but I am more than happy to report that the kids loved the beach instantly so much that we did not use the pool for anything else but to clean off the part of the sand which did not come off on the beach shower.

Location:
It's great to be directly on this magnificent beach. There are plenty of dining options available in the nearby hotels as well as in the Whalers Village adjacent to the Whaler, but we preferred to stay in for most of our meals, because it was so pleasant and fun to cook in this kitchen.
We did not have a car but Uber Cars are readily available for shopping and we went twice to Times Supermarket a bit north of Kaanapali. (Below $10 per trip) Variety and Quality there was good - not outstanding. Whalers Village offers only very basic groceries from ABC at the moment, so don't expect to be able to stock up there.
Two trips to Lahaina were also very easily and cheaply arranged via Uber.

Verdict:
You cannot go wrong when you stay here. Go for it!
When comparing prices, please take into account the massive savings for every meal you can cook yourself, which are equally pleasurable to prepare in the luxurious kitchen as they are to eat while overlooking the beach.
Thank you JaNell for letting us be your guests!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious "at home" feeling
Liked least: The architecture of the building
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your glowing review. You are so kind and thoughtful. We very much appreciate the time you took to write this review about our Whaler suite 802. Please return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H
Seward, Nebraska
1 review
“Love this Condo”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our family truly loved this condo. The location was perfect. JaNell was wonderful to work with. The property is beautifully maintained and meticulously kept. The bedrooms large. The kitchen full of amenities. The views were spectacular. We enjoyed watching the whales from the balconies while eating breakfast or during happy hour. The entire stay was luxurious and special. It was so nice to have the beach toys, umbrellas and chairs provided. The location to Whaler Village shopping and dining can't be beat!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your review. We are very pleased how much your family enjoyed our Whaler suite 802. Return again soon.
Warm wishes, JaNell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;