We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top of the mountain”

Churrascaria Cancela
Ranked #18 of 25 Restaurants in Ponta Do Sol
Cuisines: Portuguese
Description: Churrascaria Cancela is located on the middle of the road ER209 , to : 32°43'36.29"N 17° 6'33.14"W
Restaurant details
Description: Churrascaria Cancela is located on the middle of the road ER209 , to : 32°43'36.29"N 17° 6'33.14"W
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Visited one evening with my husband whilst in Madeira. We both had the meat espetada (kebab) with salad and chips, we had a little fruit dessert and 2 glasses of wine. The owner also persuaded us to buy a bag of his walnuts. The bill came to 62 euros, which was a bit of a rip off, but the meat was cooked fresh on an open barbecue there and then and it was very tasty. The owner and the waiter there were very pleasant and friendly. So it was a good visit all in all and we were the only people there. It now seems to be called ZigZag however.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmc8955312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2015

Rustic open fire cooking, soup, roast chickens, decent wine.......everyone eating there looked as if they were having a ball. We just had coffee a glass of wine and a couple of cakes...will be back though as the smell alone was fantastic.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is simply a great restaurant. I could ate here every day. The space has unique and the food so tastiful. I recommend.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Addie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This restaurant might be at the "end of the world", but it offered a fantastic skewer. Grilled on an open fire, just served with some garlic bread and a salad. Take a bottle of the house wine too and you will have a perfect meal. For two it was less than 30€. Finally they serve a self made destigtiv, made with cane liquor, honey and maracuja juice. Jummy...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Eckihh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

In my opinion one good steak can be made only by strong and honest people. To choose the right meat and to use the appropriate spices means one financial decision. So, a stingy or a dreamer will never give you what you want. Why Steak House Cancela ... or ... Portuguese speaking, Churrascaria Cancela ? Because one steak is a very serious business and here you can feel THE taste. And forever, the Perfect Taste will choose one talented cuisinier to help it to be exposed on the right plate.

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank anagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churrascaria Cancela also viewed

 

Been to Churrascaria Cancela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing