We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,222)
Filter reviews
2,222 results
Traveller rating
486
843
546
213
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
843
546
213
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar self catering sea view hotel supermarket onsite supermarket shop on site bedroom window reception staff pool side the ground floor rooms are basic apartment was clean ten minute walk walk into town music square restaurants and bars plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,222 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights Sept 2018
. Rooms very basic and much need of refurbishment. Self catering facilities very poor. Rooms shabby decor. We paid extra for sea view and on arrival downgraded to pool view. Seaview was far from stunning. Coastline black and rocky overlooking large area of deralict land, ugly dated promenade and to the right an ugly building looking like a power station. Depressing and not worth extra money. Pool area however was fantastic. Good poolside bar, pool entertainment during day. Very disappointed on checkout when no courtesy room was provided. Our pick up was after 5pm. We were told to shower at pool in front of everyone and get changed in hotel toilets. Disgraceful. Hotel needs to up its game and look after guests. Definitely won't be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We have just come back from a great holiday, but the accomodation seems yet again to suffer from that same old problem of "the tired look"
Start at the begining...... The staff were lovely, efficient and cheery at the desk, our cleaning maid was polite and discreet. The pool bar staff were great also, along with maintainance staff you always seem to be around. The shop was good also if a little pricey (Spar around the corner is loads cheaper) So far so good.

Now comes the moaning bit. The rooms on the main road side need air con. You have to open all the windows to let the breeze through due to the heat, but the volume of noise from the traffic will have you up at around 5.30 - 6am every day but Sunday. NOT GOOD AT ALL. Its 2018, get up to standard, put aircon in.
There also needs to be proper utensils for cooking, a proper set knives and a chopping board would sort that out pretty quick.
A dustpan and brush and a brush to sweep through (it is a dusty Island after all) would again be a good idea.
CLEAN YOUR POOL - not once in the two weeks did I see anyone hoovering the pool, and believe me I was up early every day due to TRAFFIC NOISE. The maintenace guys hosed the pool surround, but any muck was going into the pool!!
Theres another thing with the pool, we are adults who have been swimming all our lives, that means that we dont need to be told you cant swim till 11am until the relevant staff are on duty......... really??? Never ever seen this before.
The gym needs fans at the very least - only used it twice as it was an oven...
The one thing that really concerned me though was the amount of things that were cracked, broken, didnt quite fit, needed fixing etc. Its a trait that seems to be the norm in most resort type places. If you wouldnt tolerate it at home, why on holiday?????
The amount of cracked tiles arounf the pool and poorly fitted ones was an acident waiting to happen, with all the water and bare feet (little kiddies feet etc), love to see you get a compensation claim for that.

All in all a place that offers so much, has some great staff let down by a litle bit of thought, care an investment. Would love to say I would go back, but I doubt we would. And thats a real shame.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the main road - you will be up with the sun
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamR4050, Director General at Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Graham,

First of all, I would like to apologize as we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are important for us because thanks to them, we can improve and change the things which are not working well.
We would like to inform that our Maintenance Department is in charge of the cleaning works in the pool area daily. For this reason, I have shared your comments with them, for a deeply review and take the appropriate actions.
I would like to apologize too regarding the air condition. In order to offer an option to our guest, we have an arrangement with an external company for provide a rent service of fans.
Please you can be sure that all your comments and suggestions have been took into consideration as they will help us to improve our services.
I cannot conclude without thank you for your comments about our staff. They have been passed to them and it has been very motivating for them.
We apologize once again for not having fulfilled your expectations and will work hard to improve ourselves. We really hope to welcoming you in the near future and you can appreciate the changes and improvements in which we are working.

Thank you, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My husband. two 18 year old children and myself stayed for 10 nights in two one bed apartments. Checking was quick. Reception staff friendly and rooms ready. Apartments are well appointed very clean with massive room terracfes. Recently refurbed in a shabby chic beach style and were spotless. Bathroom with large walk-in waterfall shower, plenty of hot water, toiletries, good mirrors and lighting and hairdryer. Kitchen area had full fridge, microwave, hob, plenty of kitchenware. Longe are had s take and chairs, sofa bed and flat screen tv with English channels. Bedroom had king size comfy bed with white linens, mirror, dresser, safe, built in wardrobe and safe. Pool area beautiful and kept spotless with excellent pool bar and loads of beds throughout the day and plenty of shade so no 6:00am dash!! Hotel probably more suited to adults and not small children as inflatables not allowed in pool and no loud music. Animation Programme available but no hard sell. Small shop on site for bits and bobs but Hyperdino and Spar within 5-10 mins for larger shop. The staff at this hotel are really friendly and do everything they can to make your stay an enjoyable one. Quiet location about 10 mins walk to old town or 4euro in a taxi to the middle of it all. Would I recommend - YES

Room Tip: We stayed in 320 and 321 and had views of the pool and a limited sea view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank leahmcburney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamR4050, Director General at Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking such positive feedback about your stay at Hesperia Bristol Playa. We are proud to know that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your holidays, which is a motivating element for all Hotel staff. Exceeding our guests’ expectations represents our main goal.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to offer you another memorable experience.
Thank you, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

A clean and friendly hotel staff are helpful, room was clean decent for two people bathroom was large with a good shower. Had a view of both sea and pool, we were self catering so didn’t try restaurant , little shop was good for basics water milk bread etc. Decent pools plenty of beds and pool bar was good friendly staff and good food breakfast is a must . Only a 15min walk to restaurants and shops.
Only downsides are rooms really need air con and pool tiles could do with a bit of maintenance ie replace broken ones and regrout the rest also could do with hosing down to get rid of stains each day apart from this would definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamR4050, Director General at Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Phil,
Firstly we would like to thank you for share your experience with us and specially your kind words regarding the service received from us. Your comments have all been passed to our staff and it has been very motivating for them.
Also, I would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions. Thanks to them, we can improve our service and change the things which are not working well.
They have all been passed to the departments involved for a deeper review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We stayed at this hotel for one week at the beginning of September 2018. The pool was closed when we arrived due to someone, in the early hours, efficating in the pool. The hotel was obliged to ensure the pool was clean and safe for holidaymakers to use so had an inspection from environmental health - which surely should be commended rather than a previous reviewer complaining of it being a nuisance. We managed to eat in all week using the 2 electric cooker rings. There were a few ants around but we bought insect killer which cost less than £2 and ensured all food was discarded or kept in the fridge and had no further problems. The shower and bathroom is probably the best we have ever had. There was plenty of storage in the room and live music in the pool bar twice during our stay was very welcome. We will return as the hotel was exactly as described. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NikkiMc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamR4050, Director General at Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking such positive feedback about your stay at Hesperia Bristol Playa. We are proud to know that we have met your expectations, which is a motivating element for all Hotel staff.
Also, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding the incident with our swimming pool. We tried our best in order to resolved the situation and guarantee an optimum condition for our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to offer you another memorable experience.
Thank you, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews