We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at the Dorado Beach for 1 week at the beginning of October. We had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the pool and the sea. Pool area is well kept and there was usually free sun loungers, the hotel is supposed to be very strict on reserving sun loungers however this standard has slipt, many towels on sun loungers all day and no one using them! Solarium on the roof is fab as it is always quiet, could do with a proper pool (jacuzzi on roof) and maybe a small bar but still good.

Food is of a good standard, both in the restuarant and pool bar, always something for everyone. Local and branded spirits on offer. Bottled wine available also and I must say its the best AI wine I have had!

Spa in the basement is fantastic!

My ONLY grumble is that there is no air-con in the rooms, when we were there it was 29 degrees at night time, no breeze and the room was stifling hot! I don't think I had 1 decent nights sleep the whole week. Infact on the last night I slept on the sofa bed in the lounge area with the balcony door open just to get some air! Also if you leave the windows open above the bed its very noisey during the night.

So all in all its a fab hotel with only one (major) downside, would I go back?? Probably not, unless they got air-con and then I'd be back in a minute!

Room Tip: Higher up the building the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    183
    45
    13
    12
See reviews for
187
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had a great week at the Dorado Beach Hotel. As some other reviews have pointed out there is no air conditioning only a ceiling fan within the bedroom area and this was our main disappointment with our stay and would be the only reason not to return to the hotel. Temperatures were in the 30’s when we stayed in early October and really did need air con at night when trying to sleep. Stayed on the 7th floor with excellent sea / pool view which was lovely to watch the sun set. Rooms were clean enough and had a fridge, TV and hair dryer. Safety deposit box available to hire. Food was of good standard, Breakfast, lunch and evening meal with snacks available at the pool bar from 10.30am until 5pm. Average range of cocktails. Beer wine and cold drinks are self service at the pool bar all day everyday, spirits you just ask for. We only went to a couple of the shows in the evening which were average and played bingo once the only thing about it is because of all the different nationalities every number was read out in about 4 languages so did take a while. We only met about another 3 couples that were from the UK which didn’t really bother us as we were in a group of 4 there is a mixture of nationalities Spanish, Swedish, German.
Wellness Centre really is a bonus to this standard of hotel and was great cooling down in the snow cabin and relaxing in the Jacuzzi. Outdoor pool and area is a good size and always managed to get sun beds if not right at the pool then round the corner nearer the pool bar. Did spend a few days on the solarium but was very hot up there with no shade, there is the Jacuzzi to cool down in with great views over the sea. Puerto Rico is only a 5 min taxi ride away costing around 5 euros to the main commercial centre where you will find a wide variety of restaurants and bars where we did go on a few occasions.
All in all a good relaxing holiday but would only return if the hotel had air conditioning

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. Request a pool / sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylouFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

"Absolutely Fabulous Week!!!"

My partner, myself & 15 year old son spent a week in July in the hotel, all inclusive and had a fabulous time. We were in a great room on the top floor with a great view over the complex with sun all day long on the balcony. Great room for handiness to the solarium which was quiet away from the main pool area and no kids!!. The staff were all friendly and approachable and worked hard throughout the hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed daily if u needed it. Although no air conditioning the bedroom does have a ceiling fan which was adequate at night. Helpful hint... If u open the door to the room and the doors onto the balcony creates a nice wind tunnel for cooling down the room when you are there. The food was above average in comparison to some all inclusives we have holidayed on with plenty of choice, show cooking and variety... and everything was hot and replenished regularly. The pool area was very busy as was the pool snack bar but with self service on the cold drinks and beer there was never much queuing. The hidden gem of the hotel is the Wellness centre.. fantastic and part of the all inclusive package.. would go back just for this!! The entertainment team worked hard and although didnt get too involved with it .. mainly for the kids who all seemed to be well catered for... the piano/lobby bar is a lovely way to spend the evenings. The internet room was great for my son.. was like home away for home for him!!.... All in all we had a fantastic time, would highly recommend and would definitely go back...though we maybe trying one of the other hotels withing the group the next time. Happy Holidaying everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We booked this hotel because of its location in an area we know well. The overall experience is excellent!
The Spa in the basement is stunning and amazing..really well worth staying in hotel just for that facility!
The main pool, pool bar, restaurant and piano bar are all excellent, superb food and lots of variety. However, there are not enough staff in either of the bars when its busy in the evening and not enough chairs avaialble in the Piano Bar or the Poolside Bar.
Sunbeds are always available and the patio provide both sun and shade throughout the day.
There is an excellent quiet and new internet facility which is free. Wifi is available but only in certain areas which was frustrating.
The only, but quite important, negative point about the hotel for us is that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms, even a portable unit for hire would have been great but the rooms where stiflingly hot and leaving the balcony doors open for air made it very very noisy. We never got a good nights sleep and this made a big difference to our enjoyment - I referred to our room as the 'pit of dispair' for the all of the hot and humid week, with temps of 27 to 29 degrees!
We had paid more for an 'apartment' as opposed to a 'room' to take advantage of the kitchenette - we are very early risers and need a cup of tea - before the dining room opens at 7.30, (there is no kettle provided in the rooms unless you opt for an 'apartment', but you do get a full sized fridge. When we arrived the kitchenette was locked away and a call to Reception advised that we did not need it because we where on all inclusive. When I pointed out we had paid a higher rate to get this facility they sent someone with a key! But nothing else was too much trouble, extra pillows where quickly provided, bedding and towels where spotless and changed half way through the week, beds made daily.
The hotel is very very noisy during the day with entertainment and music on the patio, noise from the pool, even the waves on the adjacent rocky beach! Balconies are over the pool area so no peace and quite there, best place for quite relaxation is the Spa!
We where the only english people at this hotel which was fine, the other guests mostly Scandinavians and a smaller number of Germans. This created an interesting variety of food and drink available at each mealtime! We enjoyed trying the food of the different nationalities, like herring and sourkraut, even vodka available with breakfast! Tip: hang on to any small water bottles and refill them at mealtimes from the water freely available in the dining room, rather than buy water from the in-house shop for your room.
The hotel is L-shaped with one wing facing west and in the shade in the mornings and one wing facing south - shaded by the west wing in the mornings. There are rooms on the road side of the west wing which have sideways seaviews and sun all morning but we thought that these rooms wouldn't be ones we would liked to have been allocated - the road is the main coast route and very busy!
The local town, Arguineguin, is on the doorstep and worth exploring for lots of little boutiques and gift shops. A 10 minute walk or short taxi ride to the best restaurant in town 'Fusion' located where the market is held every Tuesday. Amazing food, great for lunch or dinner, english owners, (take them some Tetley teabags - you cannot buy them in the Canaries!). Local market is on a Tuesday, lots of the usual cheap tourist rubbish but worth seeking out local crafts, the herb and spice stall, (we always but local paprika to bring home), the fresh fruit and veg stall - a kilo of sweet ripe figs and local plums just a few euros. Try the local rum and the lovely fresh bread with fennel, also hand made jewellery!
Excursions can be booked via reception and worthwhile investigating these on the day you arrive as different trips take place only on certain days not every day! We did the Island tour on Thursday, excellent luxury coach, great local guide and lovely day for 29euro (canarian lunch extra at 10euro).
We would recommend this hotel to friends and family essentially for the spa, but the lack of air conditioning in the rooms means we would not stay again ourselves, which is a pity.
For anyone with poor mobility this hotel is excellent with lifts to all floors, also you can hire a mobility scooter locally who will deliver and collect, the scooter can be left/charge in the reception foyer.

Room Tip: The higher up the floor the less noise from the pools and entertainment. Floor five is street/recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel should be a 4 or 5 star and not a 3 star it is spotlessly clean and the room we stayed in room 921 was lovely and what a view onto the sea fantastic. We were all inclusive and the food was of a high standard. The whole hotel is spotless you could eat your dinner off the floors it is that clean. We used the Solarium every day instead of the Main pool area as it was just above us and saved a trip on the elevator. The wellness centre was lovely and a hidden gem we only used this once as the weather was so good. Overall this is a fantastic hotel and I will go back as it was so good, the staff and holiday makers alike were very friendly. I will say there are not a lot of English speaking People at this hotel but it makes no difference.

Room Tip: Room 921 Made you feel like you were on a Ship
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
3.8 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
10.0 km away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
4.3 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
5.0 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
10.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa

Property: Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Address: Crrta. Arguineguin, s/n, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Price range (per night): $171 - $269
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorado Beach Aparthotel Hotel Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Hotel Arguineguin
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa Arguineguin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing