We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent quirky accomodation, great base to...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Granary, detached with upside down accomodation to take advantage of the views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary, detached with upside down accomodation to take advantage of the views.
Vaulted living area, the kitchen is at the far end. View from stable door in the living area opposite the sofa.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Granary, detached with upside down accomodation to take advantage of the views.
Vaulted living area, the kitchen is at the far end.
View from stable door in the living area opposite the sofa.
Bathroom with sleek glass basin.
Private garden with BBQ and seating.
Widemouth Bay at sunset.
Stanbury Mouth, a hidden gem of a beach.
Beautiful Bude, overlooking the beach taken from the sea lock gates.
The Granary looking down to the sea
Sunset from Helscott Barns
View from the games field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeteJLanc...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent quirky accomodation, great base to visit surrounding area.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was our first time staying in the Bude area and The Granary provided us with an excellent base within a few minutes drive to Widemouth Bay and another 5 or so away from Bude. Accommodation was quirky (upside down living area / sleeping area) with everything we needed to make it a comfortable stay. It had fantastic views over the surrounding countryside via the barn door.. The large playing field adjacent to the barns was a great feature made use of by the kids and our dog. Would lastly like to thank the lovely owners who were on hand to sort out any issues and offer advice about the local area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napurpleh
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had a thoroughly restful week at the Granary cottage at Helscott Barns. Lovely hosts and everything you could want in the cottage. Wifi could be stronger but it didn't spoil my stay. Easy access to a great beach and lots of good places to walk dogs nearby. And the sun even shone!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it was lovely to meet you, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieExpl...
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly place”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a fantastic few days staying at the Granary. The owners, John & Yvonne, were brilliant - such friendly helpful people and went that 'extra mile' even before we arrived! I have problems with my back and they happily answered questions about the bed etc before booking.......and the bed was really comfortable. At their suggestion, we had a supermarket food order to be delivered there and they very kindly were happy to be there incase we got delayed on our way down. Great directions from owners too.

The Granary is in a great location, just off the A39, so perfect for getting to Bude/Widemouth beaches. It's great for being accessible and as it's set back beyond fields, it's lovely and quiet too. If you want to go out in Bude in the evening, it's only a few miles, so within taxi distance home.

The Granary sleeps 4, but the other barns are very close by, so perfect for a larger group of friends/family. We had a good look at some of the other barns and hope to go back there again with friends.

We were very reluctant to leave!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed, even for someone with back problems
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, we always try to help whenever we can.We are glad that you managed to look at some of the other barns before you left and hope to see you and your friends and family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLil...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class.”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week at The granary. From the welcome from Yvonne and John to the welcome pack of wine, tea, coffee and milk and the cleanliness of the cottage everything was first class. Beautiful view through the stable door in the living room.
The cottage is perfectly located for touring North Cornwall and North Devon while the beaches of Widemouth Bay and Bude are only minutes away.
We will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Saying goodbye.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcalleran
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage, extremely comfortable, great surroundings close to Bude.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Granary for a week in August 2014 with my wife and our two daughters (10 & 14). The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. We appreciated the welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee and wine awaiting our arrival! The girls loved the quirky layout of the cottage and it was nice having views of the surrounding countryside from the stable door in the lounge. The cottage itself was warm and clean and the beds/sofas were very comfortable. The dinning table was quite small for 4 of us, but this didn't spoil our stay. The internet connection was a little intermittent but the owners are on the case. We didn't make use of the small private garden that was at the back of the Granary as we were out until quite late most days, but it had a picnic table and BBQ and was very well kept. We never received directions or information from the booking agent, but thankfully the owners were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we received the relevant information. We loved Bude itself and would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was very comfortable
Liked least: It would have been nice to have another toilet - but appreciate this would not be possible in this particular property.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing