We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday But Things Changed...”
other travellers have booked this property
Fishermans cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishermans cottage
The stunning view from the bedroom Bathroom with shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
73 reviews
Fishermans cottage
The stunning view from the bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Front of cottage
Boating lake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portishead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ashvini D
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Holiday But Things Changed...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a great holiday and i really recommend this but sadly things have changed and they are building new stuff like stairs for us and like a life guard place.
overall it was great holiday but the owner (dean) did not stay in contact so that we can turn on the heaters.
The best thing for us was having a dog able to stay cause we could not leave him for 2 days alone so thank you for that. the view was great and beautiful at night. Because they were building the beach we went to a beach that is 3. something km away and that was great to cause it allowed pets as well I am pretty sure that my dog had a blast there and so did we..

i highly reccomed this place and i will love to go back after it has finished constructing

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range under12
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOOLESLon...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A LOVELY COTTAGE IN A PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely cottage in a perfect location. Quiet with all that you need nearby eg. supermarket. The cottage is tastefully decorated with a nautical theme. The cottage was clean and the beds were comfortable. It had everything we needed. Booked at the last minute and Dean was very helpful and answered e-mails promptly. Loved the area - marina only a short walk away.
Pub only a short walk away. Great place for a quiet break and sea air. Would love to return. Thank you Dean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely cottage, tastefully decorated
Liked least: having to leave the cottage and the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bk_mallic...
Lithia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor communication from owner”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I like to start by saying I do not usually give bad reviews, but feel this is a must as it can be so easily corrected.

We liked the place. Its a good location and has a dedicated parking spot but in our communications for booking prior to arriving in the UK, we corresponded via email, which was ok. We did ask for a contact number for the owner to call upon arrival, but the owner said no need, and the key is in a keysafe on location. ok, fair enough. That seemed odd that the owner would not want to meet with us, verify we know how everything works, make sure we know when our checkout time is but that didn't happen. So it turns out, that I made an error in booking and booked the wrong dates, which could have been rectified easily had we know this on arrival. Instead, we receive an email around 3:45p on day 2 of 3 of our stay from Dean asking us to contact him asap. IF WE HAD YOUR NUMBER, WE COULD HAVE CONTACTED YOU! It took us wondering why the owner would be sending this email for us to figure out we booked the wrong dates.

ALL OF THIS COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED HAD THE OWNER MEET WITH US ON ARRIVAL TO CONFIRM EVERYTHING, as every other owner with have every rented from has done.

All I can say is, the place is is nice, but seriously need Internet access. and the Owner needs to change how he does business. If its too big of a hassle to meet with people, then maybe letting your properly is not for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
I am sorry you feel that communication from myself was poor. My telephone number is on the Holiday lettings site. I tried to call you but the phone was not on, so I sent a Email enclosing my number asking you to call me If you had maybe this situation could have been resolved.
I can not meet guests at the cottage when they arrive as I live in Leicester, but I have a company that is on the marina who manages the cottage so any problems I can call them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne058
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage Lovely Location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Arrived on Friday 2nd May for the Bank Holiday w/e. We had a minor glitch on arrival, but of no consequence and found Fishermans cottage to be in a beautiful location and very well equipped. It has a fab view over the 'Severn' with large ships and sailing boats floating on the horizon, which we found very entertaining. We walked up to the Royal pub which served good food and beer. The local shops are within walking distance (the other end of the marina) - lidl, morrisons etc. We did go into Portishead for a Chinese takeaway and used the Rickshaw - OK food, edible but nothing in comparison to our local. Overall a very nice cottage and would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us and leaving the cottage nice. Thanks Dean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_dwe...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Fisherman's Cottage. The cottage is lovely; the photos really did not do it justice. The cottage is part of a smart modern development right on the water near fantastic facilities. The interior of the cottage is modern, attractive and very comfortable (and very clean) with everything you need, including a washing machine. Dean, the owner and Dae (who is local and looks after the place) were very helpful and friendly and did not mind answering any queries we had. The only slight reservation was parking. The cottage has its own space, but if you have more than one car then you have to be careful where you park. There are places, but you need to take care not to accidentally park in anyone else's space or the locals can get a bit touchy about it. Plus, there is internet access, but only a free service which is not always available, so if you need constant wifi access then a dongle might be worth considering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing