We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,874)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveller rating
458
705
474
132
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
705
474
132
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala granstair liftheated poolsaladself cateringgreat holidayplenty of choicesea viewreception staffmain bara stones throwself servicestayed all inclusivesnack barall inclusive foodremote controlsoft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

the food
I am gluten intolerant, and I value well cooked local food. the food here was fantastic.The best I`ve had in a hotel on holiday. The staff in the restaurant, in fact all f=through the hotel were helpful and friendly. i spoke to the chef about not being able to eat gluten and he said that they had gluten free cereal for breakfast, also bread and cake at breakfast. in addition they had gluten free pasta and also they could do gluten free pizza. he then said that if i wanted any of the meat of fish dishes that had gluten it he would make me a a gluten free version. He was as good as his word, not only that but the gluten free bread and cake was better than any you can buy in Britain, there was a good choice of food so those who wanted to eat pizza an chips could and those that wanted to eat local food could. It was brilliant.
The room was large, very clean and comfortable, The hotel was immaculate. The alcohol including the wine was good, The location was perfect and the resort was clean pretty and friendly. There were two bars, one near the pool had snacks all dy and the other was a quieter adult bar. I really could not fault the place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank PrestonDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear PrestonDee,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff and especially to our chef. We are happy to know that he could help you to eat food without gluten. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel. If you have any special wishes for a return visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stayed here the week leading up to Easter in the hotel part and everything was just about average, i upgraded from half board to AL once there as there was a special offer on and most of the resort was not open as it was too early in the season. There are AL stations to help yourself to soft drinks, tea/coffee, wine and beer but you need to show a card at the bar for spirits, also there are morning and afternoon snacks available, take note though that the drinks end at 23.00 and you then have to pay. The food was average and most dishes were on the cold side and not to everyone's choice, also apart from plenty of salad stuff there wasn't enough choice in the main dishes. The hotel was clean and the staff were very pleasant, especially Damien and Suni in the restaurant.One of the main bug bears with guests was the tooing and froing between the 2 main buildings for the bar and the restaurant, also the nighttime entertainment was very poor with just bingo and karaoke on. There are about 4 pools around the site but only 2 were open due to the time of year and the one that is heated was packed and the sundecks aren't big enough to accommodate al the guests that want to sit out that is probably because there is direct access to the lovely safe, sandy beach. All in all i had a nice early season break and i'm sure it is totally different when the season gets underway and the bars, restaurants and shops around the resort are fully open.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear steve w,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. You mention the cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff, especially Damian and Suni in the restaurant. we will be passing on your praises to them. We are pleased that you enjoyed a nice early season break and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel. If you have any special wishes for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We had a very enjoyable time a couple of years ago, great facilities, food good and staff lovely. We have booked again for May this year, all inclusive in a studio but this time we are bringing our 15 month grandson. What I need to know is if there is a fridge in the studios for the babies milk.
Thank you in advance.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
13  Thank susiewoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear susiewoosy,
we are glad to know that you will be returning to our hotel in May. There is a fridge in the studios. We are looking forward to seeing you and your grandson and remain with kindest regards
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Gisela Welp
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Cala Gran is great value for money, we always get a great deal.. You get what you pay for, the hotel is clean, bedrooms basic but comfortable, nice pool and good food (and plenty of it throughout the day). For the price, you cannot fault this place. We have visited with family a few times.. Great all inclusive, 2 mins from the beach and about 20 mins walk from the beautiful marina. If you’d like a short break or a last minute beach holiday, cheap and cheerful, I would definitely recommend the Cala Gran. Staff friendly also! A few pools to choose from. Great for families. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Kelly M.
we thank you for your very kind review and are pleased to know that once again you enjoyed your holiday with us. We will be passing on your praises to our staff. We thank you for your recommendation and are looking forward to your next visit. Please write to: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com if you have any special wishes for your next accommodation.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Visited the hotel along with close family to rest for a short break during half term. The hotel although large is spread across two sites joined by a bridge. The rooms were basic but comfortable. In need of a update soon hopefully. The meals were plentiful but lots of the same things. All inclusive was the usual plastic cup brigade. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was swift

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank carolcharters1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear carolcharters1966,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you once again with us here. If you have any special wishes for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews