We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best View Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
View Icebergs from the front deck!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View Icebergs from the front deck!
Enjoy the view of the Atlantic Ocean with a evening fire Enjoy a coffee in morning sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
View Icebergs from the front deck!
Enjoy the view of the Atlantic Ocean with a evening fire
Enjoy a coffee in morning sun
Bathroom
BBQ
Hiking trails are available behind the retreat
Welcome Sign
View from a near by beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Twillingate, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
nurf77
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best View Ever!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Oceanview Retreat was the perfect spot for a week of adventure sprinkled with some serious relaxing. The large deck in front of the house overlooked all of Twillingate and we could watch the icebergs float by.

Up behind the house was a wonderful place to hike and watch the sun set. Maybe the most impressive sunsets I've ever seen- a nice reward at the end of the day.

The house itself was very nice- comfy beds, nice furniture, wi-fi, had everything we needed. When the hot water tank failed to heat, the owners were there quickly to fix the situation.

The location is very handy for touring the area, so many places to explore nearby. The town has a few restaurants, a grocery store, liquor store, all you could want.

I hope to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the deck
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to see icebergs from the patio, enjoy the hiking trails and see the sunset from the back of the retreat! Please visit Twillingate again and I would be happy to accommodate you at The Oceanview Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth G
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern well appointed cottage with spectacular view of Twillingate”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage sits on a hill overlooking the water and harbour. It was very clean and well appointed with modern fixtures. The cottage had a great deck with comfy seating. The kitchen was well equipped and the washer dryer were very welcome.
The whole cottage was very well decorated, had reliable WiFi and on our arrival the door code was set to our phone number. We were 2 couples and it worked very well for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Kitchen was a bit small with not very much food storage cupboards for a longer stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Location was superb. Walking distance to many local shops, galleries, restaurants. Spectacular view overlooking the town. Coastal trails immediately at our doorstep. Well-appointed with every convenience. Elegant and tasteful. Mandi was available and most helpful. Directions for approaching the house, referring to landmarks (Post Office, Orange Hall), would have been helpful because Smiths Lookout street sign is recessed and not easily spotted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the local amenities near the retreat. We have added more details on the retreats location for the 2016 season information that will be provided to our guest, we appreciate you pointing that out so we can better accommodate new guest. We hope to accommodate you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
“Another wonderful stay at Oceanview Retreat”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is our 2nd time here.Central to all activities and restaurants.If you wanted to cook at the cottage(not me)It was very well stocked with pots pans dishes etc.
The cottage is spotless!!!! The view is spectacular!!! Hoping to come back again>

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spectacular view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne L
Strathroy, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage handy to all sites”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Quiet cozy retreat overlooking the harbour. Everything included no detail overlooked clean and comfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The deck and view rom the living area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing