We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,160)
Filter reviews
6,160 results
Traveller rating
2,068
2,372
912
459
349
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,068
2,372
912
459
349
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet pool fish guest services main pool pizza a la carte restaurants lobby bar bbq grill hour bar international restaurant ocean view stir fry beautiful beach chicken entertainment staff air canada beach restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,201 - 4,206 of 6,160 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We stayed at Tryp from February 5th-12th and had a pleasant stay overall. I really depends what you are looking for; if you want luxury and want to be spoiled (slippers, bathrobes, clean fresh towels, etc) don't go to Tryp Cayo Coco. If you just want to relax on the beach and will be okay with a basic room and basic services then Tryp will be fine.

The room and bathroom is very simple, dingy and outdated. There is a strong musty smell in the room which you get used to after a couple days. The grounds are kept nice and clean. The food is okay - breakfasts are best with the fresh pancakes and omelettes - and take advantage of the a la carte restaurants (for wine lovers: the only good quality wine is at the restaurants) and try the pizza and grill for lunch. Best drinks are made at the Lobby Bar - its worth the walk over there. The main pool is where the activities are and can be crowded and loud - if you want to relax and read a book go to the other pool, its protected from wind and is very pleasant (go save the chairs before breakfast). The beach is narrow but beautiful; although there was a cold wind when we were there so we were unable to spend as much time as we wanted there.

Overall, I had a nice relaxing time but would not go back to Tryp. I would prefer a more comfortable room, and more updated, fresh surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BeachBunny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

11th - 18th. Booked through travel agent & sunwing at early booking time. Do not pay the extra for an ocean view, in my opinion it's a scam for extra money. They gave us room 1241 not ocean view (far from it) and wouldn't move us, said they were full and over booked and had to send people to another hotel. In rooms 500 plus, 2nd or 3rd floor were ocean view. Our room had mould and mildew in vents over the door & had a strong musty smell. Perhaps only our room? I had a sever allergy attack and had to see the hotel Dr. he only takes cash no credit cards. Visit was 25 pesos plus supplies. Complained daily of no hot water since arriving Sat. finally hot water on the day we were leaving, the following Sat. Did get up to warmish a couple of times.

Weather was warm Sun. & water calm for snorkeling straight out from the beach bar until noon, then pouring rain cooling, Mon. overcast & cool & windy a little rain, Tues. overcast windy, Wed. same, Thurs. sun, windy & a bit warmer, Fri. warmer but still windy, only able to swim Sun. due to the temp. and wind.
Someone at hotel said they would never go back to that side of Cuba, warmer on the south side and have been at both numerous times??

Took a taxi into Moron, a must. Driver available at the door step of hotel, he took us to town where we bought souvenirs, (also available right at Tryp Hotel where they had a great variety) which we all bought at both, great prices at both too. He showed us around, gave us info, and waited for us to walk around on our own. Well worth the taxi fare and quite deserving of a good tip. Whenever you do tip, your pesos go along way for them. Found prices for most things we did, cheap. Ran into one of the bartenders from the hotel who gave us the scoop on the locals. Very safe to walk around. The cuban people are great, we weren't pushed into buying their goods and found this town visit very enjoyable. We always like to do this, you get a better opportunity to meet the locals and we did.

Can exchange money from Canadian to pesos at hotel. Safe in room, not extra, you replaced your own bottle water & glasses from the bars throughout, unless you pay the superior rate or something like that, but no big deal it was safe. Save $25 pesos to get back out of the country. Go to the pizza bar at the beach. George is quite entertaining and bar is a ship with a loft in it. To the left of lobby enterance, is the Cuban restaurant which is quaint. The buffet at main building is fantastic I don't know why any other reviews said anything, but. They checked the meat for temp. showing health & quality. Excellent people who work in the bars & restaurants at Tryp!! Pool cold due to weather at the time, heated by the sun shining on it. Also sml pool with sml bar at it. Beach is awesome, it goes on forever, Tryps beach was better for us, water gradually got deeper, up the beach it dropped off quicker. Lots of places to sit all up the beach. One morning went for walk & thousands of jelly fish washed up on shore. Although we weren't bothered the calm day we were in swimming, saw a couple. Went prepared with bug spray but weren't any.

A must do.$12:00 pesos. Take a 3hr. train ride(engine on wheels)leaves at 9a.m. & 2p.m. right from the lobby steps(hotel didn't tell us about it). Happend to be out there at the time. You travel the roads, stop at sml. old history cuban cabin, flamigo beach (beautiful), and bore's cave you start by walking down steps into the ground at the cave with some rooms set up as a bar. Tables & chairs, some rooms had ceilings with holes up to the outside and lit with coloured rope lights. It was awesome. Music Wed. night until 2a.m. we were all extremely disappointed that we didn't know about the Wed. night ahead of time, if you go to Tryp go to the disco train ride Wed night and the 3 hr. train ride to all three of these stops a must do.

Weather played a big part of our interests being cancelled catamaran, snorkeling & swimming, that we all so desperately wanted this trip to be ahead of time, but we entertained ourselves at each thing we did, and laughed alot. Each place & thing I have mentioned can send all of us into some sort of chuckle or actual hysterics. Did have fun at Tryp Cayo Coco dispite again so desperatley wanting calmer seas, weather :(

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Safari24351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

Our trip here was the best ever. although the weather was not brill (very freak for this time of the year) the hotel was much better than we thought, we had read reviews befor we came and were considering cancelling if you feel the same dont! the food is great and not bland as we were lead to believe. The Italian was fantastic with great service. Tiping is always readerly accepted but not necessary. The Trip to the dolphins was long and very very educational so if you want the history of Cuba rammed down your throat for the most part dont go, the hotel you stay in over night was far inferior to the Tryp cayo coco the food there was bland and cold no service either, in syaing that the time with the dolphins was fantastic. Summerising the Tryp cayo co co is a great place to stay dont be put off, by the bad reviews.

11  Thank BackPacker31219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

The resort was quite nice and the beach was beautiful....the rooms and the resort are in desparate need of renovations....our room smelled musty and damp all the time even with the air conditioning.....very old....bathrooms need remodelling. The food was good and especially the a'lcart Italian restuarant highly recommend eating there. Overall our stay was quite enjoyable.

8  Thank Coastal5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

Went scuba diving for the first time ever. The guys at the dive centre made this experience one I will never forget. Really nice people. Go on the jeep tour with Carlos, really opens your eyes to see the real cuba. A few tips: If you go into Cuba wear good shoes, no sandals. Also bring toilet paper and hand sanitizer,there is none in the city. Stay away from complaining tourist, because this place was great. The staff are so friendly and really try hard to make your stay comfortable.

If any one is going to tryp soon and has any questions send me an e-mail I will be happy to reply.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 4x4jeepgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews