We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
436
23
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
23
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubmanor housedouro valleytennis courtsbreakfast and dinnerthe main housedeluxe roomdining roomlarge bathroomhonor systemtwo floorstable tennisfood and wineboth nightsselection of local wineshonesty barolive trees
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

It is a house, it is a home. There are paying guests. Molly and Cookie practice a polite, but studied, indifference to their guests, there, present, but not intrusive. One comes and goes, walking, driving or staying put, gently imbibing Port Wine, occasionally dipping a toe or more in the pool. There is a billiards table for the fit and active even a tennis court for those who feel the need to work off some of their excellent breakfast and make room for the wonderful dinner yet to come.
Our thanks to our hostesses for their gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: Whichever room you get will be delightful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alihs00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and writing such a pleasant review.
We all enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you some time again in Chanceleiros.
Ursula and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Hard to find the words to describe this amazing piece of the Douro Valley. Don't delay , just book in now!! From the accomodation , to the scenery , to the service and the pool, we couldn't fault a thing. Our host and her staff made the experience complete.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit to Chanceleiros and writing such a pleasant review about us.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Just an amazing place to stay. Wonderful, warm and helpful staff, amazing food, and a fantastic location.
Had the fortune to spend an extended weekend. An idilic and relaxing experience. Every need was catered for and every detail though of in advance by a professional and friendly staff. Very well run hotel with large and comfortable rooms.
After a great breakfast on a patio with an amazing view, spent time relaxing between the pool and the jacuzzi. Later a short walk to a great nearby winery for a tour and port tasting.
Would not hesitate to recommend to friends (which I have already done) and to stay again as soon as I have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and taking the time to write such pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again in Chanceleiros.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Our stay at the Casa, with its breathtaking views and lovingly maintained property, was like a dream. Our room with terrace, complete with grape vines ( a big deal for wine lovers like us) overlooking the Douro Vally was spacious and well appointed. We loved everything about it but beware: our room (#3) has three steps ( with no handrail) between the bed and bathroom. Although we were too busy touring the Douro Vally wineries to use the pool, it is gorgeous, and I regret not having stayed more days to just read and relax by its side. Dinners, prepared in the style of a "family meal" at grandmas estate was truly an authentic and memorable experience. The hearty down to earth food was quite delicious and served with plentiful local wine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sweatergirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your visit and your kind review. My team and myself appreciate it very much that you took the time for writing it.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed for 6 nights in July and loved ever minute. We have never been to such a welcoming, peaceful and well run hotel. Everything worked perfectly and nothing was too much trouble. It was very easy to relax here and felt like a home away from home.
We were in the two level Deluxe room. Very comfortable bed, large walk in shower, living area upstairs and a terrace on both floors. It was lovely to finish the day with a glass of wine before dinner on the terrace admiring the spectacular views.
And speaking of dinner- the food was extremely tasty and plentiful. Your wineglass is kept topped up with wine and port rom local vineyards. There isn't a choice for dinner, but you are asked about any likes/dislikes when you check in and we noticed that there were vegetarians staying who seemed well catered for. Over our 6 nights, nothing was repeated for either starters, the main or dessert. We had pork, chicken, lamb, fish and beef. All excellent! And again, the views from the terrace where you eat breakfast and dinner is outstanding. There was also plenty for breakfast-including fresh fruit, yogurts, cheese ham, cake a choice of breads (including gluten free) and you could ask eggs to be cooked to order. We would definitely recommend eating at the hotel, also because there is nowhere local you can walk to and the drive from Pinau is a bit hairy during the day, so we definitely didn't want to try at night. We probably could have gotten a taxi into town, but when the food and wine is so good and reasonable at the hotel, why would you go out?
The pool area is heavenly with plenty of comfortable sunbeds and umbrellas. (there are always free beds available).
We particularly enjoyed the honour bar system. There was a fridge full of wine/ beers/ water and soft drinks and a freezer full of ice-cream plus nuts/crisps. So we found if we wanted a pool day, after a good breakfast, an ice cream and crisps was plenty to keep us going before the feast that was dinner! You just fill out a simple form with your room number and tick what you have, and the items get charged to your room. The charges are reasonable as well, e.g. about 2 -3 Euros for an ice cream. Because we visited vineyards and bought some wine, we also kept a bottle of wine in the fridge at the (very small) gym (which was also near our room) and it was fine in there.
This place suits all types of travellers. There were a couple of families, couples and even a small wedding group turned up on our last night. It is also the sort of place, where you can keep to yourself or be social with others in the bar after dinner.
If you want quality and comfort, but somewhere that has some soul, beauty and character and don't mind a bit of rustic, rather than a bland corporate type of hotel, then this is for you. We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. everyone was so lovely and we came away felling so relaxed and happy!
I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: The deluxe room has fab views and lots of space.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank decourcy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for visiting Chanceleiros and taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews