We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but beware of the timeshare (fraction)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Reviewed 13 March 2012

To say I was a sceptic is an understatement, however I believe the negatives and the positives should be known before you go on your "FREE holiday". Somehow I won a free week to Club La Costa Fuengorola. The service and information I was given before our trip was superb and certainly took away any fears that we had and we went to resort with an open mind. THIS IS THE IMPORTANT BIT ! Do not buy their FRACTION at any price or you will live to regret it ! There are far better deals on the Internet at a FRACTION of their price. The resort itself is fantastic....clean, well managed and we really enjoyed our FREE hospitality. We were not pestered in any way to buy anything but we were aware that we needed to go on a presentation which I believe is fair enough. We were told this presentation would include lunch and would last approx 2 hours. A cup of tea and 5 tuna sarnies later, we were whisked off by our HOST who incidentally was very nice and taken down after a tour of the lavish 5 star accommodation with hot tubs, plasma TVs etc to the detention room. It's a purpose built building with lavish surroundings and many smug reps who look as though they have just fallen out of Burtons window. We looked at numerous videos on really nice TVs and flicked through a few well placed brochures. Even I, the Mother of sceptics was starting to get drawn in on the thought of really cheap holidays anywhere in the world at a FRACTION of high street prices....thank god I did not have that really nice cocktail before the meeting as I probably would still be there mulling over the deal of all deals ! We came down to the final push after being told this is a once off offer, never to be repeated and you will never be asked again. Here it was "showdown"....we waited in anticipation and on the press of the return key, there it was, 19 years of cheap holidays, luxury accommodation in the finest places and all for.....£12,995 + £599.00 every year for 19 years and a further £699.00 admin fee. Their was one final incentive but we had to say yes or no there and then as we would never be asked again, we could finance the deal on an amazing rate of 18% APR for the next 180 months (15 years), however, but don't tell anyone else, they were also prepared to give 0% for the 1st 10 months....we were stunned, deal or no deal, quick we need to give an answer ! I did the Maths quick in my head, I even pulled out my iPhone to use the calculator as the excitement had clowded my judgement at this point. I couldn't decide, however the numbers were coming into my head, approx 38k over 15 years for the finance, a further 12k ish in my head over 19 years for the maintenance of something I never own ! Final answer NO !

In fairness after the 5 hour presentation, we were never pestered again.
Thank you Club la Costa for our really nice FREE holiday !

One final point, do not get sucked in by cheap car hire at Malaga airport as its not cheap.
The reason why is they all have a full tank empty tank policy.
It basically means they fill the car full of fuel (well they don't really) when you collect it.
They then inflate the price per litre and charge your card there and then the full price of the tank.
They tell you to bring the car back empty.
I defy anyone who can burn off 900km of fuel without visiting Portugal and go back with an empty tank.
Most people go back with at least half a tank (50 euros) and they then sell on to the next happy punter.

I hope this post has been useful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
646  Thank Toonarmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 833 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our accommodation was adequate, rather tired and dated but clean. We attended the hard sell and decided to sign up as we were assured we would be able to stay in 5* accommodation anywhere in the world (by joining RCI) for £210 per week. My husband and I had numerous questions prepared and didn't enter into this lightly. Both of us work in education therefore only able to holiday during the school holidays. This was not seen as any sort of problem, it seemed too good to be true. Four months later it is a different story, we are unable to find any availability in 5* accommodation during the school summer break unless we want Hungary or Sweden and prices are certainly not the £210 per week. Contact is by telephoning Spain, our case has been investigated but they say they have no case to answer which we dispute. Were we stupid - most certainly. In order to book a holiday this summer it is looking likely I will be back on Owners Direct.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
51  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent a week at Club La Costa in february/march 2012. After having our rental car robbed in the pretty town of Mijas (be aware!) on our way to the resort, we spent our first two days in contact with our insurance company and the Policia Nacional in Fuengirola. However, we got splendid help from the receptionists on the resort. Thank you!
We stayed at the San Diego Suites, a nice part of the huge resort, though not the best. We had a nice apartment (about 60 m2) and it had all we needed of space and technical appliances.
Nice places to visit if you have a (rental) car: Ronda and Setenil de las Bodegas.
Back to the heading: Why not 5 stars?
- Lack of wifi in the apartment, but available free in restaurant and reception
- Way too high sound level in the restaurant after 20:30 (live entertainment)
- Busy road (Autovia) just next to the beach. It had tunnels (height 1,75 mtrs) which we had to use to pass.
- The resort itself is very nice and some places really luxurious, but we lacked a nice picturesque town nearby to go to for eating out

Room Tip: Try the Santa Cruz suites for very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Norwegian_couple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked for five nights via alpharooms for a one bedded apartment at Marina Del Sol. We had stayed here before on a RCI exchange some twelve years ago, so were familiar with the complex. Having said that there has been a lot of building work done since that time and the site has been really developed. The newer parts being the Califonia development which all appeared to be very nice.
We checked in early and only had to wait a short time before being allocated our apartment. The receptionist was exceedingly helpful.
Our unit was quite old and very small, although probably sold as a 4 person unit, I would hate to be there with more than two. The Unit was clean, the bed linen clean but quite worn, the towels were clean and sufficient. There was washing up liquid supplied and a bar of soap, a fridge, four ring hob and microwave, a sink unit with no draining board, and no working surface other than the top of the hob!! The kitchen was well equiped and even had a teapot, mugs or cups, an electric mixer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, certainly no complaints on the equipment provided.
The living room kitchen was tiny one two seater sofa bed, freestanding display unit with TV and DVD, and music system. one coffee table and a poufee, (this all made it very croweded).
Down one side was the kitchen unit and wardrobe. The patio doors led out onto a small balcony with table and four plastic chairs, this balcony did not get the sun but the view was lovely over the bay, and castle.
Bathroom was clean with a bath with shower over, (hot water was a bit hit and miss) wash basin, W.C. and a top loader washing machine, definately one person at a time in this space!
Bedroom had a double bed wardrobe bedside tables, and some shelves and a safe, for which we were not charged, well done CLC!!
The unit was on the first floor, and entrance from the front was directly onto a tiled staircase with no handrail, not the safest to go up and down, but treat with care and all is well.
The shops near reception and the resturant in the bar are expensive, but there is a further shop on the road down to the beach which is not too expensive, and El Tajo seems not to belong to CLC although near reception, does a nice meal and not priced over the top.
The drinks in the bar on site are expensive and entertainment well, not to my taste, but try to keep an open mind.
We went to the welcome meeting, which is all about trips they wish to sell you, and little about how to get anywhere locally, but they do have a free raffle and we won a pack of three bottles of wine!!!
It is easy enough to leave the site via the beach exit and walk a short distance down the road to the bus stops to go either into Marbella or the local town. It is also quite a nice easy flat walk to Fuengerola a fare distant but as a non fit old pensioner I was well able to do the walk.
Lots of eating places in the town at very reasonable prices. It is only 4 Euros return on the train into Malaga, with a station in the middle of town.

CLC is a bit hilly and not for anyone with walking difficulties, our view was that it had gone down hill around the Marina Del Sol section and was in need of TLC. Think they had concentrated on the other newer areas. The bar next to the swimming pool was never very busy in the evenings, possibly the time or year or the prices. The swimming pool was heated, but seemed to be attracting a lot of quite noisey children, don't know why they were not at school half term was the week before. There is an entainments team on site, but as we never joined in I cannot comment.
We were not approached for a time share talk, so cannot comment on this, but have been subject in the past, it really is a day out of ones holiday.
All in all, this was a fair stop over for the price we paid, the staff were helpful, we could park on site free of charge, and the weather was sunny and nice in spite of a cold wind. We quite enjoyed our stay at CLC, but this in the main part is due to the lovely fellow holidayers that we meet.

Room Tip: Ask for somewhere with sun if travelling in the winter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Silverheadskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were offered a really cheap week at CLC in return for a presentation re their holiday bond scheme - seemed like a really good deal.
Everything went well - Monarch flIghts from Birmingham at good times, a really cheap car hire deal, drive to CLC OK, reception at CLC very efficient, apartment very well equipped and clean.
The staff throughout the resort were always helpful. It is well worth asking for help at reception, we always got a good response.
The presentation on the Monday was very long, partly because we were fairly interested, lasting from pick up at 0950 to 1620. I suggest that you make the most of the free breakfast at the beginning and take a list of all your holidays over the last 3 years with costing on accommodation, it could save you a lot of time. Although it was a long presentation we didn't feel too pressured and eventually declined. We did have another visit the next morning at our apartment to check we hadn't changed our minds but again no real hard sell.
Being February not all the facilities were open but there was always a restaurant available although they were not cheap. We found El Tajo the best value. Perhaps we should have gone into Fuengerola for a meal but then I couldn't have the Rioja. The supermarket at the bottom of the site is quite adequate but there is a very big shopping mall in Fuengerola which is easy to get to by car or bus.
The complex is a bit out of anywhere so walking into town is a bit of a trek.
We found the car useful and made trips to Ronda in the mountains (really wonderful views), Marbella and Granada (170 kilometres but the Alhambra is fantastic - reception at CLC booked tickets for us the day before).
If you do get an offer we would recommend you take it but be prepared for a long session.

Room Tip: Try for the San Diego Suites or, even better, an owners' suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Hasdrubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
5.5 km away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
8.9 km away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,341 reviews
7 km away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 km away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,598 reviews
8.5 km away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
7.4 km away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range: $56 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CLC Club La Costa World 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Mijas, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing