We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

A very average lasagne & white wine costing €5 a glass topped with very poor & slow service made this an unmemorable meal that I don’t wish to experience again. This is not a true reflection of Tuscany or Italy, there are lots of places better than this.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

The pasta dishes we had were quite reasonable, but the experience was awful due to the service. It started with a waitress being really rude: “if I don’t see you, I don’t know you’re here”, indicating we were to blame for the slow service, as she put down the menus and walked away without saying anything more or asking if we wanted drinks. Another waitress was friendlier, but service was really slow and unprofessional, despite the restaurant being not even half-full, and we were never asked if we wanted more drinks or desserts etc.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank hydrobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We came here at the recommendation of our B&B and it did not disappoint! Menu had a lot of selection and prices were great—this is nothing fancy but absolutely perfect and delicious! After red wine overload, we were so happy to have a nice (cheap) bottle of Pinot Grigio “Attems” 13.50 euro

Had the Zucchini Flowers which were the only thing we wouldn’t recommend as they were just tempura-style fried. After that, our dinners were nothing short of amazing!!! Husband had the linguine and clams with spice which he loved and I had pasta with sausage and black truffles which I can’t even describe how amazing!!! After a week in Italy, might have been my favorite meal yet! MUST TRY!!! And only 12Euro

Waitress and staff were friendly and helpful in selection, might just come back again tomorrow. If you are not a snob and looking for a great meal, this is the spot!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank LoLo121285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

This restaurant was recommend to us and it did not disappoint!

We ordered the sausage and truffle pasta and the wild boar ragu pasta! On our first taste we both commented immediately on how amazing the food was! At this point in our holiday we had been in Tuscany for 8 days and had enjoyed a lot of good food. We both agreed that the pasta dish in Il Portico was the best we had eaten!

We would recommend booking in advance....it is very popular. On the night of our visit, there was a wedding celebration with approx 20 guests. The level of service was still great! Despite the restaurant being really busy, we were looked after and not forgotten, which can often be the case when there is a large celebration. Full credit to the staff!

This is a cosy, relaxed restaurant with super food and great service.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Chimp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Three sisters and 1 partner holidaying in the region out for a casual dinner. Service was good average and food quality was very good and had some unique dishes. This was let down a little by staff who appeared a little grumpy

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing