We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located and peaceful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2017

My wife and I decided to get away for a week in Deia and chose Hoposa Costa d’Or primarily due to the good Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is wonderfully located in Llucalcari, about 1.5 miles out of Deia, situated on a hillside with glorious views of both the sea and the surrounding mountains. This scenery is one of the hotels charms and can be enjoyed whether looking out from the pool, restaurant or most of the rooms. Our daily ‘sundowners’ looking at the beautiful sunsets from the tables by the pool was a memorable highlight.

Our welcome on arrival was very warm and friendly (the glass of chilled Cava was a lovely touch), and this level of attentive and personal service continued throughout our stay by all the staff. We had booked a Mountain View room and were given room 110 which overlooked the restaurant and bar area. There was certainly no sign of any mountain from our window. However, the lack of view was more than made up for the size of both the bedroom and bathroom. Additionally, given its position, there were no adjacent rooms so it was very quiet with minimal noise from outside. The room was warmly decorated, comfortable and the spacious bathroom had a good walk in shower. One small gripe was that unlike many other similar hotels no complimentary water was provided at night and at €2.7 for a small 50cl bottle it became very expensive though out our stay.

The pool area was clean, well maintained and had ample (and very comfortable) sun loungers, again with that great view of the surrounding area. Despite the hotel information stating that ‘sun lounger bagging’ was strictly not allowed it seemed to be pretty much par for the course so the usual early morning ‘towel arrangers’ were definitely in evidence. There is a tennis court and a very small gym (with a running/cycling machines and a variety of weights).

The buffet breakfasts were extensive and varied with great local produce. The food in the hotel’s restaurant was of a high quality with daily specials and a good selection of wine. We had some lovely meals, but I also would agree with others comments that it was pricey and certainly drained the finances over the week. One negative point is that the policy is for men to wear long trousers at dinner, which in 34 degree heat is not exactly ideal. I think some were unprepared so they wore jeans (which can look scruffier than smart shorts anyway), while half seem to sensibly ignore the rule.

As far as outings were concerned we did walk into Deia twice in the evenings for meals (we didn’t hire a car) and it’s about a 35min on a narrow, winding road with the 1st 20mins being without a path. There are only 2 Taxi’s in Deia and we luckily got one on our 1st trip back to the hotel. On the 2nd trip we weren’t so lucky and, although there was not much traffic, it didn’t feel too safe at night, even though we had brought a torch (do bring one if you’re attempting this!). The bus stop is right outside the hotel and is meant to be very proficient but the last bus is pretty early in the evening. We also walked to Robert Graves house (about 20mins from hotel) and the coastal path to Cala Deia beach (a lovely walk and only about 45mins). We’d love to return away from hot summer months to do some hiking as the trails looked wonderful.

Overall Costa d’Or is a beautifully located hotel with the most amazing sunsets, perfect for a relaxing break or as a base to explore (or hike/cycle) the surrounding area. The staff are friendly and service is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoposa H, Director General at Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear guest,

FIrst of all I would like to thank you for choosing us and spend few minutes to let your opinion our hotel, this always help us to improve.

We are happy to know you felt confortanle here at the Hoposa COsta D'or. And thank you for the valuable insights as they help us to improve our product and services. Our staff works very hard trying to make our costumer's saty nicer.

Thank you again for beeing our guest and thank you for sharing your positive experience with other Tripadvisor readers.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Deia about 5 or 6 times now and, without doubt, this is the best hotel we have stayed in.

Great rooms, excellent views and fantastic pool/terrace. The breakfast was really nice with a relaxing atmosphere overlooking the Mediterranean.

The staff were really polite and friendly, and helped us on anything we needed.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoposa H, Director General at Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Hoposa COsta D'Or. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to mantain and indeed, where necessay improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you as our guest again

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Nice and friendly people, helpful from the beginning. Was there with my best friends and didn't care so much about a room view. Still my room was generous in proportion as well as the bathroom. The food was nice. Mediterranean style. On the summer, I just like simplicity and freshness. I could even wish more simplicity for the lunch. The breakfast was ok, still average for an hotel of this price range. I really liked the musical evening with classical Spanish guitar while enjoying the beautiful sunset. We did som hiking from the hotel down to the sea. The nature is untouched and stunning. I spend a wonderful week there. Without any noise pollution, far from the crowd. A place to be recommended

Room Tip: Choose the rooms closest to the see ( after the pool) with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lodgatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoposa H, Director General at Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.It is our pleasure to hear your good reviews.

We're delighted to know that yourself and your friends enjoyed your visit. We truly appreciate your suggestions in helping us to improve our service.

We hope to see you soon again on your next visit!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Food excellent but not cheap. Service very friendly and prompt. Situation beautiful - many rooms have sea view; swimming pool area well kept. Path to beach a bit tricky at the bottom end - some scrambling over rocks to get there - but a wonderful place to swim. Better to have a car, though we managed with public transport and taxi, though you need to be aware that they are not as numerous as one may think in a holiday area and the last bus leaves quite early if you are eating elsewhere. Walk to Deia not far, but mostly no pavement on a busyish, narrow road.
Reception staff were usually really helpful, but not when we were trying to book a boat trip - we tried to do this ourselves, but unsuccessfully.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank KathMpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoposa H, Director General at Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank so much for share with us your opinion about your recently stay at the Costa D'Or Hotel.

We are very grateful to know that you enjoyed your holidays. We will take your comments in consideration to improve our level of service.

Best regards from sunny Deià.

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

First of all this is a great location. The main building looks to have been renovated, but the Hotel room 121 , that we stayed in needs an update. The bathroom was great but the main room let its down with very dated interior, and although there was no aircon, a ceiling fan would have been great. The view was second to none, room size was fine.

now our list of disappointments. This hotel is expensive for what it is. It is so over priced its just not funny, what the hotel website said the room was worth was so far off reality. Just because we are in Mallorca , it doesn't give a license to charge ridiculous prices, yes we accepted the price, but the hotels here need to learn something from the rest of europe, or at least meet the same standards. I think carefully before I write anything negative, because the Hotel staff were doing as well as they could, but often I find they get let down by large chain mentality.

One really cheeky and huge disappointment is we were charged 20 euros for beach towels we didn't even use, at the room rate we paid this should have been included.

This was an adult only hotel, and yet the pool closed at 1900.... come on , its Spain, and its 35 degrees celsius at night, as an adult hotel there should be at least the possibility to use the pool, clearly a quiet reminder to be respectful to other guests with noise consideration could work. This is not the sort of Hotel that you would party at, its a very quiet location with quiet guests.

We dined in the restaurant , we shouldn't have, the food was acceptable , if not old fashioned and boring , but the service was prompt and not over powering. Make the effort to go to Deia for more options.

Breakfast..... this is the first time I have ever seen chicken nuggets on a breakfast buffet. I will leave it at that.

I would say this is not a luxury hotel , unless you are used to staying at Motel 6, I think they have some serious work to do to be considered Luxury, and they need to look at their pricing schedule .

Having said that the location was great, and my company was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoposa H, Director General at Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your email concerning your stay in our Hotel Hoposa Costa D’Or.

We value your opinion on what we are doing well, and what we could improve. We regret to hear in this occasion that we didnt live up to your expectations Please accept our apologies for the impression you got.

Please take note that the air condioning is working properly in all the rooms (our guests can contact 24 hours the reception to assist). About pool towels, just comment you that are free of charge. In case of lost we charge 10 Euros per towel. On the other hand, inform you that the quality of the food and the maintenance facilities are our top priority.

The Staff work hard to create a lovely ambience throughout the hotel, it is good to their efforts were appreciated, thank you for you kind recommendation.

Hoping that we will be able to regain your trust in our company and looking forward to hosting you soon again,

We remain with kind regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deia
2.2 km away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#3 of 7 in Deia
498 reviews
1.8 km away
Belmond La Residencia
1.8 km away
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
#5 of 7 in Deia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel des Puig
Hotel des Puig
#4 of 7 in Deia
159 reviews
29.3 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
25.1 km away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#6 of 180 in Calvia
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel

Address: Calle Lluc Alcari s/n, 07179 Deia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Deia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Price Range: $227 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa d Or
Hoposa Costa D'Or Hotel Deia, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing