We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing villa and super helpful hosts”

Review of IL Gelso

IL Gelso
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IL Gelso
Suite over looking the pool and patio Sitting room over looking the pool and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
IL Gelso
Suite over looking the pool and patio
Sitting room over looking the pool and patio
IL Gelso
Perfect place for a sun downer
Double bedroom with dressing room
Twin room with dressing room
Ready to start cooking
Lazy days
Trullo dining room
Time for a swim
Some where cool to sit
Trullo kitchen
Sun down
Trullo kitchen
Jack and Jill bathroom
Sitting room
Suite
Dining room
Dining Al Fresco
Double bedroom
Suite
Just olive trees
Parking area
IL Gelso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Trullo -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alberobello, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
MichelleS...
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing villa and super helpful hosts”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What an amazing villa. I had been looking forward to staying here for ages. The villa is even more lovely than in the pictures. Perfect size for our family, three beautiful bedrooms and always good two bathrooms. Anita has been so helpful from the very beginning, dealing with my many emails and queries.

It was really nice to meet Anita on our arrival day and put a face to a name. During our stay I again had a few questions (we did not hire a car, so was reliant on taxis) which Anita was so helpful to book for us. (A shout out to Vito the taxi driver, who was very nice).

The pool even on cloudy days was perfect, and we tried to use it every day, why wouldn't you, and I really liked the fact it was salt water and that I did not smell of chlorine all the time.

We went out most days but came back to the villa and ate there in the evenings really nice next to the pool. A fully equipped kitchen was a real bonus too.

We were all sad to leave, especially at 6.30am in the morning but Anita's husband still met us to see us off and pick up the keys.

I would reccommend them to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday in this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
1 review
“Beautifully restored trullo with a fantastic private pool”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had high hopes of this booking from the images, and they were exceeded. The trullo is fabulous: neutrally decorated and modern feeling but retaining the detail and character of the original building. Two of the bedrooms have ceilings that are the underside of the cones, and they look like inverted stone tortoise shells. The layout suited us perfectly: two bedrooms with a connecting bathroom for us and our children, with a separate en suite for my husband's mum across the living room. The trullo is kitted out with everything you might need for your stay, plus great information that details the best places to eat and explore in the region. We dined twice at Gli Ulivi, one of the suggested restaurants just down the road in Alberobello and sat eating with locals feeling like we were getting the authentic slice of Italian life. The pool area is the property's pièce de résistance (though it's hard to outdo the trullo itself) - the pool is sizeable and beautifully designed and it catches the sun throughout the day. There are sunloungers on both sides - plus a hammock - so you can choose where you lounge throughout the day. There are also two shaded outside seating areas, one with a table for outdoor eating. Hosts Anita and Pino were lovely and they helped with all our requests (including where to buy a lilo for our 10-year old). Pino brought around croissants on our first morning and Anita met us at the local supermarket to escort us to the trullo for the first time, which was really helpful. Everything with the booking was very professionally and promptly managed, including the full return of my deposit, which Anita contacted me to arrange straight after we'd arrived home. I'm now extolling the trullo and Puglia to all my friends and would wholeheartedly recommend the stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sobearcla...
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Il Gelso is just as beautiful as the pictures portray it to be. The pool, in particular, is awesome, with plenty of outdoor space for lounging, dining, etc. Location is ideal; very private yet just a quick 5 minute drive to adorable Alberobello; supermarket just 5 mins away, easy access to nearby towns (Locorotondo is definitely worth a visit) and beaches. Booking was a breeze, Anita was always available by email, text and phone. Anita and Pino are lovely hosts - Pino gave us some excellent tips for dining, etc in Alberobello. Plenty of local information and tips provided in a book in the Trullo. All in all, a five star plus experience and we would love to return some day!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ptlond4
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury & Relaxation”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We holiday in Italy every year and Il Gelso is definitely the best house we have stayed in. It feels very luxurious and everything you need to have a relaxing holiday has been thought of and provided. It is very clean and well kept. In fact it feels as if it has only just been renovated. It's a very private and peaceful location but is only a 5 minute car journey from Alberobello with its restaurants, cafes and supermarkets. The pool is lovely - large and very clean too. We often found it difficult to tear ourselves away from Il Gelso - although if you do there are many beautiful places to visit in the area. Anita and Pino (the owners), are so friendly and ready to help in any way if you need them. We will definitely be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing