We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced food for the rich Ilfordians!”

Sahara Grill Ilford
Ranked #15 of 274 Restaurants in Ilford
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Sahara Grill started life as small simple restaurant serving great food at a reasonable price. Fast forward to 2017 it has multiple branches in London and one in Dubai all catering to well to do Muslims. Great ambiance but overpriced for what you get but people are happy to pay it so they will charge it. I would too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r3vi3w3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AETally, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Grill Ilford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi r3vi3w3r, thank you for your feedback. It's a well-known fact that product price on any market is always on an upward trend year on year - kindly note, ours have not gone up every year. We constantly monitor our prices and in comparison, we remain very competitive and still offering great food at a fair price to the community at large. We remain at your service. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Before you make your way.. Make sure you give an extra 5-10 minutes as parking is very difficult due to the number of shops and restaurants in the area. Once you have found a spot.. Then begins the stress free enjoyment of dining at by far the best Steakhouse in Ilford. They have friendly and attentive staff with a good size waiting area. The kitchen is an open kitchen so nice to see and hear the cooking. The food... Well, let the photos speak for themselves. Always on point! and always consistent. Their drinks are my favourite, especially the Mocktails. All of this and at a great value. Which is one of the reasons we go back there; great food at great value!

1  Thank 488mizanurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AETally, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Grill Ilford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi 488mizanurr, thank you for your comprehensive feedback and very kind compliments, which has been passed on to the team who delighted themselves reading it. The points you made are exactly what we tirelessly strive for on a daily basis, which could have easily gone unnoticed - pleased to see they did not escape yours. We look forward to be of continued service to you. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The layout and atmosphere here is very welcoming and suitable for friends, family and couples alike. The food however I find to be very average and the price high for what it is.

I'd recommend this place if you're local and haven't tried it before.

Thank Mun909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AETally, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Grill Ilford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi Mun909, thank you for your feedback and the recommendation. We were thinking more along the line of our 'food is high and price very average'...!! We remain yours kindly. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I have just completed my visit here, after months of friends and colleges singing it's praises. Based on just the owner alone, I would return.
8 of us , a rather hungry group visited just 30 minutes before closing time after our own long shifts yet we were so warmly welcomed and accommodated.

The food was served promptly, Hot and cooked to everyone's likening. I was surprised that at even nearly midnight the food tasted so fresh and not dry. (We had a selection of chicken,beef and lamb dishes so it was clearly consistent throughout.)

I did not catch the owners name, however he had a great personality and could still hold a conversation with us even at this hour. Seeing as we all work and run a restaurant ourselves we know how hard that can be.

Looking forward to the next visit.....
Thank you.

Thank 94MCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AETally, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Grill Ilford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear 94MCD, thank you so much for such a great review, which was shared with all our staff. We remain very strong on our core values, as such we believe that the last customers ought not deserve a lesser service than the first - we are so pleased you noticed that during your last visit. And since our food is made fresh to order means that your food will always taste fresh no matter what time you order them - so pleased this did not escape your notice either. Can't wait to welcome your team again. Once more, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I cant say that I'm crazy over Sahara Grills and I have been to a few different locations. Its not fine dining and dont expect your tastebuds to do backflips or anything. Chicken is always pleasant and people get all orgasmic over this homemade coleslaw but its pretty regular in my opinion. But its clean quick and alright if you just want to eat and not worry about it too much.

Thank Serkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AETally, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Grill Ilford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Serkan E, thank you for your review. We always strive to please even though by your judgement we might not have been entirely successful on this occasion. This said, we do appreciate the frank and honest opinion as much as the compliments. Looking forward to be able to please you more in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahara Grill Ilford also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
Ilford, Greater London
 

Been to Sahara Grill Ilford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing