We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just back after an enjoyable 10 night stay at the Marfil Playa Hotel, set in the tranquil village of Sa Coma. The hotel itself is of a very high standard, very clean and well decorated throughout. The hotel staff were very attentive and the all inclusive bar service was excellent. The food was generally good and was always hot, although towards the latter end of the holiday, it did become a tad repetitive. Rooms, plenty big enough for families and were cleaned daily. The entertainment was very good and the kids entertainers were absolutely brilliant. I can see this hotel being a very popular choice for families and couples looking for a quiet holiday away from the fast pace of everyday life. I reserve a special mention to Roy & Boy who ran the kids club with such dedication and professionalism, also to all the bar staff who were fantastic, especially Javier, who doesn't like to see your glass empty! I must also mention the cleaners who kept the place looking spotless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you are tempted by a low cost holiday using the internet site "On the Beach" - DONT! They are not a package holiday company and as such don't seem to have any responsibility to help out when things go wrong.
We were a family party of 7 travelling to Majorca on Monday 2nd April from Bristol on Ryanair and after 3hrs sitting on the plane, we were told to get off as the flight was cancelled due to the French Air Traffic Controller's strike. Ryanair just handed us a letter saying to rebook or apply for a refund online, which was no help whatever at 10pm at the airport, for the planeful of people all wanting to fly to Palma. It was impossible to get hold of On the Beach, so rebooked with Easyjet ourselves, using our mobile phone, for the following Wednesday. We then booked ourselves into a local hotel and spent the following morning ringing a premium 09 number which was never answered by the company, despite holding on for 20mins a time. It was a very traumatic experience having to do everything ourselves, so if you are tempted, please read other holiday maker's experiences on the "On the Beach" review site. Now we are home we have to try and sort out insurance claims for the extra flight costs, hotel and food expenses, which rather spoils the holiday experience.

However, once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The buffet meals were excellent, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the rooms were very clean. As I like my food to be hot, I loved the restaurant grill where a chef stood throughout meal times cooking a variety of foods. Plenty of everything, with depleted trays being replenished and no queueing!

Guests seemed to be roughly 50/50 English and German and we didn't have any problems with all staff and entertainers talking in both languages. The evening entertainment comprised a music quiz and bingo night run by the resident children's entertainers, alternating with magic, acrobatic and flamenco type shows lasting about an hour. We found the 'All Inclusive' option was definitely worth having with our family. The children loved going to the bar and ordering their own drinks, and waiter service from the bar in the entertainment area was excellent.

There are only a couple of minor points I would mention. Although the hotel provides shampoo and a very small soap tablet, they did not provide shower gel - so take your own.
The outdoor pool is not heated and at this time of the year was very cold. The indoor pool is quite small and got very busy at times when the weather was not so sunny. Occasionally the chlorination was overwhelming.
Sa Coma was very quiet and not much else going on, with other hotels not open as yet. Cala Millor, a 6eu taxi ride, is a bigger resort, with many more shops and attractions. There is a road train which runs between the two resorts, but at 3.75eu each, was more expensive than the excellent taxi service and runs every hour (though not always on time).

Our grandchildren enjoyed the hired social cycles, which were about 6-8eur an hour. Very good value, as you could sit at an outside bar overlooking the sea with a drink and let the children pedal along the pedestrianised promenade quite safely. Also the nearby crazy golf was a big hit. They have 3 different 18 hole courses to go round for about 5eu each.

The hotel provided a hairdryer in the bathroom. You can pay 12eur per week plus 10eur refundable deposit for the key to the room safe, and also hire pool towels if you don't want to bring your own.

If you are looking for a quiet location, I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would look out for the HIP chain to use again in the future.

Room Tip: In the busy season, it might be better to avoid a room directly above the bar area, or at least have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Came in on late flight, hotel about an hour from airport in taxi which cost €85. When we arrived they had put up a cold meal in the dinning room, which we appreciated.
Food and drink excellent on A/I deal. Hotel is spotless, they never stop cleaning!
Staff are very friendly and helpful, did not think much of the entertainment but to be honest it's not that important to us. Location close to beach, shops and bars. We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank martsonshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel was lovely, staff were forever cleaning, rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. We had a room with a balcony & could actually see the sea from our bed. Beautiful. Staff were excellent, especially Rosa in the restaurant. She was always smiling & chatty. My husband loved the choice of food. Unfortunately if you are vegetarian, the food is not that varied - pasta & salad for lunch and dinner. I like both pasta & salad, but not twice a day every day. Plus, on two occasions the pasta sauce had tuna in it, ham one night, spaghetti bolognese for one meal and cannelonni another time - hardly vegetarian. One evening there were some lovely looking sauted veg - unfortunately they were being cooked on the same griddle as the meat! The fried eggs for breakfast were also cooked on the same griddle as the sausage etc. My husband asked if they could maybe do a jacket potato for me just for something hot for a change. They hadn't a clue what he meant. I asked at reception if they could cook anything different as I was vegetarian. The reply was that the salad is always varied. I said "Yes, that's fine, but I would like some hot food to eat." I was told that they did not do anything special for vegetarians.
The filters in the outside pool were not working, so it was dirty - there were cockroaches at the bottom.
The entertainment staff, Boy & Roy, were excellent. Always friendly, remembered people's names & got involved with both adults & kids.
There were plenty of sunbeds.
At night the bar staff were excellent, coming round every few minutes to make sure we had drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a se view with balcony. Lovely to wake up in a morning with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisbould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was amazing the food was great and the staff were lovely :) i would advise this hotel to anyone with kids especially kids aged 3-9. The entertainment wasn't amazing but we really liked the 2 boys who ran it, Roy and Boy. It's a great atmosphere and everyone is friendly. The area has plenty to do and we all loved it (might come again!!!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.5 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.6 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Som Siurell
Som Siurell
#16 of 28 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
5.9 km away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#1 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: $88 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Marfil Playa, a 4-star all-inclusive hotel in Sa Coma, Majorca with an indoor and outdoor pool and stunning views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing