We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi
Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Dinning room (with second TV not in view)
Wood burning stove
Second bedroom
Bude Canal going out to sea
Widemouth Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway in a great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is the second time we stayed in the Rose barn and it is certainly somewhere we will stay again if possible. The location is just over the border between Cornwall and Devon so perfect for travelling to Lands end, Devon or Somerset. The Complex has 5 barns in total and is a really peaceful setting. Bude is just round the corner and has everything you need. TV in the dinning area is great for DVDs and the lounge is a great place to sit in the evening whilst the kids sleep in peace in the main part of the barn. Beds are comfy, rooms spacious and you have everything you need in the barn itself. Yvonne and John left us milk, biscuits and wine which is always a lovely touch. Yvonne was also kind enough to take in a parcel for us that I had sent due to my inability to organise myself prior to leaving for the holiday! Nothing is too much trouble and I really can't recommend their barns enough. I hope to get back their soon as we love the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & character of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to see you all again and was no trouble at all to look after the parcel, looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend in a fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My friends and I spent a fantastic long weekend at The Rose Barn cottage. The cottage was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. Tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and a bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived, which was much appreciated. The cottage is a short drive away from the beaches and Bude town. Yvonne was really friendly and very helpful during our stay and I would recommend the Rose Barn to anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, we look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage very helpful and friendly owners”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great location and perfect for our trip with our extended family. Plenty of equipment I think the best I have ever seen in a rental house. We will definitely go back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review? come back and see us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely barn, the perfect getaway”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We area family of 5 with 3 small children aged 5,4 & 3. We stayed at Helscott before but in one of the other properties. We fancied trying the bigger one this time and Rose barn did not disappoint.

The owners, Yvonne and John, are a lovely couple who could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They were always there if we needed them and were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The barn itself is lovely, the rooms are a great size and the lounge area is a lovely place to sit in the evenings. The location of the barns were excellent for us allowing us to travel to Lands End, Exmoor or Dartmoor without taking a great deal of time. Locally you obviously have places like Boscastle and Tintagel just round the corner but being just off one of the main roads helps you get about really easily and Bude is just 5 mins away if you need any shopping etc.

All in all this place is great value and an excellent find, we will be back!

Thanks for another great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, Character & Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Easter.John and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely owners and Ideal Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Yvonne & John are lovely owners and couldn't do enough for us. The cottage was spacious, and met just about all our needs, baring in mind that we had a disabled teenager with us.
The location was perfect good beaches, good eating, handy supermarkets near by ( Morrisons) , and more takeaways than you can shake a stick at in the town .
If I was to be critical the cottage lacked some minor updates ,ie Stereo system, Kitchen TV and Dvd, the fridge was a little small for 6 people , great barbie area,free wifi, good onsite safe parking
A definite 4 out of 5 stars, and we will return .
Thank you Yvonne and John x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yvonne and John the owners so very helpful
Liked least: The fridge was on the small side
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Nice to meet you all, thank you for letting us know the stereo was not functioning correctly, it has been removed, the small TV is still there as others comment on its usefulness for the children especially when there is a large flat screen TV in the living room.We have looked at the full height fridge/freezer in the kitchen and when it needs replacing we will try to source something with a 60/40 split instead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing