We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports pub and food”
Review of Waggon Inn

Waggon Inn
Ranked #40 of 332 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Went in on recommendation as it showed the footie. Staff and landlady very friendly (hope ur knee is better). We ordered food which was well presented and very good including a pudding! There is parking opposite but only for a small number of vehicles however there is plenty of parking down the back streets so don't let that put you off.

There is a pool table and dart board if you so require. Dogs are allowed too which is a bonus. Overall a good place to go and we will be going back.

Thanks guys

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank beltupnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 April 2017

Hi glad you enjoyed your visit but wrong pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Fabulous FRESH food..... First time visit and won't be the last. This small pub tucked away is offering great homemade food ... I will be back thank you

Thank RedMarley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 March 2017

Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Well-kept real ale, UK and Spanish menu. I had three styles of suadage with mash and gravy...bit too much gravy I thought.

Leeds Ale was excellent..almost as good as genuine Real Teltley...which is served in the Blue Ball, Malton. An excellent old-style pub

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback,we only serve real ale made by Marstons brewery we don't have Leeds ale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went for a meal on Sunday- we had butternut squash soup with croutons- great/ homemade and tasty but really hot. The garlic mushrooms were a bit over-done and tough. However, the main meals were excellent- tasty, hot, good Yorkshire pudding and veg and a full half of roast chicken. The beer was good - Hobgoblin Gold.
Toilets clean and very good service.
A pity there was no wi-fi

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 March 2017

Thank you for leaving your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went for Sunday Lunch today 05/03/2017 they have changed the times for Sundays only Sitting times are 12.30,14.30 & 16.30 this is to make sure you get the best meal possible. My wife and I both had starter of Garlic Mushrooms then a Lamb dinner + a bottle of house rose wine. The staff were excellent both friendly and very competent.
The food was very well presented and beautifully cooked it was a pleasure to eat. This was the second meal I've eaten here in three days a group of us 9 in total had a TAPAs on Friday evening which was a last minute thing but the food as normal was excellent. May I say thank you to Dario,Kate,Vicky,Hana and the kitchen staff for 2 very memorable meals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joyceritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waggon Inn also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Newhey, Greater Manchester
Littleborough, Rochdale
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Littleborough, Rochdale
 

Been to Waggon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing