We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
34
8
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
8
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This is a true, true luxury resort. We were picked up from the ferry from our chartered yacht and whisked away in an immaculate Mercedes van/ car straight to our room for check in. What was also brilliant is that each room had a lovely golf cart. The resort was huge, so every time we needed to leave the room, there was no way that we would find our way around. So we called reception and had someone at our door within minutes. He drove a separate golf cart. We followed in our own., just left it to wherever we wanted and called him again when we were ready to return to our room again.The service was truly outstanding. The room was simple, but every single piece was elegant and of very good quality. I did however have one problem with the pool. It was amazing, with a good selection of seats, sun loungers and tons of fluffy towels and a brilliant view. BUT what I did not like was that we could view bits of the pool areas of several other suites., and they could see us too. I would have preferred 100% privacy when using the pool. They could easily have rectified this by putting additional bushes, or beautiful solid stone walls ( both of which they had in abundance at the resort).Pity. Another thing, not really a complaint more of a suggestion. In our immaculate one bed suite there were not one but two amazing bathrooms. Would it not perhaps have been more practical, cheaper and perhaps more revenue generating idea if that had a private simple massage room instead of 2 bathrooms?

Prior to arriving at the resort I had been in e mail communication with them to arrange a special 40th Anniversary lunch. Every single e mail was immediately and efficiently dealt with by the wonderful Melissa (whom we had the pleasure of meeting at the hotel). She made sure things were exactly as specified., and the surrounding of the Shell beach made it very enjoyable and romantic. Due to time restrictions we were only able to spend one night there as we had chartered a yacht but will certainly plan a longer stay next time. We also enjoyed a brilliant breakfast at Belinis bar......no buffet there, just very high quality food and fresh juices and smoothies made to order. The wi fi in the room, Shelll beach bar and Belinis was excellent. Every single staff we encountered made us feel very welcome.

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank NariRanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We were made to feel very special from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The villa was beautiful and the staff was excellent. There was not a day or a moment when we felt that the level of service had faltered. Everyone addressed us by our name and went over and beyond in making our stay extraordinary. Right from the manager who drove us to different parts of the island to view sunset to the villa staff who had little surprises for us everyday in form of towel art or floating candles and flowers in the tub...and much more. The staff managing water sports constantly found ways to engage our kids and had them try new things everyday. It is hard to put down every great experience we had in a short review. Every inch of the 12 thousand acre property was very well maintained.
If you like privacy in an exclusive and luxurious environment with great aminities, this is the place for you!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This is fine dining at its best. Décor and ambience is superb and service and food presentation and taste is excellent ! We enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience from the private chuffer to the live entertainment from Miss Parris who is an excellent singer. Great selection of wines and bartenders who can mix you anything including a US$300 martini !

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seannh730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We recently stayed in a villa at the Canouan Resort over winter/Christmas break from Dec. 23, 2015 - Jan. 2, 2016. The villa we rented was called Big Blue Ocean (Estate Villa 27) and had a fabulous location right above Shell Beach. This was the only villa with a walking path directly to the beach (all other villa renters had to drive golf carts to Shell Beach). The villa itself was very well laid out with 2 masters (kings), 2 double rooms (double beds) and one room with twins which we converted to a king (albeit having the length of a twin!). I cannot say enough about the 2 butlers that were assigned to our villa. They were truly amazing, helpful, resourceful, thoughtful and always staying one step ahead of our requests and questions. The holiday would not have been nearly as enjoyable without Asha and Cornelius. We did however find it interesting that we were not told about the staff at the villa prior to our arrival. Needless to say, we were most pleasantly surprised to find that they were part of the villa rental!
The villas come with electric golf carts. The number of golf carts alotted depends on the number of people in your party. We had 10 people and were given 4 golf carts. For additional info, our party consisted of: 2 "old" adults with young adults aged 25, 22, 20, 19, 19, 19, 17 and 12.

Although I am still not fully up to speed on the "new resort" versus the Canouan resort, I will attempt to describe the layout and our experience while there. I tried to find additional information prior to our arrival about the new hotel called The Pink Sands Club. Neither me, nor our travel agent was afforded much info, other than to say that all areas of the resort would be open and available during our stay. On a map of the resort one can see the various locations: 1) the estate villas (where we stayed); 2) the "urban center" which includes check-in, the church, Bellini's and La Piazza restaurants, golf center, an older workout center, a boutique and a salon; 3) the kids club; 4) the tennis courts; and finally 5) the "New Hotel" as its called by the staff, also called the The Pink Sands Club. There is a lot of ground to cover between these locations! It's a good 6-7 minute golf cart ride from Big Blue Ocean villa to the urban center and a good 12 minute golf cart ride from that villa to the "new hotel". So be aware when you stay in the estate villas that you are a golf cart ride away from the other areas. And the route is circuitous....along the hilly, winding road then down a hill, cutting across the golf course to the urban center. It is further along the road, up and down hills, to the new hotel.

We spent most of our days on Shell Beach, as it was close and easy. The beach staff is fabulous about getting you set up with chairs, towels and water. In addition, there is a bar and dining on the beach. Servers will come around and take orders, get beverages and bring food. There are dining palapas along the beach and additional tables and chairs set up under the shade of trees. The beach itself is nice, but not super white in color. The ocean floor off the beach is not great for bare feet, as it is pretty rocky. There is a water sports center at the beach as well, offering a host of activities. The weather over winter break was windy and the surf choppy, so not conducive for us to use the boats or kayaks.

We did enjoy the Godhall beach in front of the new hotel as well. This beach is larger and whiter than Shell Beach and has more chair and umbrella setups. It also has a water sports and activities area. The waves at this beach are more conducive to body surfing and wave playing, but there are some sea urchins on the ocean floor. I would recommend bringing water shoes for kids (or adults) who enjoy splashing around and playing in the ocean.

As for swimming pools, we generally used the one at our villa, which was great and included a diving board. There is a resort pool at the new hotel if one desires to go. The pool deck at this new pool is quite small with very limited seating. The swim-up pool bar is fun. There is a lower terrace below the pool which includes some additional chairs and a hot tub. The pool bar features a dining patio where they serve lunch.

Because we did not stay at the new Pink Sands Hotel part of the resort, I cannot give any insight into the rooms. Guests did say that they were spacious and elegant. Based on the decor and finishes in the hotel's common spaces, I would be inclined to believe that the rooms are nice.
In addition to the Pool Bar, the Pink Sands has 3 restaurants and a bar: Romeo (dinner), Juliet (dinner), the Lagoon Cafe (breakfast) and Turtles Bar (evening). The decor/design in all 4 is fabulous. Kudos to the decorating team!

If I had to give low marks in a category, it would be the food service area of the resort. Overall the food was above average/good. The service was very spotty and there were certainly some food service staff members who were not properly trained or prepared, having very little knowledge of the menus, food preparation methods or offerings at the bars and restaurants. Some of our meals bordered on painful, with the one really black mark being the New Years Eve dinner which took over 3 hours for below average food, a very limited fixed menu and no options for kids or picky eaters. While we were there, only certain restaurants were open for dinner - one at the Pink Sands and one at the urban center per night. Breakfast was at either Bellini's or The Lagoon Cafe each day, with the two breakfast menus being almost identical.
Private chefs are available in the villas and we did use one for dinner, which turned out to be great!
I would also recommend the BBQ Beach Buffet for dinner on Shell Beach, offered 1-2 times per week. There is a great assortment of food, all delicious and the resort does a fabulous job of decorating the beach area for the event.

We took several excursions while there. We took a catamaran to Tobago Keys and then a speed boat to tobago keys and Union Island. As the seas were a bit rough, we opted to take a plane to visit Mustique one day. Would highly recommend all of these.

As far as nightlife, there really wasn't any. Because we were a good sized group, we tended to be our own entertainment. Turtles Bar had live music most nights and was a good place to hang out, but there were seldom many people there. As one of our older kids expressed, "the resort seems to be filled mostly with older people or families with younger kids." And this indeed was our experience. While my older teens and 20 somethings enjoyed their time, it was not quite the nightlife they were hoping for. I imagine things may change in this department once the new hotel has been open longer. I also understand that there are some spots in town that can be frequented for nightlife but our group felt it was a bit of a hassle. The resort did not put together a New Year's party as such. As mentioned above, there was a set dinner option. Fireworks went off at midnight and were great. But there was not much more than Turtles bar and music offered. If you have been to other Caribbean resorts (i.e. Jumby Bay, Cotton House) which put on themed events and lavish parties, you would have been most disappointed with the New years festivities here.

We did get to visit the new restaurant and beach area that the resort is in the process of finishing along the west side of the island. It looks like an amazing addition to the facilities and is scheduled to be open around Easter we were told. Again, it is a bit of a golf cart ride to get there. The resort may be having shuttle service or some other options for guests once its open??

Several members of our group played golf one day. They said it was a really fun course and was challenging. The course seemed to be very lightly used, as we rarely saw many groups on the course at the same time. We did drive golf carts up to the top of the pinnacle of the golf course and experienced some phenomenal views of Canouan and neighboring islands of the Grenadines. We also took one of the guided resort hikes which also afforded amazing views. Highly recommended.
Several members of our group also enjoyed massages at the spa and said they were great as was the setting and view from the treatment rooms.

We have stayed at some really fabulous Caribbean resorts over the years. Canouan is a very nice island with helpful, friendly people. We would most definitely revisit the resort, but may wait a bit until some of the "issues" are worked out. We may also try staying at the Pink Sands "new hotel" next time for a change. All in, it was a very pricey vacation, renting a 5 bedroom villa over festive season. While we loved everything about the villa, villa staff, villa pool and location near shell beach, beyond that we felt that the Canouan resort did not fully live up to the extremely high price tag we paid for it over the festive season. We will keep our fingers crossed that the Canouan management can work out all of the kinks, spruce up the resort landscaping, fully train the new resort staff and improve the food/food service areas to bring the resort up to the level that its prices warrant.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank AllieE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This was our third visit the Canouan Resort. This time we travelled together with our son and family of 4. We choose this time to charter the Resort private jet from Barbados, a comfortable 23 minute flight. We rented a villa on top of the island with spectacular views over both The Caribbean sea and the Atlantic. The villa is called Il Sogno and is privately owned and is capable of sleeping around 16 people so being just 6 we enjoyed a very spacious holiday. Apart from enjoying a Butler and a Chef the villa provided a further 4 staff. 3 electrical golf buggies were provided to get us around the resort. The resort is going through a period of re establishing itself and was very quiet which suited us well. We played golf pretty well all days, ending up on the Shell Beach for lunch every day apart for a day trip by powerboat to Tobago Cays for snorkelling with the Tortoises, also managing a drop over on Palm Island, Mayreau and Union island for lunch.
Everyone involved within The Resort were extremely obliging and our week on Canouan turned out to be a 100% success and perfection.

Stayed: October 2015
3  Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews