We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
526
146
24
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
146
24
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building upgraded to a suite separate building tennis courts pool area breakfast buffet is excellent hotel terrace bar small play area for children amazing choice star hotel half board quiet location room safe spa facilities sun loungers long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Cala Millor was a bit soulless, and the position of the hotel is not on the sea, but we found it very quiet, comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our rooms were very relaxing, and it was a nice place to come back to after a hard days golf!
The dining room was very good indeed, and we all throughly enjoyed the Gala evening on the Friday starting with the delicious Prosecco and canapés.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bally46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion H, Manager at Hipotels Hipocampo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Dear Bally46,

We would like to thank you for your fantastic review about Hipocampo Palace and Spa in this website Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location and that our team was helpful and professional. We are more than happy to see that you liked our pool facilities and that the breakfast of our hotel fulfilled your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Our warmest regards,

María Jesús Ovejero
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We loved our stay here at the Hipocampo Palace, although we do have a few grumbles. On arrival we were the only guests not offered champagne as a welcome, we were also not given the room request we had asked for (we emailed the hotel directly when we booked a good few months before we arrived and were told our request had been taken note of) and also the requirement for trousers on men for dinner. When we brought these issues up with manager we got a less than satisfactory response and this was disappointing. With regards to the champagne he said the staff must have been busy - in our opinion a 5* hotel should treat all customers as equal despite how busy they may be and by the time our check in had been completed we were the only guests waiting there, I don't know whether our nationality played a part in this. With regards to the evening meal, my partner wore smart chino style shorts which have been acceptable in other 5* establishments but we were advised no trousers, no food! We were not advised that trousers were essential and the manager felt he was not responsible for making the tour operators aware of this so just ensure if you are going to eat in the restaurant trousers are a must in this particular hotel.
I personally feel that the towels and robes have had their day, as a 5* resort you would expect nice soft toweling etc but the towels and dressing gowns were very dry and old, this was a shame but not a big deal.
The bath was very difficult to use with a child due to the glass shower screen, this is a family friendly hotel so things like this should be thought about.

The beds were singles pushed together and made up separately, this was a shame we feel they should be offering double beds.

The good bits: We booked a suite and it was spacious and very clean, the cleaners work very hard. We ordered a cot for our little boy and they left a small toy which was lovely and my little boy has brought it home, the staff and all the guests were great with our son and the staff always made an effort to smile and laugh with him which was great. Everyday our table was made up with a high chair, kids plate, bowl and cutlery set which was a nice touch as we could just come in and sit down without worrying about finding a suitable table etc....it worked really well. you have the same table every night for dinner and breakfast you can sit anywhere but I noticed most people chose their dinner tables. There were only a handful of infants there and we were grouped together for meals, which again I felt was nice.

The pool area is gorgeous and spacious, as everyone else has said there is no reserving sunbeds before 09.30 and there are always plenty available. It always looked clean although the kids pool didn't seem to be cleaned and there was a lot of dirt on the bottom so this could be checked more regularly.

The food was amazing and hats off to the chefs, especially the evening chefs on the grill - the food was cooked to perfection and so tasty. They remember your orders after a few days which is nice.Both morning and evening selection of food was fantastic and you just cant complain about that at all. Anything you could want was available.

WiFI was available throughout the hotel and the reception worked well all week for us.

Cala Millor doesn't have a lot going on but we enjoyed the walks along the sea front each morning. There are a lot of Spar shops!!

The clientele is mainly German but we met some lovely families/groups who were always friendly towards us and our son, they made a real effort with us.

We had a fantastic holiday and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha123629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion H, General Manager at Hipotels Hipocampo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear Samantha123629,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and the members of Tripadvisor your point of view about your stay at Hipocampo Palace and Spa.

We are more than glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations at Mallorca. We have taken note of everything mentioned in your review and we really appreciate your constructive feedback.

We hope to see you back soon, as it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

María Jesús Ovejero
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Asked for a sea view suite, and that is just about what we got (2302). However no-one told us that as the hotel is on 'Row Two' we would be looking out on to palm trees. Morning sun until 11.30. Suite was lovely, very fresh and scrupulously clean, in spite of it being near the end of the season. Nice SK bed, with a 'pillow menu' !!, two FS 48" TV's, with good reception of English progs. Nice very clean bathroom, with separate toilet. Shower in bath. The glass shower screen looks as though a disaster will happen some day, esp with kids. It has to swing outwards to enter, and when it does it clashes with the metal door knob and the metal towel rail - but it looks nice !!. The food in the dining room is spectacular with tasty titbits on all the various buffet counters. Some very nice touches, like kiddies crockery in bright colours. Chefs, cooks and waiters are all lovely, helpful, willing and with just enough humour. In fact this is the case for all the staff, who are lovely. The pool is set in large gardens, with plenty of loungers, and lots of space. Easy - 'baggying' of sunbeds eliminated, why cannot other hotels do that?.. Pool restaurant / cafe is adjacent to the pool, not too expensive €12.50 for an Orange juice, a small beer and a Club sandwich and chips. easily enough for two. 4/5 bars of WIFI available everywhere, and fast. The beach is nice clean white(ish) sand, and stretches for a mile or so. Plenty of room, and if you walk a bit there are plenty of food outlets, although you are unlikely to want much. Walking the other way, to the south gets you onto the rougher ground, and a nice walk to the 'Castle', where you can get refreshments. The Solar powered train goes from adjacent to the hotel (stop 4) and you can go to stop 6 at Sa Coma, to make a round walk up to the castle and back to Cala Millor. Shopping is very local to the hotel, Leave the hotel and head North up Carrer s'Estanyol. Just keep going along the same street onto Avunguda Cristofol Colom. There are dozens of boutiques, shops and cafe, some quite high class. A very useful (free) Android App is 'Here Maps'. Download in UK on fast WIFI and get the Spain/Balearic's map. Switch on 'Location' on your mobile, ensure 'Roaming' is off, and you will never get lost, and its all free - No Ads. Great hol, great hotel, great staff, shame about the position.

Room Tip: As always - you get what you pay for
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JJYYFSEYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion H, General Manager at Hipotels Hipocampo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear MalsHolidays,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hipocampo Palace and Spa hotel and for taking the time to write your review here on TripAdvisor.

We love hearing from guests that have enjoyed our hotel, and it is more than a pleasure to see that our facilities and services fulfilled your expectations. Our aim is to create a truly memorable stay, so we are glad to read your compliments towards our staff.

Once again, thank you very much for your excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hipocampo Palace and Spa in the very near future.

Best regards from Mallorca

María Jesús Ovejero
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Cala Millor isn't anything special, or bad for that matter, but it's a good place to go for warm weather and even better if you pick a good resort hotel to look after you. This is the one we think. It's very laid back but everything seems to work well. breakfast buffet is excellent and although on BandB we ate idinner here one night and it was very good food and value. Reception and bar staff very helpful and friendly, incredible, clean lovely pool and the indoor one is handy too. The suite we booked was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a huge balcony area.
One small improvement would be to revamp the method for terrace seating at breakfast. The waiting staff don't clear for a very long time and pretend they don't know if the table is occupied or not as their excuse for slowness. Perhaps have a little table sign and tell the staff to clear tables which are free.
We had a lovely rat and felt very refreshed!

Stayed: September 2015
3  Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion H, General Manager at Hipotels Hipocampo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Dear Lynne J,

We would like to thank you for your fantastic review about Hipocampo Palace and Spa.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location and that our team was helpful and professional. We are more than happy to see that you liked our pool facilities and that the breakfast of our hotel fulfilled your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Our warmest regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This Hotel definitely lived up to its name, every facility you would need on a holiday was there. The food was absolutely superb and being a buffet the choices were amazing. The only downside was the hotel has two parts and in the part we were in you couldn't get a drink or beverage once the pool bar closed at around 5.30, you had to go across to the main building but that said e erything else was perfect.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion H, General Manager at Hipotels Hipocampo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Dear Jill B,

We would like to thank you for your nice review. All the Hipocampo Palace and Spa team works very hard to create such a good memories like yours. Our main goal is that our guests feel comfortable and have the opportunity to exceed our customers’ expectations.


We hope to see you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Andres Gili
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews