We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quintessential Tuscan Villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Greve in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hayley C
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four, along with another family, recently stay at the beautiful La Poggerina. We all had a wonderful time. The owners, Emanuele and his parents, Silvio and Gabriella, were the best neighbours to have. We took advantage of their advice and hospitality all week long, feeling like we were spending time with our extended Italian family. We made delicious meals, using the vegetables from Gabriella's garden. Gabriella's lasagna was wonderful to come home to after a long day in San Gimignano.
The kids loved collecting the fresh eggs from the chickens for our breakfast. We spent many fun and relaxing hours poolside, as our stay coincided with a heat wave in Italy. The pool was clean and inviting, with a water slide loved by both kids and adults.
The evenings were spent drinking wine and enjoying the Tuscan landscape, while the kids played soccer, went for an evening dip, played pinball or watched one of the many movies available in the villa.
Emanuele organized a pizza feast for our last night. They were all amazingly delicious and represented different regions in Italy. The chef thrilled the child with the nut-allergy, by making him a personalized Kit-Kat pizza.
It was a wonderful way to spend our last night. We hope to return one day soon!
The Chiaramonte's
Toronto, Canada

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiggsy77
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Classic Toscano"”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the villa with another couple, each of us having 2 children, ranging in ages from 8-13. We were greeted warmly by Emmanuelle the owner and he had a nice assortment of meats and cheeses when we arrived, which was much appreciated after a day of travel.
The villa was actually more beautiful than the pictures on the website. The bathrooms and kitchen are modern and the home is recently updated. The grounds are very nice and well kept and there is a great pool with a slide which the kids loved. The kids had fun checking the chicken coop for eggs every morning and there were always fresh vegetables from the garden. The location is perfectly situated if you intend to take some day trips by car to places like Greve, San Gimignano or Filigne. Emmanuelle checked in on us during the week and all of his suggestions and advice were spot on and he encouraged us to seek out a true Tuscan experience. He arranged for a pizza chef to come in and cook for us one night and we had some of the best pizza we've ever tasted. There is also a supermarket called Coop which is a 10/15 min. drive from the villa and it was very large and well stocked. There is also a train station in town (15 min. drive) that takes you to Florence.
The villa and the location itself are excellent. They are only rivalled by the warmth and hospitality showed to us by Emmanuelle and his parents Silvio and Gabriella. The way they interacted with our kids and ourselves, reminded us of our own Italian relatives.
I highly recommend La Villa La Poggerina, it is an experience you will not soon forget. Thanks to the Del Fio's for a wonderful week!!

David, Marika, Luke and Lauren
Toronto, Canada.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannesI4...
New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in the heart of Tuscany!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and 3 other couples booked this villa over a year ago and all I can say it is exceeded my expectations. From booking up to when we stayed, Emanuele has been so accommodating with all of my questions/concerns. Excellent customer service! And when we finally got to the villa, we were all pleasantly surprised by it all. It is even more amazing than the pictures. It's a pretty big villa and we were welcomed by Emanuele's parents who were so sweet. They welcomed us with an antipasti platter and a bottle of wine. When we asked to buy more of their wines, Silvio gave us 2 more on the house! It is a great house that is extremely clean and spacious, with so many things to do. they have a pool, pool table, pinball machine, telescope and just a lovely home you want to just spend time in. It is a great home base if you want to explore Florence, the hill towns and the vineyards of Chianti. Superb, superb, superb! I highly recommend this place and I would want to come back and stay here at some point in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa was perfect
Liked least: wifi was slow
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
783mariaw...
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and myself and cousins stayed at Villa la Poggerina for a week. We have styed at other villas in Tuscany over the years but nothing compares to this. The property is beautiful, the interior is all updated and beautiful. Emanuele and his parents were wonderful. We love to cook and they allow you to pick fresh veggies and herbs from the garden. We also had fresh eggs from their hens every morning. It was such a treat. The house was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped, Emanuele was so helpful with information of things to do and see in the area. The resteraunt he recommended was amazing. Chef Claudio went above and beyond. Everyone must experience his feast. We enjoyed our host so much that some evening we insisted that he sit and visit with us. His mother made us her famous lasagna but even better was the treat of zucchini flowers that she fried. I make these too but hers were better. Wish I had been in the kitchen with her to learn her secret. I could go on and on but let me just say this. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are hoping that Emanuele comes to visit us. It wasn't just a rental home to us. It was a meeting of families, and I hope a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home and the area.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living Like Kings”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in July 2014

The service from the family was incredible from the moment we arrived. Manuel was friendly, helpful, and courteous to all members of our large (9 people including toddler) family. His mother even made us some incredibly delicious treats when we arrived! They had tons of information on the region regarding restaurants, markets, things to see, and great insider info on large attractions in Florence. The property was exceptional, the outdoor living area/bio-garden is breathtaking. Our family spent most of our time out in the patio, or down at their pool. The views from the backyard are breathtaking. The flowers and gardening were like we haven't seen before, everything was lush and colorful. The house itself has a great balance between modern and old tuscan style. We had plenty of room with 4 couples there, one also having a 3 year old. Manuel suggested for a pizza chef to come over and cook in the pizza oven for our large family, I consider that meal one of the best ones I have ever had. He suggested other places to eat that all turned out to be exactly what we were looking for. The dinner at the 'hotel' that is down the street is a must do. There is not much bad I can say, it is a little out of the way if you are looking to grab something quick to eat, the roads getting in and out of there are narrow and not like American roads. We planned small trips accordingly to master those. Top not service and hospitality, a top choice for this area.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Outdoor living area
Liked least: No air conditioning, could have small units for bedrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing