We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Doors open to garden in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doors open to garden in summer
La Soldanelle - front of the building Indoor heated swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Doors open to garden in summer
La Soldanelle - front of the building
Indoor heated swimming pool
View from apartment - winter
View from bedroom window - Autumn
Communal lounge and bar area
Fully equipped gym
Fully fitted kitchen in apartment
Double bed (can be made as 2 singles)
Bathroom with shower
Kitchen and dining area
Olymplic size pool in village for summer
Steam room and sauna with relaxation area
Location of building in the village
Autumn is wonderful too
Rear of La Soldanelle
Sofa bed in lounge with satellite TV
View from cable car to village below
Whitewater rafting through the village
Natural lakes to swim in!
Summer view of village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chateau-d'Oex, Canton of Vaud

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
km0rris0n
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I first stayed in Chateau D'Oex 50 years ago, staying in the youth hostel and exploring the area. I simply loved it then and have always wanted to return although as the years have gone by I wondered if I might be disappointed. I need not have worried - Chateau D'Oex is still one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. From the minute my husband and I boarded the train in Montreux and started the ascent through the mountains we were just bowled over by the beauty of the scenery round every corner.

Karen's apartment is perfectly located with spectacular views to enjoy from every window. It is very clean and well equipped with a lovely comfy bed and we loved being able to use the gorgeous communal rooms, terrace and spa facilities. The term 'communal rooms' doesn't do justice to the elegance and style of this beautiful former hotel. Incidentally, when we were there we had the whole place virtually to ourselves!

Lucy, the key-holder, made us very welcome, picking us up from the station and giving helpful advice about things to do in the area. We bought a Gstaad 3-day pass which we used on the trains and cable cars. Definitely worthwhile.

We visited Gstaad and Gruyere by train but the heights for us were the days on the mountains (Wispile from Gstaad and Braye from Cd'O). We were so lucky with the weather - warm and sunny every day.

Happy memories and we hope to be back. Thank you Karen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your words. It's wonderful to know that others have shared the same enjoyment of Chateau D'oex and la Soldanelle that we have done over the years. It has been described before as a "little piece of paradise". We do live in an amazing world and I'm so grateful to be able to share the beauty of this part of it with others too. You are welcome back anytime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and scenery
Liked least: Position on hill as we had no car.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHG64
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great Apartment with wonderful 5* Facilities”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our family of 3 had a wonderful time staying in this apartment.
Kathryn,the owner,was very helpful and made the booking process really fast and easy.
Lucy,the local key-holder,was so welcoming and informative about the facilities.
The apartment is set in a beautifully converted historic hotel and has an amazing pool and spa area.There's a Games Room with table football and a pool table and also a wonderful communal lounge.
There are great restaurants in the area or you can easily self cater in the apartment.
The local area offers ice-skating in the winter and bowling all year round.Our family also enjoyed skiing in Saanenmoser which is about 30 minutes away and can be reached by car or train.
We would love to come back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
I'm really grateful for your review. It's lovely to receive the feedback and always helpful for other prospective guests too. I'm so happy for you that you had a great time. You are welcome back always.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Apartment very nice. Location beautiful. Facilities excellent, including the gym, saunas, jacuzzi and pool. Supermarket close to apartment, although best to drive if carrying many bags as is a steep walk uphill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment/facilities to come back to after a day sightseeeing”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

With wife and son for off-peak vacation in CH. Excellent apartment for 3, with great facilities in building. Apartment has everything needed, was spotless, and we were well received by Lynn (key holder) who gave us tips for the area. Satellite TV with UK Channels. Used apartment as a central location to visit various towns and sights (Bern, Zermatt, Montreaux, Lausanne) and great to come back to after a day out, (much better than hotel). Local amenities plentiful (COOP, bakery, pharmacy).
As part of the stay Kathryn provides lots of info, things to do, places to see etc which was very helpful, and we took her up on a few of her suggestions, particularly the chocolate factory tour :)
Highly recommended and thanks to Kathryn for a great vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
So happy you had a great stay and thank you for taking the time to provide a review. It is always lovely to hear about other people's experiences in Chateau D'Oex. We adore it too. Thank you again for sharing :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing