We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casanova

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
View of Lanzarote & Los Lobos Island from roof terrace
Sunbathing by the pool
Rattan terrace sofas
Al fresco dining
Breakfast al fresco looking out onto the pool
Quiet end of terrace, not overlooked, very private
Larger pool - direct access from ground floor terrace
Children's pool, perfect for budding swimmers
Roof terrace, very private, perfect for sunbathing!
View of Los Lobos Islands from roof terrace
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Second twin bedroom and ensuite
Lazy afternoon
Entrance hallway with bedroom 1 straight ahead, bed 2 off to the right. Main living area downstairs
And relax...
Acua Park, 5 mins walk from complex
El Campanario by night, 3 mins walk from El Sultan with markets and live music
Driving through Las Dunas beaches
Park just outside of El Sultan with skateboard park and playground
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in Casanova, loved the complex and the house. Place was spotless! Karen was extremely helpful with booking. Looking forward to returning, loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thanks Jacqueline, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie695
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The lady from Sheffield who rated it as poor was absolutely right and it is disappointing to note that we have experienced the same problems some 3-4 months after she raised them. The place was very grubby, tired & poorly maintained. The leaky cistern in the downstairs bathroom is still much in evidence and you couldn't describe any of the shower cubicles as clean. Dust was thick in places, there was a sticky sweet stuck to the sofa, there were broken sunbeds and patio chairs and stains on the bedspreads. The sheets, towels, bathmats and tea towels have all seen better days and were very cheap & tatty. Our concerns were raised with the on site team the day we arrived and they never got back to us with the exception of hanging some clothes pegs and a corkscrew on the door while we were out on the evening of day 4. None of our other issues were addressed and no contact with us was made. Given the price we had paid for the week, we do not consider it good value for money and would certainly not return or recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Hi Julie,
Thank you for your comments. We are taking them all into consideration and upgrades are in progress.
Kind regards,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PandJ66
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven in Corralejo”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just returned from a week at Casanova.
Not our first stay at El Sultan but first at Casanova
Great house with all the amenities of home
Clean, quiet, spacious accommodation on the peaceful El Sultan complex

You are a little way out of town but a nearby taxi rank can drop you down for 3 or 4 euros.

Recommended for a restful luxurious break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That home from home comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thanks so much, I'm really pleased you were happy with the accommodation, and that you enjoyed your holiday! Can't beat winter sunshine :)
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue181120...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Poorly maintained and dirty”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Broken handrail to entrance, broken dirty light fittings, bulbs not working, broken gate to back entrance, broken baby gate, broken shower door ground floor, disabled person unable to access shower, broken curtain rail unable to close curtains, broken shutter in twin bedroom, broken leaking cistern ground floor bathroom, thin raggy towels.
Curtains up and downstairs mouldy and dirty, bathrooms and toilets dirty, floors inside and out filthy (we swept up a carrier bag full of dirt), walls and ceiling especially in twin room mouldy and dirty, black grime in bathrooms, ants on kitchen surfaces and cooker, windows dirty inside and out. We had to disinfect sweep and clean villa as we had a small child and disabled lady with us. The accommodation spoiled our stay. The majority of us came home with an infection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The villa
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Oh Sue, I'm so sorry you weren't happy with the accommodation. If you remember, when we were discussing your mum’s needs and whether the property was suitable, I did say that the house was not altered in any way to accommodate a disabled person. I offered to cancel and refund your booking if you were at all worried, but you were happy to proceed. I will take note of the shower size in future. As I said at the time, it was more important to me that you were all comfortable, and that the property was suitable. If I got it wrong, I'm sorry. It wasn't intentional at all.

Thank you so much for your helpful suggestions on maintenance. Maintenance is continually ongoing. Indeed, the handrail to the entrance is scheduled to be fixed in December, and all other points will be addressed as necessary during this month.

Having spoken to our property managers, they were quite surprised that you didn't mention anything regarding the cleanliness of the property. Jim in particular, who spent two days solving your luggage problems, was at the property a number of times during your stay. My emails do clearly state to contact either myself or our property managers should you have any difficulty or issue, as I find that rectifying complaints as they arise is easiest all around. I contact all my guests after their stay to find out how everything was for them, and feedback regarding cleanliness is always positive. I apologise again if this was not the case for you. For future guests, Lesley and Jim are happy to replace light bulbs if they blow during your stay.

I do hope you are all recovered from your colds. I believe they are spread by contact with other people, not by houses. Just as a precautionary measure, we will steam clean all soft furnishings for future guests.

Many thanks Sue,

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves Tracy! Thank you for the lovely review. We would love to have you back in the future:) Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing