We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Food and service at the Hotel Dei Trulli restaurant are apalling.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel dei Trulli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel dei Trulli
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Alberobello
Europe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food and service at the Hotel Dei Trulli restaurant are apalling.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We visited this restaurant for dinner and at first thought it all abit of a joke, watching the harried elderly waiter do his best to cover all the tables on the terrace and perhaps indoor tables as well. We were not given either a menu or drinks list, but naively thought it was one of these places where they just serve seasonal foods as we'd previosly had in Italy, Spain & Portugal. Everyone had the same food and a choice of red or white wine. Enree was not too bad, but the main course, a kind of veal stew, brought out in individual jugs and slapped on the plate was appalling (tough, flavourless and full of gristle), I handed mine back and was offered a veal escalope in replavcement, which I accepted. Again the meat was flavourless & tough, I just gave up. I saw more food left of plates, going back to the kitchen than I ever have in my life and the waiter made no comment to anyone about it. I was flabbergasted. Also the other diners did not seem to comment, some were American but mostly Italian. Perhaps they just put up & shut up. A less than memorable dessert followed. The bill was €82! We decided to pass our comments on and asked for a supervisor/manager. After waiting some considerable time, she heard our complaint, offered no apology,discount, coffee or liquer as a pacifier and was in fact extemely rude in manner. She said we should just leave as she had others to attend to and threatened the police if we did not leave. My advice - keep walking past- there are other restaurants in town.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LePhews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2006

Charming staff, comfortable rooms but the restaurant was a disgrace. The worst food I have eaten in Italy or anywhere else. Do not take half or full board here.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alberobello hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2005

Stayed 3 days at this hotel. Had a lovely time and it was very comfortable (lovely to have the extra "living room"). However as a 5* we were expecting a little luxury and some special touches - have stayed in better 3*. The restaurant is very pricey - but the waiters were a delight.
Clean, comfortable but it all needs modernising for the money.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2003

The hotel is not a luxury hotel similar to a 5 star hotel in Rome, Venice or Florence. However the rooms are clean and spaciouse with two or three large rooms per unit. The restaurant is excellent and I would compare the quiality of food to anywhere in Italy. The rate including room with breakfast and dinner is well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank jgiannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alberobello hotels
0.5 km away
Trulli Holiday - Resort
Trulli Holiday - Resort
#1 of 19 in Alberobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Alcove "Luxury Hotel nei Trulli"
0.7 km away
Hotel Silva
Hotel Silva
#2 of 19 in Alberobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Grand Hotel La Chiusa di Chietri
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Olimpo
Grand Hotel Olimpo
#7 of 19 in Alberobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sant'Antonio
Hotel Sant'Antonio
#19 of 19 in Alberobello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Trulli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Trulli

Property: Hotel dei Trulli
Address: Via Cadore 32, 70011, Alberobello, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Alberobello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Alberobello
Price range (per night): $120 - $148
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel dei Trulli 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel dei Trulli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Trulli Hotel
Hotel Dei Trulli Alberobello, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing