We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Village Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Arcos de la Almona

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Dining area
Kitchen
Living area
Almona Street
Frigiiana Old Village views
Zacatin Street
Frigiliana Church at night
Callejon de las Animas, street
Church Square
Balcon de Europa in Nerja
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FFRacer
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Village Apartment”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the apartment for two weeks over the recent 3-cultures festival.

The apartment is in a great location, very central, but not at all noisy - indeed unlike many parts of the village it is very quiet at night.

The roof terrace is very large for a village apartment, with two tables, a shaded area and sunbeds. The terrace is attractively planted and entirely private and the (large) plunge pool is almost unique for the village - and very welcome as it can be very hot. The terrace offers great views over the northern part of the village and the hills beyond.

Inside the apartment is cosy, decorated in a traditional and comfortable manner and is well equipped - we cooked either lunch or dinner most days. However, there are dozens of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

There are plenty of windows to allow a breeze - but aircon is a back-up if required - which we rarely needed.

The immediate surroundings are picturesque, with the building clustered with some of the village's prettier houses. Access is via a short but steepish cobbled path, but unlike many village streets, you can drive almost to the property to unload. We rented the garage parking that is available (a minute's walk away) and found it very useful as the village can be busy and the on-street parking is unpredictable, especially when events are on.

As others have said, the owners and their family are genuinely friendly and extremely helpful if required, but otherwise are not intrusive.

In addition, Snoopy the cat patrols the lane outside keeping other village cats away !

The arrival pack is generous. There are now so many small supermarkets within the village that you don't have to walk more than a few minutes to get most provisions.

We have been visiting Frigiliana for over 10 years and have stayed in almost every type of property available. This apartment, with the large terrace and pool is one of the best, is great for couples who like to enjoy the sun and we would very strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Dear guest, dear friends:
We are very happy with your review. For us is very important and we appreciate your opinion, special when you stay in Frigiliana for 10 years, and for the first time with us you love Arcos de la Almona.
You are always welcome, and thank you very much for your help ( excellent gardeners!) in safe our plants.
Happy see you soon, and take good care.
With our frienship
Rosario, Javier and children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Dear guest friends:
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoy your holidays with us in our ,Arcos de la Almona. You are excellents guest, and you are welcome always. Wish see you here in the future, and soon. Thank you very much again and we send our love and friendship.
Sincerelly
Rosario, Javier and children
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mandyloga...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our holiday at Arcos de la Almona in Frigiliana owned by Javier and Rosario and what an amazing place it was. Arcos de la Almona more than lived up to our expectations the accommodation was lovely and clean and traditionally Spanish. It was spacious light and airy plus it was well equipped for two people self catering. The roof terrace was absolutely fantastic and I doubt any photo will capture what an amazing and beautiful view it really is. Again amazingly clean with an eye for detail, lovely plants, seating area in the shade and a table for two in at which you can enjoy alfresco dining whilst admiring the view. The old quarter of Frigiliana is a five minute walk from the property. Beautiful cobbled lanes all decorated will colorful pots and plants and an array of interesting small shops and eateries. We had a meal in the church square at the larger of the two street restaurants and the food was amazing and plentiful. I can highly recommend Arcos de la Almona and your hosts Javier and Rosario they are truly lovely people and will make you feel very welcome. Thank you Javier and Rosario for a lovely holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Dear guest / friends:
Thank you very much, for your lovely review. This is the best for still work in our business for offert the best possible holidays at our guest. Thank you very much, and you know, you are welcome alwais and anytime in all our houses. We wish all the best and happy see you very soon. Take care.
With our friendship
Rosario, Javier and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
524dianee
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed here twice now and have loved each visit. It is a cosy well equipped and homely apartment with so many added extras and so much thought given to guests and their needs for a week away. We have got to know Javier and Rosario over the past ten years having also stayed in Hazilla De Raya with our sons ( amazing ) and El Torin ( equally as amazing ) both with fantastic amenities, pools and views. Javier and Rosario are helpful without being intrusive and will do everything to make your stay in Frigillana a special one.
Arcos has a lovely outside space, a welcome plunge pool, built in barbie and comfy sun loungers, all perfect for a relaxing holiday. We are hoping to stay in Dachita another of the villas owned by Javier and Rosario in the next year or two and know that will will receive a warm welcome. Would recommend Arcos, great for a couple wanting a self catering apartment within walking distance to some very good bars and restaurants in beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside Space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Our dear friends:
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We apreciate this, same your friendship. Is a pleasure know our fuest and friends enjoy every time the stay in our houses. The best in our business of course is our guest. Is for this we still happy in our work every day, and with persons same you, is more easy our service. We are very happy see you next year. You know you are welcome always and anytime.
We wish all the best dor you both, and all the family.
All our love
Rosario, Javier and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Argos de la Almona is a lovely apartment located in the quieter part of Frigilliana. It has everything you need for a relaxing stay including a beautiful roof top garden complete with plunge pool. We loved sitting there in the evening watching the stunning sunsets over the nearby mountains. Rosario had kindly sorted a welcome pack for us which was most thoughtful. If you are hiring a car we recommend using the parking spot provided with the apartment (at extra charge) as parking is at a premium in the village. There are plenty of restaurants and mini-supermarkets within walking distance. We are looking forward to returning again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Dear guest:
We are very happy your stay in our house is really nice for you. Thank you for choose our house for enjoy your holidays. Is a pleasure for us see again soon. You are welcome always. Take good care and thank you again.
Best wishes
Rosario and Javier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing