We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Unlimited Wifi - Great”
Review of Cranford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranford Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Ilford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had planned on staying one night but ended being there for two nights to break a long journey. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a twin room which was cramped with hardly any room to move but it was clean and we had a good night's sleep. The ensuite shower and toilet was also quite small.

Breakfast was disappointing. There was no soya milk. Basically they don't cater for vegetarians which is a shame. I'm not sure if the eggs were supposed to be fried or poached, either way they didn't taste great. Neither did the mushrooms or the plum tomatoes which looked and tasted as if they'd been taken straight out of a can and put in the warmer.

The greatest part of our stay was that we had unlimited free wifi access. It made up for all the disappointing points.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor. Ground floor can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

First af all...Rooms looks totally different than on pictures .
1st Warning ..if you plan to travel London , definitely pick another area than Ilford.

Horible area as well as the hotel and staff.
We have arrived around 11 pm and paid for one nighy only . Because it was late one of staff told us to pay next day for the 2nd night
Room was so tiny , not big enough for one person (it was 2 of us!!) just double bed and small tv which was pointing at the door so you would actually need to watch from standing .Bathroom was ok.
Walls made of paper and carpet smelly as well as dirty.

Next morning they told us that we would need to come back to the reception and pay fot our 2nd night so we went..
the lady as the reception (Joanna) I guess , so unprofesional, at first she said that we havent paid for our first night so we need to pay for 2. She was grumpy and rude .She said that guest were complaining that we were laud and she will probably kick us out from the hotel because she is the one who decides on who is staying whos not.(Yes sure, person that does not know how to charge people will definitelly have power to kick guests out. ) Anyway, I have no idea how is this hotel still running with staff like this.Joanna was just one ofthe rudest person I have came up with.

At the end we paid for the 2nd night and went upstairs to our horrible room.

I will never ever visit there again.

And Please, Sort our Receptionist out !!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lilo2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

i checked in fine, got to the room had a shower within 2 minutes of me laying on the bed I was covered in flies! they just kept coming and coming, when I opened the bathroom door no joke about 300 of them flew out into the room. I kept killing them and putting them on the window sill (which looked out onto the corridor) I went to reception and asked to change rooms they said i had to pay £20 as it was a triple room. not a chance! some other guy said every room is like this infested with flies!!! would never stop here in a million years!!

Room Tip: there is not a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Very surprised by the clean comfortable room for the price paid and a lovely breakfast included. Perfect for visiting London by train as just a few minutes walk from the station and with a travelcard costing just £12.10 for the day worth every penny. Stayed so that we could watch the LondonSurrey 100 cycle ride and if you are considering entry for this event next year would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

STAY AWAY...The room had no windows or ventilation and was like staying in the sweat box that you often see in the movies when punishing a prisionr. I asked for anther room but ws told that the only othr room was even worse. I asked for a refund and was told to email, which I did and they didn't even reply. Fobbed off by bookings.com customer service as well.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilford hotels
0.3 km away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ilford
174 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ilford
329 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.2 km away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ilford
160 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Hotel

Address: 22-26 Argyle Road, Ilford IG1 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ilford
Price Range: $61 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cranford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing