We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on top of the cliff”

Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Staying in the hotel, I dined several times in the restaurant and also the bar where you can sit with a breathtaking view from the top of the cliff. Good food, though I might have dined here more often, if the menu had offered a greater variety of choices.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Petra0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We ate here one night of our stay in Ponta do Sol, and despite not being one of the hotel residents, we were made very welcome. Meal was excellent, and the restaurant is probably the only place in tne town where you can get a 'high quality meal.

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank 916JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant as non-guests, but they were happy to accommodate us.

If you park in the car park close the the centre of Ponta dos Sol, cross the main road, go up the hotel lift the the top floor and walk around to the restaurant.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was excellent.

It is a bit pricier than the sea front restaurants, but it is worth forking out a little extra to eat here.

If you are visiting in the busy months it is worth booking a table as it does get busy.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank TimP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I rarely leave reviews these days but my trip to this restaurant deserves one. The food was excellent - I had a rack of lamb with roasted veg and dauphinois potatoes. Starter was salmon on rye bread and dessert was a lovely chocolate mousse with honey nuts and fruit. All cooked to perfection, especially the lamb - the jus was a beautiful addition. The servers were so friendly and smiley - they obviously enjoy their jobs and the service ran extremely smoothly. Only tiny negatives were a slight wait to have mains plates cleared, a wait for dessert to arrive and not being asked if our mains were OK. None of which is deserving enough to take away a star. The views are great too. Can highly recommend and we may well go back for a second visit during our remaining four days in Madeira.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank robmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed at the Estalagem hotel which was beautiful, the restaurant did not disappoint!

You're able to sit inside or out, both have wonderful views down to the town of Ponta do Sol and across to the open sea.

The menu is very small but the food is of an excellent quality, fresh tasty and original. Service was exceptional and the drinks menu very good

If you're in town then you must eat here as a priority.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NadieK1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Restaurant also viewed

Ponta Do Sol, Madeira
Ponta Do Sol, Madeira
 

Been to Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing