We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful piece of Welsh Gold”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
april-loo...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of Welsh Gold”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Amazing well equipped comfortable cottage with hot tub, private garden and log fire. Situated on a farm with animals next door and across the drive kids will love this place as well as parents. The private garden with hot tub and seating undercover (lots of knee rugs for cooler evening) provides a great space to relax and eat in all weathers. The cottage has good underfloor heating with thermostats in each room for comfort. A large bathroom with whirlpool bath and large double shower cubicle. I suggest you will return from this holiday feeling your kitchen is just not up to scratch as there is every gadget and gizmo imaginable.
Joy and Rod provide a welcome pack which exceeds all expectations (I am now addicted to Tregroes chocolate waffle biscuits.). The furnishings and comfort of this cottage is well above average and nothing is too much trouble for the owners.

My husband and i would describe this cottage as rare and exquisite like Welsh Gold.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top quality Cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely well equipped cottage on a real working farm with lots of animals for those like us who love them, great friendly hosts and fantastic accommodation, well located for exploring cardigan bay area, hot tub and wood burner make cold evenings much cosier.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julia w
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad we came back”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second stay in less than 12 months and I'm so glad we gave in to the pressure from our 2 boys! Joy and Rod are the most wonderful, considerate hosts; lovely welcome hamper again and nice touches like Yankee candles in the lounge and robes for nipping to and from the hot tub. The cottage is beautifully appointed and warm, even without lighting the fire. Very comfy beds and good quality linens. We love sitting and eating outdoors, even in the winter, so the chiminea and fire pit were well used and obviously the hot tub is just heaven on earth.
The surrounding area is beautiful, particularly the stunning coastline and you can get everything you need in Newcastle Emlyn, less than 10 minutes away.
We will definitely be back again at some point in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful holiday cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the very first moment we stepped inside this holiday cottage to the very last second we left we loved it so much. The property is beautifully furnished with every need catered for. The cottage is on a working farm so you can see donkeys and cows but when you are in the cottage you forget about all of this. The hot tub is a lovely extra and a nice way to relax after exploring the many seaside towns and secluded beaches and coves. We enjoyed the area so much we intend to go back next year.
Would I re commend this property? Yes. 100%. A great cottage and location for a wonderful family holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Yr Hen Llaethdy, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your break there. From what you describe of the place, we don't blame you for falling in love with it! We are so pleased you enjoyed every minute of your stay there! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return for another holiday very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julia w
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband was really keen to book this cottage but I was a little reluctant because I didn't feel it would be right for our boys. I couldn't have been more wrong. Joy and Rod are brilliant hosts, providing a very generous welcome pack. The cottage is beautifully appointed; very comfortable beds, nice bed linen and towels, a very well equipped kitchen, lovely bathroom and the hot tub and 3D TV are great extras. The area has some stunning beaches and good value days out for families.
The boys (7&9) loved the farm and Rod was good with them, allowing them to feed the animals. We've already checked to see if we could go back for our summer holiday but the cottage is booked. We will definitely be back though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Yr Hen Llaethdy, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay there. We couldn't be happier that the property proved to be such a perfect choice for your family, and it really sounds like the owners took great care of you which is wonderful, we will be sure to pass your compliments along to them. We certainly hope you return very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing