We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Molendino B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Molendino B&B
Ranked #1 of 22 Calci B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our visit to Fabiola and Stefano's was one of the most amazing experiences. I telephoned Fabiola from the US and asked about a cooking lesson. She replied that she does not do cooking lessons but we were welcome to help her cook. We made special arrangements therefore to have dinner upon arrival from the US. The soup made up of lobster, shrimp, octopus, squid, and fresh other fish was truly a gourmet delight. We made a tiramasou recipe that was her 92 year old grandmother who lived in Calci. Additionally the appetizer was truly fabulous. We helped her cook, which was a truly delightful experience. Further the breakfast that came with the stay was beautifully presented and one of the nicest breakfasts we had on the trip.

This is truly an amazing place. Both she and her husband were a delight. We enjoyed conversations in Italian, Spanish, French and English.. It was a wonderful first step on Italian land.

Further when I emailed for recipes, she promptly emailed them back, despite a fire in the forest nearby.

High recommend.

Kay

Room Tip: We were in the smallest room which was all that was left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ql1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
145
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a great time at Fabiola's and Stefano's B&B. Be sure to ask for a cooking lesson which is enjoyable and productive! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a cooking lesson!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a week, as part of a two-week holiday in Italy. Fabiola (a wonderful cook and very beautiful) and Stefano (big football fan!) made us feel at home straight away. They are such friendly and welcoming people. They helped us organise bike rental and got our bikes fixed when we had a puncture. They gave us great advice about what there is to do in the area - we cycled to Pisa on an off-road cycle trail, climbed up to Dante's tower for a great view at sunset (about half an hour walk from the B&B), went swimming in a pool in Uliveto Terme, the next town to Calci. On their recommendation we tried the ice cream place in Calci the first night...and went back every other night too :-) Best ice-cream in Italy.
Our bedroom was beautiful - we stayed in the Con Vista room - decorated with wooden furniture and floral cushions, also much bigger than it looks in the photo. Bed was super-comfy.
Every morning we had a fresh breakfast prepared by Fabiola - delicious fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese and a freshly baked cake (sometimes made from fruit from the garden). One morning we also had fig jam - with fresh figs from the garden).
I'm not a cat person but I took a shine to Camille, their 20 year old cat, who is very affectionate and came looking for cuddles every day at breakfast.
After our holiday, I think we would also rent a car next time, to visit the sea side etc. The time of year we went was a little hot for cycling!
All in all, I'd highly recommend a stay at Il Molendino to anybody-old or young. We have very good memories and would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Schon die Fotos auf der Homepage begeisterten uns, in Wirklichkeit ist es noch viel schöner! Unser Zimmer(Nicosia) war sehr stilvoll eingerichtet, sauber und mit kleinem Bad. Und(zum Glück) mit Klimaanlage! :)
Das Frühstück war wirklich unerschöpflich, frische Kuchen, Gebäck, Obstsalat und Müsli, Käse, leckeres Cibatta und Croissants, nicht zu vergessen der köstliche Cappuccino! Serviert von der liebenswerten Oma des Hauses.
Wir sind noch immer völlig fasziniert von so viel Gastfreundschaft und Herzlichkeit. Mit hilfreichen Tipps(Strand Marina di Vecchiano), Tagesausflüge, Restauranttipps(Trattoria da Cinotto unbedingt vorbeischauen!) wurde unser Urlaub in Italien zum absoluten Gaumenschmaus.
Thank you so much again, see you soon,
Daniel and Verena

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdfsdfgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruinisse, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We enjoyed our three days stay at Molendino and felt very welcome by the family.
we stayed in the Pietraia room , which was beautiful, large and authentic .
Kitchen and central eating area available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calci
6.6 km away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
9.6 km away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.8 km away
Bed and Breakfast San Francesco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Gli Olivi B&B
Gli Olivi B&B
#3 of 22 in Calci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.6 km away
B&B VillAmorosa
B&B VillAmorosa
#2 of 22 in Calci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
8.1 km away
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
#1 of 36 in San Giuliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Molendino B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molendino B&B

Property: Il Molendino B&B
Address: Via Nicosia 1, 56011, Calci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Calci
Price range (per night): $108 - $142
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Calci, B&B Il Molendino is a 17th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the Tuscan countryside, a 20-minute drive from Pisa. It offers rustic accommodation with free Wi-Fi.All rooms and apartments at Molendino have wood-beamed ceilings and wrought-iron beds. They are air conditioned and decorated with classic rugs. Apartments also feature a private entrance and furnished patio. The large garden surrounding the property has barbecue facilities and seating areas. A bike rental service is available for visiting the area. Il Molendino B&B is just 200 metres from a bus stop linking with Pisa. A shuttle service for Pisa Galileo Galilei Airport can be organised (15 EUROS). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Molendino B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing