We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
130
341
319
167
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
341
319
167
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbus stationstayed all inclusiveall inclusive packagecheap breakcleaned every daylovely beachclean hotelhalf boardbars and restaurantsvilamoura marinasun loungersbalconiespromfaronightlife
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I just retuned home from 5 days in Portugal and we will definitely be returning to hotel Atismar. The rooms are clean and bright and our view was beautiful. What made our stay was the hotel staff, Lucio the waiter was so funny and attentive to us and Helder the handsome manager was a gentleman, looking after us all the time. The food was varied every day and i especially loved the local fish dishes. Kids loved the different breakfasts on daily
Safe to say we will be back for more. I've stayed in far superior hotels but this has the biggest personality.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Don’t have high expectations, the food is very basic and the restaurant (works canteen) is small with limited choices. It’s a good base location on a budget, but nothing more. The rooms are serviceable and could do with an upgrade. There are no ‘sea view’ rooms unless you bring binoculars and ask for the top floor. Drinks are very limited, normally served fresh straight out the carton! They definitely didn’t have basic drinks like dark rum or rose wine, it seemed it was either beer, whisky, white wine. But hey, go out and spend elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Welshtraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The menu offer was poor throught our 5 night stay,only 3 main meal choices, chips every lunch time and evening.
The staff were rude, arrogant and leering after a group of young girls who were also staying. The Manager Helder appeared to very arrogant and was often found standing right outside the entrance smoking, this happened more often that not.
The building was in poor state with many air conditioning units going rusty, the outside of the building was breaking up, a large raised crack was clear visible in reception, our balcony doors leaked a considerable amount of water in that had to be mopped up using the towels. There were leaks from the roof in the bar area that the staff all choose to ignore despite being made aware of this by several residents.
The bed in our room was very hard and small, it was described by the manager as a double bed, this certainly wasnt a double bed.

As 4 people we were all staying on the All Inclusive package, when you order cocktails at the bar you have to ask for them to include alcohol, the staff are clearly told not to put any alcohol into the cocktails unless asked to do so. THIS IS BASICALLY FRAUD!

The area its self is pretty good and its a shame about this hotel and its staff.

Wifi is only available in the reception area, and if you are lucky enough to get on it, its very slow.

The hotel has 2 lifts which can only hold 4 people at anytime, and thats a squeeze.

There is NO entertainment, apart from a TV which the staff control to watch what they want.

Room Tip: I would never stay here again, and i would recommend anyone else to choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Used this hotel as a base to visit this area of Portugal and wasn't disappointed, rooms were clean and functional, food was decent and plentiful,staff were and helpful and pleasant, for the price we paid for a family of four going all inclusive it was a real bargain,don't expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed,like we said it's a good budget hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it to fellow travellers

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

After being unable to find an affordable all inclusive deal last year and finding that half board can work out to be extremely expensive with all the extras you have to pay for I hastily booked a 7 night stay at the Atismar. The hotel looked great in the pictures,it's right near the beach, the reviews largely favourable, and the price right. I stupidly presumed that there'd be some kind of evening entertainment and activities - my own fault! Didn't bank on this being too big an issue as we'd be out and about most of the time anyway - Didn't bank on terrible weather either, so for us there was a lot of downtime to fill.
Wifi was not available in the rooms, reception and bar area only, the television in the room picked up a number of channels from a number of countries, but sadly nothing in English - Not that I went to Portugal to watch tv, but it would've filled a gap here and there for sure! Thankfully I'd packed a book to read and a pack of cards, though the hotel did have a large bookshelf with books in a number of languages for the guests to borrow.
Food was plentiful, I couldn't fault it, everything I had to eat was really tasty, all inclusive drinks, white wine wasn't great, but drinkable nonetheless, beer was really nice, also the whisky - Cocktails were horribly naff but then that was to be expected! Room clean and comfortable so no complaints there.
The television in the bar area was permanently set to a music channel playing pop music from the 80's and 90's and on request football games were shown.
I think this hotel would be great for a beach holiday in the sunny season or for a short break only.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews