We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Cannot really fault this hotel. Travelled here for first 2 weeks in September, didn't struggle at all with finding a sun bed, went down before breakfast at 9am every morning and found sun beds straight away, if we went to the beach in the morning we'd head back to the pool around 2pm and again found sun beds straight away (party of 14). Was a little bit worried about the hand foot and mouth we'd read about on reviews before travelling but when we arrived it was clear to see the hotel was spotless, constantly being cleaned and hand sanitizer machines at entrance of every restaurant. Unfortunately I witnessed lots of people with children entering the restaurants ignoring the machines even though staff encourage you to use them, so I don't think the hotel cannot really be blamed. Breakfast lunch and dinner has a wide range of foods so i struggle to see how anybody can complain about the variety of foods. The stirfrys are AMAZING! We went to the Asian and country grill restaurants for dinner both were lovely! Bar staff are amazing they are there morning noon and night and work so effectively and fast! Hardly no wait at the bar. Free ice creams were an added bonus. Cleaners do a great job, clean 5 days out of 7, fresh sheets and towels. Large rooms! Hotel staff worked very quickly when there was a big rain storm causing flooding. Cleaner broke my mirror, I had a note saying sorry and to go to reception and I was reimbursed the amount of mirror in full in English pounds. Entertainment mainly aimed towards children but was good, I read in a review that the entertainment is all in German, this isn't true it's translated in a few languages English being one of them. This is mainly a family hotel with lots of younger children. But I'd visit again! Beach close, and beautiful. Kings head a very good night! Can't complain.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paige P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Firstly, I made the mistake of booking a TUI Family Life hotel which I would never do again. This hotel is lovely and the staff are very efficient and friendly, with excellent grounds and pool areas. What spoilt the holiday was the sound of screaming toddlers, mainly British, from 7.30 in the morning to midnight. Visited 5-16 September

This hotel is entirely geared up for families with small children and nothing else. The staff and facilities including the nightly entertainment revolve around children and any adult entertainment offered, usually not more than an hour after 9.30pm was dire except for three nights out of our total 11 nights. The music that is played from about 7.30 each night in the open seating area in front of the stage is exactly the same every night with the same performances/dances to the same music at the same times every single night. There was always a heavy slant on The German audience.

Visiting the buffet restaurant which generally had reasonable food, although not 4 star by any stretch of the imagination, was a painful experience unless we timed an early breakfast and late lunch and/or dinner. Conversation was drowned out by screaming and when trying to get food we had to dodge the rude or zombie-like adults. The same types of food were served every day with an abundance of chips and plain pasta. As with other reviewers, the stir fry/ grill area was very good but extremely limited in taste. Stir fry tasted the same no matter what, although there were slight variations in some of the ingredients. One night we visited here and counted 40 strollers parked outside the restaurant.

The themed restaurant booking system is a joke! Why is it that there are 3 out of the 4 themed restaurants available on the Safari Park premises and yet the other two hotels get dibs on bookings too. I hasten to add that it was not possible to book any of the other restaurants on the other two adjacent proturhotels sites apart from Goa which was directly across from the front entrance. Having to queue for at least an hour just to get a seat at one of these really wasn't worth it at all. We ate at Cardamom-a third rate Asian fusion restaurant which was more like a canteen serving schools food which was tasteless, and La Fontana-Italian not! This was really appalling and everything we had tasted like it was out of a packet and reheated. I have never tasted such appalling food masquerading as Italian. My advice stick with the buffet or go into Cala Millor for a delicious and cheap meal at one of the sea front restaurants.

Our twin room looked out onto the stage area so noise levels were at their height, although I would rather have been there than overlooking the car park. The maid service was unpredictable and not as you would expect in a hotel. We had holes towels, and a marked pillow case and the floors, particularly in the bathroom were rarely mopped. The shower threw water over the tiny bathmat so this ended up soaked and we had to use a towel on the rest of the floor to get between the shower and the sink as steam made it treacherous. Not enough storage space either. Mirrors versus plug points were also an issue. If, like me, you have fine hair then you don't want tot be drying it in a steamy bathroom where the extractor doesn't work. In order to to this in the main living area I had to plug in by the bed and stand to dry my hair in the mirror at head height. If you are vertically challenged forget it!

Safe- 5€ deposit and 3€ charge per day
Towels - 15€ refundable deposit per towel. You must get a ticket for this or end up arguing at reception because they messed up.
Resort tax- paid up front
Wifi- very poor. Only available around the pool by the front bar near the stage and in the main foyer area. Further away it's too weak and inconsistent. So when they say pool area in the write up ignore that.
Drinks-non brand spirits, Estrella Damm beer, soft drinks and tap water, tea and coffee. Fruit juice available but not fresh.

In brief a nice hotel with pleasant staff and good facilities but let down by the entertainment, food and extras which should have been included. If you have a very young children then this is the place for you. This is not 4 star but 3 star plus at the most. Thomson you have failed on this one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

arrived 9th September for a week, three adults and four kids in my booking aged 1,2,6,14. First impressions were good, reception lovely and we were pleased with our one bedroom apartments on the 3rd floor. Would highly recommend the one bed apt over the twin room, so much more space. The beds in the main bedroom are awful, very, very hard and uncomfortable.Agree with previous comments about noise but i find this pretty standard everywhere. The cleaning staff do an excellent job keeping the rooms, grounds, etc spotless. we had to visit the restaurant on the right side of the building which i much preferred as other side had a strange smell. The food in the restaurant was excellent especially the stir fry station, fresh cooked meats and the omelette station in the morning. I can't fault the main restaurant at all. AT lunch you had choice between main restaurant or country grill. Went here first day and flies were everywhere :( They were crawling along the food and constantly bothering us. Really off putting. we avoided eating here but lunch only served 1-3 then afternoon tea in there. Much preferred my hotel last year who made fresh hot food at poolside bar all day.
We paid into the water park three days as the kids pool there is much safer and better for young kids. at a charge of 13.50 per adult and 6.50 per child this was expensive but food and drink was included. i have to say it is not really a water park, a well equipped kids pool and two small adult slides which are not very slippery. It was so much more spacious than the main pool and the food at lunch was much nicer and no flies on everything. The hotel should consider making the 'water park' free for residents. The sunbed spaces here more generous too.
We found this hotel far too big for us as a family. It is vast and i didn't feel safe letting the children out of eyesight. I much prefer a smaller complex, where you can build a relationship quickly with staff . I couldn't know people here in a month. The entertainment at night was poor, had much better shows. Also at the kids disco all the parents stand at the front so you cant see the kids??!! Very strange. We let our 2yr and 6yr old join in one night but they were knocked over by adults! There is a choice of three cocktails on all inclusive they were just ok. Beer and wine were good.
Sa coma itself was not for us. The sea was also very choppy when we were there. Not safe for kids to paddle in. We have been to superb beaches in alcudia, lanzarote and fuerteventura that were amazing and the sea was so still. We went to kings head and britannia bar couple nights. also had breakfast in JJ's up at huge supermarket eroski and restaurante atlantic which were both fab. Eating out and drinking out is expensive in sa coma compared to lanzarote.
I think this hotel is definitely for families, though we would never, ever return. We don't want butlins in spain, we like smaller hotels with personal touch. Not sure if it deserves four stars tbh. If you are thinking of booking i would like more towards holiday villages or elsewhere.

Room Tip: we had rooms 3021 & 3019 overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leannehamill2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Poor food.
Queue for everything.
Food was tasteless.
Family of 6 put into two separate rooms, asked to be moved and got pushed from TUI back to hotel staff.
No way a four star hotel. No rules around the pool it was mayhem.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Would recommend this hotel for a family holiday' pool area large with loads of sun beds . The hotel was busy but no mad dash to get a bed,
The main pool had all the usual Aqua gym etc going on but also some quieter areas about if you not into all that. Food was extremely good for a buffet style hotel( there are other restaurants you can book but huge queues and no guarantees to get what you are wanting) fresh omelettes or pancakes for breakfast as well as all the normal choices, lunch either in restaurants or pool grill for kebabs burgers chips etc. Evening meal had a theme each night as well as well as cooked to order meats or the fantastic stir fry where you choose what to put in. Drink on tap in restaurants and no bother at the bars , lots of choice on the all inclusive and no hitters saying "only 2 drinks per person". We in one of the apartment rooms (3 adults) plenty of space lots of storage bed settees in living area just as cumfy said a normal bed. Rooms have kettle fridge microwave so great for babies or ,for a quiet cupa. Staff all lovely and friendly. Dining rooms could be a bit manic but pick your times (early breakfast and late evening meal) and it's fine.i wouldn't recommend the water park ( really cheeky to call it that) it's a large pool with 2 slides. Didn't visit the safari( all adults so not our thing) resort had all you need shops etc but quiet as I think all the hotels all inclusive, busy on the night the football on but then died a death once finished so not a resort if you want night life.lovley promenade and beach .calla Millor a nice flat 15 min walk if you want more shops. All in all would definTely return with the granchildren.only recommendation for the management would be to offer an adult only pool area and drinking area, love kids but when not with them sometimes a bit of peace would be nice.

Room Tip: Pool view, we in 4057 lovely view over whole complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roe1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.2 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#12 of 28 in Sa Coma
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
1.2 km away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
72.7 km away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Safari Park Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Safari Park Aparthotel

Address: Calle Las Lilas s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: AU$206 - AU$527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Safari Park Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Protur Safari Park Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing