We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 97
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Booking.com
USD 87
View deal
FindHotel
USD 76
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/01/22
PricelineUSD 82
Hotels.comUSD 97
TravelocityUSD 97
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
374
218
63
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
374
218
63
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa suite garden studio beautiful resort self catering apartment half board spacious apartment hotel grounds are euros per night the hotel website wonderful island cooking facilities bus stop hotel restaurants beautiful flowers public bus hire car lounge area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Arrived on the early flight 9th August, shown to our apartment an hour later. Sadly it wasn't what we booked (we booked 1 bed apt with separate bedroom - but got a duplex with no separate bedroom....no soundproofing); we were anticipating a problem, yet the receptionist solved the problem in 5 minutes. Full credit to her for this. The apt was amazing - very spacious, full oven/cooking facilities - we didn't use except the kettle - kitchen lounge & TV, huge separate bedroom, and a view to die for. Daily cleaning service and beds made. No air con, which I thought might be a problem, but most evenings cooled down and I slept like a baby with the sliding doors open, except for 3 nights when it had been in the 30s during the day - so I dragged the bed next to the open sliders and managed to get cooler that way. The botanical gardens are just beautiful, and worked on 5 days a week by full time gardeners. Excellent pool area - the pool is larger than it looks in the photos - a good 20m to the stepping stones and a small area for younger children to play. Never got over full, plenty of room, Plenty of sunbeds and fair supply of brollies for shade, except when the wind got up. Breakfasts were excellent - great variety of food from fruit, to cold meats & cheese to bacon, eggs etc. Something for everyone. Ate out most evenings - except twice - the buffet is OK, the Thai is overpriced & average. (Still not going to take a star off for that). Plenty of grocery shopping 50m from the hotel plus a shopping centre 10 mins walk up the hill. Handful if places for eating out in Canico - Central was a great place, but mostly we had to venture to Canico de Baixo for restaurant meals - STEEP does not fully describe the precipitous path up & down, so we took taxis after our one walk down and up. I'm not a mountain goat....as for returning, if it was for the resort alone, definitely yes, but not for the very steep location - we prefer to walk out of an evening, have a nice saunter to our restaurant, also few bars that we could see for sitting and people watching. Still giving five stars for the beautiful resort not the vicinity.

Room tip: Ask for the 1 bedroom apartments with separate bedroom, with sea view.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BR040S4URUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta Splendida Wellness and Botanical Garden, Sales at Quinta Splendida Wellness & Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services.
The aim of our entire team is to provide a splendid experience to all those who visit us, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We promise that we will look over the Thai Restaurant.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Splendid Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2021

We were only here for 4 nights and it was not enough! We booked a last minute holiday here and hadn’t looked too closely at the rooms, and went with one of the Spa Suites (n 2017) - my were we pleasantly surprised! I have never seen such an enormous room. There was a lovely balcony, a massive, comfy bed, a beautiful bathroom with a large bath and separate shower, all impeccable. I would definitely recommend getting a spa suite, the room was wonderful.
The balcony had the most wonderful view of the town and the sea (although I imagine the views from any room are fine, the hotel grounds are so pretty). There was an impressive selection for breakfast and dinner was nice although we mostly got taxis and ate out.
The pool was a little cold but actually quite refreshing in the sun.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially on reception, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank maisiep2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta Splendida Wellness and Botanical Garden, Sales at Quinta Splendida Wellness & Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services.
The aim of our entire team is to provide a splendid experience to all those who visit us, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We promise to continue to motivate our team in order to meet your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Splendid Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

This was our first time in Madeira, chosen because it was a ‘green list’ destination and a good deal from Jet2 holidays! The gardens are beautiful and a joy to walk around. Our room was a side sea view studio and was very large and clean although a bit tired and dated. The kitchenette area was well equipped but a small bottle of washing up liquid would have been very helpful! It was nice to have a full sized fridge for keeping bottles of water cold, a very good supermarket is next to the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was ok, masks obviously to be worn but you are also supplied with plastic gloves.
The hotel was about half full while we were there , the pool bar was open from 11am-6pm but no other bars open for drinks in the evening, also the shuttle bus to Funchal is not operating. The public bus was good, running about every 40 minutes.
We only ate evening meals in the restaurant twice as unfortunately both my husband and I were unwell for a couple of days. The food we had was delicious, especially the Thai food we had on the last night, the mango and sticky rice was as good as we have had in Thailand!
The small town of Canico is well equipped with a very good pharmacy! We were able to have our antigen tests required for our return to the UK at the unit in the shopping centre set up for this with the results ready in 30 mins.
We really liked having our own small garden area outside of our room with sun beds and a table and chairs as we were feeling under the weather it was very peaceful!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RugBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta Splendida Wellness and Botanical Garden, Sales at Quinta Splendida Wellness & Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Dear RugBugs,

We thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us your feedback. We highly appreciate your comment in leaving these positive notes about our gardens, our Thai food and our location.
We take this opportunity to assure you that we will do our best to improve our services and facilities in order to meet your total expectations and we really hope we can welcome you again at our house.

Splendid greetings from our team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay, 2 weeks this time on bed and breakfast. I had room 1104, which is a short walk through the vegetable patch. Room was excellent, it was a studio so had a kitchen and dining area, it also had a lovely terrace with a garden, sunbeds and a view to die for. TV CNN was the only English language channel.
Breakfast had a good selection to choose from, the rolls are dangerous, really tasty.. good coffee. Had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times, the thai meal was gorgeous, hats of to the chef.. the salads are excellent especially the tuna salad at the pool bar.. watch out for their daily specials for around €8.
Staff are lovely, friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
I arranged my test to fly home through the Madeira app, which is free if you used your nhs vaccine letter to get in to Madeira, it was done at the airport (taxi €35 return) ready in about 12 hours. No jet2 rep at the hotel so you are on your own when it comes to testing.
Easy walk into the old town centre, with loads of cafes, a couple of supermarkets, a couple of restaurants.
Bus stops virtually outside, number 155, €2.20 each way to Funchal or you can buy a pass. Lovely views on the journey down to funchal.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank DouglasR1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta Splendida Wellness and Botanical Garden, Sales at Quinta Splendida Wellness & Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Mr. Douglas,

We thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us your feedback. We highly appreciate your comment in leaving these positive notes about our gardens, our breakfast and our location.
We take this opportunity to assure you that we will do our best to improve our services and facilities in order to meet your total expectations and we really hope we can welcome you again at our house.

Splendid greetings from our team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Just got back from a week in ‘green list’ Madeira. Had a great time and will certainly be back, but as for the hotel, here’s an honest review that we hope is helpful…

Good bits:
-the hotel is set in beautiful grounds with beautiful flowers and veg etc that the chefs use for meals
-the reception and pool bar staff are very friendly
-the pool is a decent size with plenty of loungers and umbrellas
-couple of lovely restaurants nearby if you don’t want to eat in the hotel (recommend La Terraca just up the road and PDT opposite for a few drinks)

Not so great bits, hence 3* review:
-restaurant staff, especially the shorter older guy, quite rude. Got barked at one night by him for forgetting to sign the bill.
-there is no air conditioning, anywhere. Other reviews state this but it’s not obvious on the hotel website. This means the rooms are very warm at night which for us lead to a week’s worth of not-very-good sleep.
-we had to ask for a fan for the room three times! Each time were told they have one to give us and they were on it but it arrived over a day later meaning another night without much sleep. When the fan arrived, it broke two days later and we couldn’t be bothered to ask again!
-all the dogs of Madeira seem to meet outside the hotel grounds every night and bark throughout the night. Honestly not an exaggeration… and a reason why we couldn’t sleep with the balcony door open (sorry to keep banging on about the overly warm room but it did ruin things slightly).

So would we go back to this hotel? Hmm… not sure. But we are sure there are far worse out there!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fosmannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews