We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely surprise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Far Wicken Hall

Front of cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage.
Fully fitted kitchen Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front of cottage.
Fully fitted kitchen
Lounge
Downstairs cloakroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom en-suite
master bedroom en-suite.
Front bedroom with zip and link bed twin or super king
Front bedroom
Spiral leading to top twin bedroom
En-suite shower room to top twin bedroom
Views from cottage
Views from cottage
Views from cottage
Views from cottage
views from cottage
Views from cottage
Master bedroom en-suite
Front bedroom with amazing view.
Kitchen
Top twin room
Top twin room.
Top twin room.
Top room en-suite.
Master Bedroom.
Top twin room.
Front bedroom set up as super king.
Kitchen diner with welcome pack on table.
Atrium.
Contented guests.
Out door area to be enjoyed in the summer.
View from cottage.
View from cottage
View from cottage.
Meg.
Bramble.
Welcome pack on arrival.
Approaching the cottage
Family bathroom
view from lounge.
Master bedroom
Down stairs w/c.
Family bathroom.
Master bedroom en- suite.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rochdale, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at this property to attend a family wedding nearby and it couldn't have been in a better spot.
The owners had provided a lovely selection of cakes and breakfast things to welcome us and the house was spotless.
There was 6 of us in total and there was plenty of space and we had a very comfortable stay. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Many thanks ,hope to see you all again in the future, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOUIS E
1 review
“A wonderful home in a fantastic countryside near the great city of MCR”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our stay in far wicken hall. We were welcomed with a marvelous pack. Fiona is a fantastic host, very friendly and helpful. The house is highly confortable and I slept on the best pillows I ever known! We loved the walks on the countryside. The tram is really handy to go to the city of Manchester. We discovered this city (we are french tourists) and wish to spend more time there. We do absolutely recommend this accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarPet21
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional property with a warm welcome.”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely home from home of the highest standard with amazing attention to detail. We had 4 young children who thoroughly enjoyed the experience, particularly Fiona taking them to see animals on the farm which was great. Fiona was extremely helpful , friendly and thoughtful. We would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire O
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome and fantastic holiday for all the family”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed at Far Wicken Hall a couple of times now and would have to doubt in recommending our family and friends to stay there as well.

Fiona is so accommodating to your every need and cares about the 'little things' and the 'details' which make all the difference - I can see how they have been awarded 5* accommodation.

The facilities are immaculate and the location is very peaceful yet so close to all the amenities you need. A big thumbs up from me and the rest of the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
388annes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“TOTALLY AMAZING”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a gorgeous cottage! We loved every minute of our stay, from the moment we drove up from Heathrow 'til we drove away 5 days later. The welcome pack of home-made goodies was lovely. The cottage was very well equipped, more than we expected. We loved the attention to detail. Very clean and tidy. Will definitely return in the future. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attanetion to detail
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing