We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel on a Gorgeous Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel on a Gorgeous Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We have very recently returned from a one week’ s stay at this charming Hotel ideally located between the Old Town, Aragonese Castle, and the newer Marina area with all its restaurants, Cafe’s and boutique shops.
On arrival the Hotel reception were very friendly and attentive always ready to give advice and answer a query, even though at times there were language translation problems with an odd member of staff, we were in Italy though and to me it just added to the majical experience of being in Italy.
The room we were given was spacious, air conditioned, well appointed and had a large balcony to watch the sunsets from on an evening, our bathroom had a walk in shower, bidet, toilet and modern basin all very clean and functional. The TV in the room now has BBC world and Sky news if you were so inclined to want to watch TV.
We found the restaurant to be excellent with an amazing choice of anti pasta and main courses every night, the fish being especially fresh and tasty which my wife only missed once whilst I found the Rabbit, Steak and puddings delicious. Breakfast was continental but again had a wide choice, with strong tasty coffee that set us up well for our days activities.
The pool area terrace bar was idyllic whilst the pool itself was very clean and refreshing to swim in or just cool down in whilst taking in the rays and reading a good book.
We had a lovely time at the Hotel were treated extremely well by all members of staff and Mina the Thomson’s rep was always charming, helpful and keen to assist with any information and tips she could on where to go and what to see on Ischia.
The Island itself was atmospheric and scenic with old world charm alongside the modern Marina area with its restaurants bars and expensive yachts to look at and dream if only !!!, all in all we will be going back to the Villa Durrueli and Ischia hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overloking the pool area or a large balcony room to watch the sunsets at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    298
    71
    35
    29
See reviews for
153
693
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is situated in the heart of town yet by being set beside a park and between the nbeach and the thoroughfare it actually was quiet.The approach to the hotel could be more picturesque but it's worth bearing in mind that the island is a step back in time. The island's roads are tight and hilly so don't expect motorways, but it's this old time feel that appeals on this island. The hotel has an indoor spa, outside pool that is good and a treatment area ( Ischia is famous for its thermal baths). the bedrooms were good with balconies and although we had the standard room that over looked the terrace where dinner and breakfast was taken we had no complaints about noise. The roof terrace has great views but the bar there was not open, however it was a good place to view the many firework displays around the bay. Food was good too, although the wine from Ischia was unusual because of the island's proximity to the sea. The buffet at dinner (for starters only) is very good so be prepared to fill up on your vitamins here. two course follow with waiter service, the main course being almost nouvelle cuisine (so fill up on the buffet). Ther were some insects but nothing that a mild preventative cream couldn't handle and anyway in the med insects are the norm. All said I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool and not the park/gardens next door - thus avoiding the local cats' love son...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durrueli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks for your feedbak.
We constantly strive to do our best to fully satisfy your needs and make enjoyable your holiday. We hope to see you soon in Ischia.
Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa
Marketing Dept.
Ilaria Carreras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have just returned from 1 weeks holiday at this hotel and whilst the hotel was very nice and was also very clean there were two problems which marred the holiday somewhat.

Most of the staff on the reception had only a limited understanding of English and the two operatives in the Wellness Centre didn't understand English at all.

OK you could say that I should have learned Italian but the limited Italian I have is pointless as they spoke to fast to pick up what they were saying.

I feel that although Ischia is not your typical tourist resort more effort could be made with regard to their international clients.

As for the food being a la carte, utter rubbish, I didn't have any of their fish dishes as I am not a lover of fish (they might have tasted alright) but the other items on offer at dinner consisted of consome (looked like very highly diluted bovril), a so called Scottish soup (which was the same dirty brown liquid with a tiny amount of cubed carrots, some cubed potatoes and some peas - nothing Scottish about it) and their minestrone soup tasted like homemade vegetable soup you would make at home. The meat dishes consisted of rabbit, steak, duck , pork and beef and they were very bland (the pork was so undercooked I couldn't eat it), even a little bit of salt and pepper would have made all the difference. The breakfasts were wide and varied though and appeared to cater for all nationalities although the pancetta and scrambled egg (bacon & eggs) left a lot to be desired.

If you had mobility problems and in a wheelchair, there is access to the hotel and the indoor & outdoor dining area although if you wanted to use the Wellness Centre or the pool there was only steps.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Hotel is not large only 35 rooms,but has a good sized outdoor pool a therma spa and 3 bars not all in use at once.The food was very good and varied.We found the Staff excellent extremely friendly and helpful.Mario on the pool side bar was great his help and service was super he could not be faulted.Plenty of loungers always available. The staff from the Head Waiter down were friendly and efficient as were the Reception who could not do enough to please.All in all a Super Hotel making for a really good holiday. We came with Thomson everthing ran smoothly even when our return ferry was cancelled our guide Mina arranged everything without any hassle for us, we made it to the flight and she was a star Thomson should be proud of her a real asset to the Company nothing was too much trouble for and she kept us in touch all through the holiday adding much to our time in Ischia.

Room Tip: A superior room with Sea view on the 2nd floor No.303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Having spent 3 weeks in Italy and staying in 4 star hotels in sorrento, Positano and Rome this is more like a 3 star hotel. No wifi, Internet costing E8 an hour to hire! No bath robes. The beach link with the other resort costs E7 each!! Tv only has italian cable, no BBC world even! The reception don't talk much English and neither do the bar staff or restaurant. The room had a problem with ants, the air con did not work without sounding like a jumbo jet. The double bed is two singles pushed together and come apart with every toss n turn. As stated in other reviews the restaurant is next door to the balconies of most rooms. It is noisy. I agree the doors are wafer thin and Italian kids like to shout. Be warned that the hotel will hold discos and events on poolside without letting you know. They do stop at midnight!!! The restaurant is expensive, there are better and much cheaper restaurants in ischia ponte. The pool is nice but is badly maintained. The guttering around the pool is not cleaned often. The Turkish bath is not as grand as it makes out, a steam room and warm hot tube with some showers. You get better facilities at uk gyms these days. As I said not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmillatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.2 km away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.2 km away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 km away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
2.2 km away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Property: Villa Durrueli
Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#21 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price range (per night): $132 - $552
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing