We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family freindly hotel, good food, great pool, handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Having read some poor reviews on here I just had to put things straight.
I am giving this Hotel a 5/5 rating but it isn't perfect.

Holidays are always so personal and although I feel for those that did not enjoy their stays I just want to cover some facts and rate various aspects of the hotel. We are a family of 5 - me 51, mum 50 and three kids 21, 18 and 16.
I say the hotel was more suited to younger families but there were couples too. Sa Coma isn't exactly a party town like Magaluf so night life ends in the bars at around 1-2am but there's the Havana Club in Cala Millor only a few minutes away for the hard-core.
Reception 9/10: When you first arrive the Reception area is very attractive. Clean, bright and air conditioned.
Room - 5/10: We were in a 1 bed apartment in the main block with a view of the pool and we could also see the sea. The room needs a lick of paint. The walls were a bit messy with mould around the air-con ducts. The fridge was old and rusty. The double bed was two completely single beds. In the lounge were two BIG sofa-beds which were fairly comfy for younger types. The aircon worked. Bathroom had the Bidet removed so the holes were still showing but was fairly clean with some traces of grime around some tiles but there was a proper bath and the shower was always nice and hot and powerful..
I know this sounds a lot but honestly once you've been in the room for a day you won't care. It just needs one day in there with a paint brush and some filler.
Pool - 8/10 - lovely. 2 Pools. Nice and clean and fairly well maintained with a life guard. Someone on tripadvisor complained about the lack of music - GOOD ! I don't want to deafened by someone elses choice of music. There was lively modern beach party music being played not too loud from the Pool Bar but that was inaudible by the time you got half way down the pool. I like the fact that the pool was peaceful. With kids jumping and diving around it wasn't "dead" but certainly there was no Club 18-30 antics going on. Just nice family fun. Oh and Water Polo did get a bit competitive though but Jay and Maddy kept it in good spirits.
You still get the saddos that reserve sun beds at 6am but even so there was always some still to be found. Lodas of comfy sunbeds and plenty of sun from 8am thru to 6pm (in August). Lots of partial shaded areas too from the pine trees and a few umbrellas.
Bar - 8/10, never had to wait more than 3-4 minutes if there was a queue, VERY generous measures.
Restaurant - 8/10. Clean, well staffed. Food quality was GOOD, with a great selection. There is a multi lingual menu outside the restaurant telling you the 3 or 4 main courses. Distinct Spanish a lot of the time but NOT always.
For example one day the choice was Chinese Style Spare ribs OR Chinese style Chicken portion OR some sort of Fish in a creamy Sauce. Another day it was succulent tender Pork Loin, Lasagna and another fish in sauce. No matter what the choice of main dish was there was ALWAYS a great Salad bar, choice of Pastas and sauces, Pizza, Chips and a variety of vegetable dishes. So yes, if you only ever eat pizza and chips then yes you can have that everyday. Desserts were Ice Creams, Blancmange, Jelly and a variety of sponge based creations but a nice big choice of lovely fresh fruit. I love the melon !.
Breakfast was the same every day: full english selection plus fruit, cereal, toast etc.
Lunch was similar to Evening Meal, maybe slightly less choice but we were usually still stuffed from breakfast.
Nice to enjoy a GLASS of wine with the meal rather than a plastic glass, but you only get a plastic glass if you are around the pool - makes good sense to me ! When indoors you get nice big proper glasses.
Finally the entertainment - mostly aimed at kids but Jay, Tony and the rest worked very hard ALL day to try and make everyone happy.
Bingo every night (cringe) followed by some form of entertainment.
The comedy show was more than a little risque but was great fun.
Music Quiz, Karaoke, Birds or Prey show.. etc

Location - a very short walk from the lovely sandy safe family friendly beach.
2 or 3 bars and restaurants very nearby too which to be fair didn't serve up food any better than the Hotel, but we did eat out a couple of times just for a change of scenery.

Summary - we paid £1900 for 5 people for one week in peak season. For all our food and drink for a week. (Excluding flights). I think for the quality it was great value.
We all would like the view from one hotel, combined with the pool of another, with the room from that other place..? It's always a compromise to some degree. Some aspects of this Hotel are as good as any 4 Star, some aspects are a little below other 3 Star Hotels.

Just for reference we have stayed as a family in hotels from Hostels in Thailand to 4* USA and had experience with All Inclusive too so I am reviewing this Hotel as compared to my expectations of a 3 star All Inc Hotel.

Hope this helps ;o)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_in_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi Chris in Bournemouth,

Your information helps a lot. Thank you so much for such an extensive and detailed description of your family's stay at our Aparthotel Blue Sea Gran Playa. We thank you for spending so much time publishing this information that will not only be very useful to other readers, but also for us. With your detailed review we can improve some of our service within our possibilities. We will soon start some refurbishment in the rooms which will definitely help to solve some of the issues.

As for the rest of your comments, we appreciate all the positive references you have made about the staff and the service in general. We are also pleased that you liked the area and that all of this, helped you and your family to have a wonderful experience.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for writing such a positive review. You will always be welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for Blue Sea Gran Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

If I had based my holiday on some of the reviews for this hotel then I would not have gone! That would have been a real shame as our two week holiday experience was excellent! First impressions involved a friendly check-in at around midnight with a cold food selection offered. The room was basic but clean and functional for a 3 star hotel. Room and sheets changed often. All of the hotel staff worked extremely hard and the animation team were great! Food became a little repetitive but there was always plenty of fresh fruit and a variety of salads available. Although we were there during main holiday weeks and the restaurant was busy, tables were cleared immediately so guests did not have to wait. The hotel was in a prime location for the resort of Sa Coma which has lots of bars and restaurants and is within walking distance of the beach. We also had a sea view. The pool area was lovely and sun beds were always available. Thank you to the staff for helping to make our holiday an enjoyable one. We hope to return again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank louisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello louisa,

You are very kind to write such a positive review of our Aparthotel Blue Sea Gran Playa. We are very happy to see that your experience has been very satisfactory and we thank you for making it public. Your information is very important to other readers and of course to us as well. Some of your suggestions will be attended to straight away with the intention of improving a little more.

Indeed the Aparthotel being located near the beach and offering high value for money is ideal for summer holidays.

We are happy to see that you think the same but, what makes us happiest is to see that you intend to visit us again. We will be waiting for you with open arms. You will always be welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner got there after an hour and a half transfer from the airport. On first impressions the hotel was quite nice. We got to reception and we were told that we were not in the main hotel area but we're in the apartments 5 mins down the road we requested a room in the hotel as my partner was disabled and would struggle to continually walk to and from the hotel. We were told the hotel was full and there were no rooms which is hard to believe as around the pool etc there weren't many guests. Well by halfway through I'd unfortunately got bad sunburn and to walk from the apartments to the main hotel for food and drinks etc was really difficult and yet we still was not offered a room. So we went two day trapped in our apartment's not being able to go out cz the burn was so bad (In no means am I blaming the hotel for my burns that was obviously my fault.) We ended up coming home two days early because we couldn't hate it any longer. On the plus side of what food we ate was nice and they did real branded soft drinks like pepsi and Fanta and 7up etc. Staff were rude except Diego. I wouldn't stay again but for the price we paid it would of been adequate.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sunscreen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Shane L,

We read with sadness that due to your partner’s mobility problems, the apartment in the annex complex was not to your satisfaction. It is important that these issues are reported at the time of booking as if we do not know in advance it is sometimes impossible to meet the requests of your stay upon arrival. Unfortunately, even if you do not believe that the Aparthotel was fully booked during your stay, it really was not possible to move you to another apartment. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and we hope that one day you will forgive us.

Apart from this, we read carefully the rest of your suggestions and will use them to improve some of our services. In general the customer is satisfied with the value for money we offer but for sure, there is always room for improvement.

To conclude, we thank you for your visit and apologise for the inconvenience you may have suffered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Me and my family stayed her from the 25/7/17-1/8-17 and we loved it, we barely seen our children as they were off playing with friends and enjoying the pools. The pool area was clean and tidy and the rooms were cool and clean. Breakfast and lunch was great cannot comment on evening meals because as a family we chose to go into as coma or s'illot for dinner each night. The hotel location is amazing right by sa coma beach and sa coma town which is a beautiful walk and just a little further along is the beautiful town of s'illot which has shops, bars, cafes and safe play areas for children.
My only bad report on the hotel was that the lady who cleaned around the pool area each morning was very grumpy and decided it would be nice to spray the sun beds and towels so I did tell her that I thought it was unacceptable to which the manager apologised to me. But do not let that deter you from enjoying a holiday here I would definitely come here again and enjoy another family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vic & Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello Vic and Rob V,

Thank you very much for rating our Aparthotel so positively. We are very happy to see that you and your family have enjoyed your holiday with us in Sa Coma.

We apologise for the little incident with the pool cleaner who was a little rude to you.

Indeed the complex is ideal for families. Its facilities and services are good for all types of guest and even more so for children as it is very close to the beach and in a quiet and safe area. All this is offered at a very reasonable price, so families can enjoy everything without burning a hole in their pocket!

To conclude, we thank you once again for your lovely comments and wish you a happy future with your children. You will always be very welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We have just returned from a one week family stay. We travelled as a family of five adults and two children aged 7 and 5, and booked three rooms. We requested the rooms to be close to each other and the staff happily obliged. We found all the staff very helpful and polite. In particular, the entertainment staff who worked hard and quickly learned our names and our children's names which made us feel 'welcome'. The pool area was cleaned each morning and bins regularly emptied throughout the day. A huge positive for us was the feeling of safety around the pool. We could always see our children from our sun beds while they were in the pool or helping themselves to the drinks, ice creams, or snacks available during the day. The life guard was also very friendly though he said he finishes working there this weekend. As other reviews have pointed out, the rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment, but they were cleaned each day and provided very good value for money. We also agree with previous comments about the lack of variety of food served in the restaurant, but what was on offer was tasty and plentiful and we never had to queue for food or wait for a table to be available. One of our party has a food allergy and the chef was more than happy to explain the menu and even offered to make 'special' meals for her. The hotel is well situated to the main strip of shops and restaurants and is just a few minutes walk to a beautiful beach and promenade. In conclusion, if you are looking for a five star hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are on a budget, then this three star, family friendly hotel is great value for money. We just hope this hotel will not be out of our budget next year after it has been updated. To the management... please thank all your staff for a memorable, family holiday. We truly appreciated how hard they worked.

Room Tip: All rooms have pool views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Julie B

It makes us happy to know that your stay and that of your family has been enjoyable and that in general, your satisfaction high. We thank you with all our hearts for writing so in your review.

We also believe that our Aparthotel is ideal for a family holiday due to its great location close to the beach, perfect facilities for families and the high value for money it offers. For these reasons it is the best hotel that one can choose in Sa Coma whilst being kind to the pocket and we love to see that you also think alike.

We especially thank you for your positive comments about the treatment you received from the staff. As well as this, the Chef and our Director also thank you for your positive comments.

We all send you an affectionate greeting from Mallorca and hope to see you again in the future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
3.3 km away
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Blue Sea Don Jaime
#56 of 58 in Cala Millor
946 reviews
15.3 km away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,169 reviews
0.6 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.9 km away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#18 of 44 in El Arenal
562 reviews
0.2 km away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
0.2 km away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#8 of 29 in Sa Coma
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Sa Coma

Been to Blue Sea Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Gran Playa

Address: Plaza Estepes 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Gran Playa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: $63 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Gran Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the popular beach resort of Sa Coma, on the scenic east coast, the Blue Sea Gran Playa is the ideal for those who want to enjoy all the attractions that the beautiful Mallorca has to offer. Tourists come from all over Europe to relax on the beaches, to swim in crystal clear waters, discovering the rich cultural heritage of the area and taste typical Mallorqian dishes. The complex itself has 2 outdoor pools, a solarium with hammocks; playgrounds, and surrounding gardens in which you can relax yourself and soak up the sunshine. There is also a cafe and snack bar plus a buffet restaurant. The apartments are equipped with a balcony or terrace, living room and bathroom. If you wish to eat in your apartment, all of them offer a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sea Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing